This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma The Cookbook For Kids

The kitchen is a great place for kid-friendly adventures, inviting budding chefs to explore a world of fun and flavors. Letting kids prepare their own meals not only teaches lifelong culinary skills - it empowers them to make smart food choices in their everyday lives. Written especially for cooks aged 6-12 years, this playful cookbook is filled with over 65 easy recipes for kids' all-time favorite foods. Each recipe includes clear, step-by-step instructions, along with a color photo of the finished dish. Whimsical illustrations and fun food facts keep attention levels high, while colorful stickers encourage kids to mark their favorite recipes. From homemade mac-and-cheese to super sloppy joes, these kid-tested recipes will help young chefs discover that preparing their favorite dishes is as much fun as eating them. Hardcover, 128 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
1 of 4(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma The Cookbook For Kids
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma The Cookbook For Kids
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
newcook11
Portland. OR
November 20, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Adorable cookbook - working out well so far
November 20, 2012
My toddler and I made the "best banana bread" and it was very tasty. Tonight we made the simple tortellini alfredo for a friend and this turned out delicious as well. I can't speak to the failed pancakes that others have complained about, but we look forward to trying out more of these simple recipes, especially the desserts.
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma The Cookbook For Kids
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
twocutiesmom
September 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
An Older Version is Better
September 14, 2011
I have the W-S 'The Kid's Cookbook' (2000) and we have enjoyed the book. Many of the recipes are healthy and fun. My son enjoys the Apple Jiggles, as well as the Mac n Cheese and the rice pudding.
The picture instructions in the front are great. The recipes encourage children to MAKE many of their store bought, processed favorites. We have tweaked some of the sugar levels to make them healthier. Who wants their children to eat unnecessary amounts of salt and sugar, as well as, artificial colors, flavors and preservatives? My family would recommend this version over the newer ones.
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma The Cookbook For Kids
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jckg
West Hanover, PA
January 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Wet to dry ratio is off!
January 16, 2011
I purchased this cookbook for my Granddaughter for Christmas. I did preview it before I purchased it and found it to have very good basic recipes for children. The first recipe I tried was the buttermilk pancakes. The wet to dry ratio is off. The recipe calls for 2-1/2 cups buttermilk to 1 cup flour. The pancakes were so gummy they wouldn't cook through at all. Adding additional flour to the batter helped. The Williams-Sonoma recipe on-line for buttermilk pancakes is similar (and excellent) and it calls for 2-1/2 cups buttermilk and 2 cups flour. I expected more from Williams-Sonoma. I hope they will correct the recipe in future books.
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma The Cookbook For Kids
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
peacemommie
NC
September 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+23points
25of 27found this review helpful.
Nothing New, Nothing Healthy
September 13, 2010
We ordered this book online and did not have a chance to review it. I expected a much different book. The book does not have any new or different than the same old recipes. There is no nutritional data and has no healthy alternative.
The book is devided into breakfast, lunch, snacks, and sweets. Some of the breakfast recipes are:
French toast, crepes, pancakes, waffles, frittata, smoothie, muffins, yogurt parfaits, omelets.
Some lunch recipes: hot dogs, "sushi", minestrone soup, tomato soup, chili with cheese, teriyaki chicken, tortellini alfredo, taco salad, ham & cheese panini.
Some Snacks recipes: guacamole, sesame noodles, kettle corn, chesse nachos.
Some Sweets: chocolate swirl cake, vanilla pound cake w/ fruit, pear handpies, chocolate chunk cookies, ultra-chocolatey brownies.
It would be better to preview the book at the store if possible.