Kitchen Torch

Give classic creme brulee its signature caramelized topping using our kitchen torch - a compact version of the ones used by pastry chefs. Its adjustable flame also comes in handy for melting grated cheese and browning meringues and the tops of tarts.Built-in gauge displays the fuel level.Includes a storage stand and recipe.Uses a standard butane canister (not included).A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
4 of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kitchen Torch
Review 1 for Kitchen Torch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
50yrsAhomeCook
,Ocala
,FL
December 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Where's the instructions???
December 10, 2014
While strolling around in the local WS, I noticed a house brand creme brûlée lighter.
I have had perfect success using a Ronson candle lighter. Well, thought I, if the Ronson works, then this "dedicated" WS device will probably work even better.
WRONG...despite the fact that there were no instructions included, I managed to get it lit--once. I was not impressed with it and it didn't work as well as the Ronson throwaway candle lighter. Just took it out of the drawer for a test ride after 4 months of no brûlées, and, guess what, now it doesn't work at all.
Back to the Ronson.
BTW WS: Why aren't the directions somewhere on the website?
Cons: Quality
Review 2 for Kitchen Torch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Webb
,Edmonton
,AB
December 31, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Spark, Hard to Fill
December 31, 2013
Hard to fill, Hard to see fuel Level.
Out of the Box no spark on the igniter.
Had to light it with a lighter.
It's a shame, I typically love WS Products.
Cons: Quality, little to no instructions, no way to troubleshoot the problems.
Review 3 for Kitchen Torch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tayloch3
,Davis
,CA
November 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Inconsistent Performance, Returned to Store
November 26, 2013
I read the reviews but decided to buy this WS "exclusive" torch anyway as most of the negative ratings seemed to be due to difficulties in filling the butane chamber as a result of inadequate instructions included in the box.
PROS - (1) Easy to use, (2) You can point the nozzle downward unlike a propane torch purchased from a hardware store
CONS - (1) Inconsistent output, even on the lowest settings the flame was sporadically long and/or wide, (2) Filling and refilling the butane was difficult and messy when the butane back-splashed once the chamber was full, (3) Poorly designed fuel "window" made discerning fuel level difficult - perhaps too much fuel caused leakage and resulting large flame
I purchased this torch to make creme brulee and it generally did its job. However, I returned it to the store after only a few days as there are some glitchy tools you can deal with but a glitchy torch, not so much.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size
Cons: Quality, inconsistent output
Review 4 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizaMFB
,San Francisco
,CA
February 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this product!!!!
February 4, 2013
Used this for my chicken that I cooked with a sous vide. I simply torched the chicken and looked wonderful!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 5 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KansasKate
Little town on the prairie
November 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
pleased with purchase
November 22, 2012
After reading reviews of various brands on a major e-tailer's site, I was beginning to think they were all junk. But, after looking at this model in a W-S store, we decided to spend a little more since it seemed well made.
I just finished caramelizing 10 pumpkin crème brûlées. I'm so happy we chose this torch! It's easy to ignite and comfortable to hold. My husband said it was easy to fill.
Suggestion: Do a practice brûlée [see photo] to adjust the flame and figure out how close to hold the torch, how quickly to move it, etc.
This torch will also come in handy for doing tortillas & red peppers. Since we switched to induction and have no gas burners, we've had to go outside and fire up the gas grill. This will be so much more convenient.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, base is handy, comfortable to hold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mgidget
,Bakersfield
,Ca
November 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use
November 13, 2012
I'm very pleased with this kitchen torch. I love the size, shape and its easy to use.
I had no problems filling it with butane and it lite on the first try.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ashleigh
,Lawrenceville
,Ge
October 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Torch
October 9, 2012
I actually bought this today for my birthday at the local WS store and so far, I'm very pleased with it. When I was at the store, the girl at the counter made sure I had butane for it and was ready to grab a can for me (fortunately, I had some at home). When I got home, I turned it upside down, filled it with Ronson Multi fill Butane and it fired right up. I was thinking it would have maybe a 2-3 inch flame, but it has about a 6in flame. The gauge on the side of the torch is accurate. However, I have found that it is in fact easier to light if, when you push the ignition button down, you push it down halfway to get the gas flowing and then push down the rest of the way for the spark. If I have any problems, it can be returned within 90 days but otherwise I look forward to using this for many, many things.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Kitchen Torch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yummyyumyum
,Boston
,MA
September 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So disappointed!
September 30, 2012
We've been looking forward to making creme brûlée for a while and finally got a butane canister. Had a hard time filling enough for more than a few seconds worth of flame. Then we finally got one ramekin done, stopped to refill, and have not gotten the flame to ignite since then. The rest of the ramekins are headed to the broiler.
Cons: Quality