Kitchen Torch

Give classic creme brulee its signature caramelized topping using our kitchen torch - a compact version of the ones used by pastry chefs. Its adjustable flame also comes in handy for melting grated cheese and browning meringues and the tops of tarts.Built-in gauge displays the fuel level.Includes a storage stand and recipe.Uses a standard butane canister (not included).A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.516 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
19 of 31(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Kitchen Torch
Review 1 for Kitchen Torch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Webb
,Edmonton
,AB
December 31, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Spark, Hard to Fill
December 31, 2013
Hard to fill, Hard to see fuel Level.
Out of the Box no spark on the igniter.
Had to light it with a lighter.
It's a shame, I typically love WS Products.
Cons: Quality, little to no instructions, no way to troubleshoot the problems.
Review 2 for Kitchen Torch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tayloch3
,Davis
,CA
November 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Inconsistent Performance, Returned to Store
November 26, 2013
I read the reviews but decided to buy this WS "exclusive" torch anyway as most of the negative ratings seemed to be due to difficulties in filling the butane chamber as a result of inadequate instructions included in the box.
PROS - (1) Easy to use, (2) You can point the nozzle downward unlike a propane torch purchased from a hardware store
CONS - (1) Inconsistent output, even on the lowest settings the flame was sporadically long and/or wide, (2) Filling and refilling the butane was difficult and messy when the butane back-splashed once the chamber was full, (3) Poorly designed fuel "window" made discerning fuel level difficult - perhaps too much fuel caused leakage and resulting large flame
I purchased this torch to make creme brulee and it generally did its job. However, I returned it to the store after only a few days as there are some glitchy tools you can deal with but a glitchy torch, not so much.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size
Cons: Quality, inconsistent output
Review 3 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizaMFB
,San Francisco
,CA
February 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this product!!!!
February 4, 2013
Used this for my chicken that I cooked with a sous vide. I simply torched the chicken and looked wonderful!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 4 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KansasKate
Little town on the prairie
November 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
pleased with purchase
November 22, 2012
After reading reviews of various brands on a major e-tailer's site, I was beginning to think they were all junk. But, after looking at this model in a W-S store, we decided to spend a little more since it seemed well made.
I just finished caramelizing 10 pumpkin crème brûlées. I'm so happy we chose this torch! It's easy to ignite and comfortable to hold. My husband said it was easy to fill.
Suggestion: Do a practice brûlée [see photo] to adjust the flame and figure out how close to hold the torch, how quickly to move it, etc.
This torch will also come in handy for doing tortillas & red peppers. Since we switched to induction and have no gas burners, we've had to go outside and fire up the gas grill. This will be so much more convenient.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, base is handy, comfortable to hold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mgidget
,Bakersfield
,Ca
November 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use
November 13, 2012
I'm very pleased with this kitchen torch. I love the size, shape and its easy to use.
I had no problems filling it with butane and it lite on the first try.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ashleigh
,Lawrenceville
,Ge
October 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Torch
October 9, 2012
I actually bought this today for my birthday at the local WS store and so far, I'm very pleased with it. When I was at the store, the girl at the counter made sure I had butane for it and was ready to grab a can for me (fortunately, I had some at home). When I got home, I turned it upside down, filled it with Ronson Multi fill Butane and it fired right up. I was thinking it would have maybe a 2-3 inch flame, but it has about a 6in flame. The gauge on the side of the torch is accurate. However, I have found that it is in fact easier to light if, when you push the ignition button down, you push it down halfway to get the gas flowing and then push down the rest of the way for the spark. If I have any problems, it can be returned within 90 days but otherwise I look forward to using this for many, many things.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Kitchen Torch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yummyyumyum
,Boston
,MA
September 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So disappointed!
September 30, 2012
We've been looking forward to making creme brûlée for a while and finally got a butane canister. Had a hard time filling enough for more than a few seconds worth of flame. Then we finally got one ramekin done, stopped to refill, and have not gotten the flame to ignite since then. The rest of the ramekins are headed to the broiler.
Cons: Quality
Review 8 for Kitchen Torch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sousvider
,Vancouver
December 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Product to up to WS standards of quality
December 30, 2011
After reading many of the reviews, I now feel better !! It seems that I am not that stupid since several of WS clients have experienced the many frustations I had with this Christmas gift from my wife.
First no butane container in the box! Furthermore nobody at WS has said to my wife that the purchase of a separate butane can was mandatory to use the product.
So back at WS on Dec. 30 to buy the butane can. No instructions either on the can or in the torch box on how to fill it...
It does not seem to work since when I connect the can and the torch, the gas is spilling everywhere except in the torch tank !! I thought that maybe you need to remove the metal top of the butane can so that the contact is not leaky. Big error since the can starts to leak butane in our kitchen !! It is now on our patio to empty itself...
I am going to return to WS tomorrow and I will let you, the WS clients, know the outcome.
Cons: Quality
Review 9 for Kitchen Torch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,New York
,NY
December 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I still don't know how to fill this
December 24, 2011
I've bought butane cannisters, and none seem to be compatible with this. It would be nice if there were a clear explanation of how to fill this device so it's not just dead weight in my pantry.
Review 10 for Kitchen Torch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
luv2teech7
,Boston
,MA
November 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Never filled properly
November 26, 2011
I tried so many times to get this to work...to no avail. I returned one because it didn't work, only to figure out that it must be an issue with instructions/filling with the butane. I very carefully followed directions numerous times and even gave to a friend of mine who works in culinary arts to help me fill it. Needless to say, I tossed it. I agree with previous posters--an online video to show how to use this would be helpful as they can't demonstrate in the store here---it's illegal for them to carry the butane! Wouldn't waste my money on this one again!
Pros: Shape
Cons: never worked!, difficult/impossible to fill
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anna62
Bakersfield, Ca
Posted December 7, 2012
W-S carries butane
W-S does carry the butane and can show you how to use it in the store. That's what they did for me and it works just fine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Kitchen Torch
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AJH4
Savannah, GA
July 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They sould put on you tube.
July 30, 2011
I have not been able to try it yet since I can not fill it with fuel. They should show you which brand butane to use on YouTube.
Pros: not used yet
Cons: how do you refill?
Review 12 for Kitchen Torch
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SLMorris
July 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kitchen Torch
July 6, 2011
The product works great, but I agree that the instructions on filling are a little vague. It would be nice for them to provide an approximate number of pumps to fill (which in my experience is more than 20) because "back spray" as an indicator is misleading because it can happen if you tilt the butane refill off center. I still don't know if mine is full...
I love it when it works, but was a little embarrassed when I showed up to a dinner party with custard and torch in hand, but ended up having to use the broiler when I was out of fuel after doing one ramekin.
Pros: Quality, Shape, Weight
Cons: poor instructions
Review 13 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Westie
Moorestown, NJ
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb torch for multiple kitchen applicatiions
January 27, 2011
I purchased the torch based on a recommendation by the Voltaggio brothers. I have a small torch that never seems to be able to do the job I want. When I received this torch in the mail, I was delighted with the weight and overall construction. After using it, I became even more impressed. I used it to torch creme brulee, bruleed pineapple and a cedar plank to use with salmon in the slow cooker. I would highly recommend this product to any serious cook. It is not for the timid; it has ample power for multiple kitchen uses but it may scare casual or inexperienced cooks with its flame.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
K3LLYop123
January 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best torch EVER
January 24, 2011
my only problem was that the first one i bought was used and broken and the store still sold it to me knowing that it was used and also dirty! Beside that i returned it and got an unused one and it is AMAZING! totally worth the 50 something dollars i spent on it before they lowered the price to 39.99
Review 15 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bkcafe
East Tennessee
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Long Lasting
January 1, 2011
We got this for our cafe and it lasted longer than any other we have used. It is something we use very frequently and we have quite a rowdy bunch in the kitchen. After about two and a half years of use (which would probably be equal to what somebody in their home would use for 6 years or so) finally bit the dust but I'm right back on here to buy another!
Review 16 for Kitchen Torch
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
scraps
Houston, TX
December 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
13of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice torch, but documentation lacking
December 19, 2010
I purchase kids toys all the time where the store system shows the product requires batteries and the sales clerk upsells me; I wished that had been the case here.
In addition to no fuel, there are no instructions on how to refill the unit. It just says "refill at the botttom." An item with so many danger warnings on the package should come with more detailed instructions, including a better write up on safety, care, storage, and "in case of emergency."
Luckily, my husband happened to have a butane refilling unit, so I was saved a trip to the kitchen supply. Unfortunately for me, this man who can barely butter bread he now thinks he's the savior of our kitchen ... and I haven't heard the end of it.
Review 17 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grammyhedge
Carnforth, Lancashire, U.K.
July 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
highly functional torch
July 31, 2010
somewhat late in reviewing this...another gift for my son-in-law. His creme brulee is better than any restaurant, and he loves the torch!!
Review 18 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Coral Springs, Florida
May 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Performance
May 4, 2010
This kitchen Torch is much better than
the one I used to have. The flame is strong and it lasts. I was able to caramelize 4 creme brulee without having to add more fuel.
Review 19 for Kitchen Torch
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheftom53
Rockford, IL
April 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Happy with Purchase
April 21, 2010
Very happy with the torch, as it is exactly as advertised. I didn't need a high end torch, but this over achieves when I use it. Thanks
Review 20 for Kitchen Torch
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BakedAlaskan
Palmer, Alaska
January 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not for a novice
January 27, 2010
Instructions for refilling this torch with butane were not very helpful--"uses a standard butane canister." I'd never used a torch before or purchased butane--there are several varieties and they come with several fueling injection heads. I took it to a local kitchen appliance store for help. When I tried to but butane in it, the butane ended up all over my hands. SCARY.
page1 2 next