This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook

A celebration of the comforting flavors that nourish body and soul, this cookbook provides a wealth of inspiration for hearty home-cooked meals. Author Rick Rodgers offers over 100 heirloom recipes for America's most treasured comfort foods, all meant to be enjoyed around the kitchen table with family and friends. Resurrecting the rich, satisfying foods of childhood, this book covers every meal of the day - with plenty of options for dessert. Most recipes are accompanied by beautiful color photography, along with a story behind the dish, and suggestions on how you can make it your own. Irresistible highlights include blueberry pancakes, mac 'n' cheese, barbecued ribs, buttermilk fried chicken and fresh peach cobbler with homemade vanilla ice cream. Hardcover, 256 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.957 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
23 of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeanjj
,Rockwall
,TX
Rockwall, TX
December 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
One of my top cookbooks
December 5, 2013
I collect cookbooks, and Comfort Food is one of the very best I have. The beef stew recipe is amazing as is the Lemon Pie. It is one of my favorite gifts for family and friends.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeckie
,Portland
,OR
July 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Happy cookbook
July 16, 2013
I just love this cookbook. There are very few recipes that I will not try. The pictures are beautiful and make it all look so wonderful. This book made me smile. I am a fairly experienced cook but still found things I loved but have never made. I also think this would be a good book for a not so experienced cook, and certainly for someone cooking for a family with children. Get it, you'll really enjoy it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, pictures
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Richswife
,Lewiston
,ID
November 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
We bought an extra book for the cabin
November 10, 2012
My husband is the creative cook betwee us. He loved the recipes from this book so much, we bought an extra one for our cabin in McCall, Idaho....yum!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CarylKD
,Bethel
,CT
September 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love this book
September 24, 2012
Every recipe I have tried has been fabulous. Easy to follow and well explained. It will inspire you to cook for the ones you love!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Auyanna
Georgia
August 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
A Must Have!
August 26, 2011
I have so many cookbooks and magazines but I could not resist purchasing this book while shopping at the store. It is an absolute must have to add to any collection! Well worth it! I know that I will be making many of the recipes that are in this book.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DivaofDomestics
NYC
April 16, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
A Cookbook for the Cook Who Knows Everything
April 16, 2011
I am not a cookbook buying type of person. The way I figure, I already know how to cook very well. But just the cover of this book is enough to put your salivary glands to work. I must admit I flipped through the pages several times before purchasing the book; by the third or fourth visit back to WS, I caved and purchased it. The recipes in the book are basic, and can still satisfy even the most finicky of appetites. The savory beef short ribs has become a family favourite, although like any recipe I've ever used, I've altered it here and there to our own taste. But the beauty of this book is the recipes can be used by the faithfully following novice, the experienced cook, and those that fall somewhere between the two.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Design
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Hauppauge, NY
March 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The Best Cookbook Ever
March 23, 2011
I have a ton of cookbooks and this is the best one by far!! We've yet to make a meal that was anything less then delicious. If you are trying to decide between another cookbook and this one, go with this one. I'm hoping they make a Comfort Foods part II
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MattnMel
Orlando, FL
February 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Delicious Food!
February 28, 2011
My fiance and I got this as a gift (per our wish list) and have made several things out of it so far that have been delicious. We love to cook and the recipes in here are right up our alley. The baked beans for one were amazing...a bit of work, but completely worth it! We love it so much that we just bought it as a gift for a friend as well.
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crazydoglady
Oklahoma
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This is my favorite cookbook out of dozens I own!
January 7, 2011
I have been collecting cookbooks for over 25 years. Picked this up on a whim. My family is so glad that I did! I have made several dishes and every one of them has been so delicious. Simple, homey goodness. This is food you want to eat. This would make a good gift. My daughter loves to look at the pictures (she is 18!)
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
taraebrowne
Lakewood, CA
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Chicken Pot Pies
January 5, 2011
Well, at my boyfriend's request I started with the cover recipe - Chicken Pot Pie - and it was absolutely amazing! The crust is buttery with just a touch of shortening for lightness - best I've ever made. I made a couple of minor adjustments to the recipe: since I used tin pie plates instead of pot pie ramekins, I had to line the pot pies with pastry as well as topping them; also, I added half a head of sliced garlic to the veggie mixture, and it was lovely. The filling stands on its own a a delicious soup, and I'm planning to use the leftovers (there was more soup than I could fit in the pot pies) to serve with dumplings for dinner tomorrow night. If this recipe is any indicator of the quality of the book, it's going to be amazing!
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mutt
Arkansas
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
One of my all time FAVORITES
January 4, 2011
Let me start by saying......I have many cookbooks. I just purchased this cookbook(my first ws cookbook) this past summer. This has become one if not the # 1 COOKBOOK I go to. We love the sloppy joes, chocolate chip cookies, & apple cider donuts. And I almost forgot about the chocolate cake. The list goes on & on.You will not be disappointed in this cookbook:0)
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momma2
SANTA MARIRA ,CA
December 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Food Full of Flavor
December 11, 2010
The Best cookbook ever.A total inspiration to learn to cook with fresh herbs.This is a very good Bridal shower gift or gift for the new cook who needs help.Also good for us cooks who are bored with the same old same old.Buy this book it will be your favorite.You will be hooked on the willam sonoma cook books.This one is without a doubt the best of the best,
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
USMCMAMA
Keller, TX
July 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Cookbook Find!
July 19, 2010
I've been a fan of WS cookbooks for several years. This one did not disappoint! My family and friends have enjoyed every recipe I've tried so far...and we're about 1/2 way through all the foods featured. If you want easy to follow directions to make food that's tasty and "just like Mom used to make" this is the cookbook to try.
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
daydreambeliever
Chino, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Best Cookbook for Comfort Foods
April 30, 2010
I waited awhile since purchasing this book in January, to write a review , as I wanted to try out some of recipes before commenting. Well, the book does not disappoint. I made my family the Fish Taco's, the Braised Short Ribs with Polenta, the Corned Beef and Cabbage, the Baked Ham,the Meat Loaf w/gravy, the Home-Style Pot Roast, the Chicken Fried Steak,the Beer Battered Onion Rings,Creamed Spinach,the BLTA sandwich, and the Devils Food Cake(scrumptious) and they were all a hit with my family! Having all of these wonderful recipes in one book makes it easy to plan my meals.
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NorwichTerrierMom
West Virginia
March 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Comfort Food
March 23, 2010
The only thing I can add to the previous reviews is that I have been cooking and collecting cookbooks for almost 50 years. I have a lot of WS cookbooks and enjoy all of them. I try to focus on health and nutrition and a lot of my cookbooks are designed for that. But I am also a believer that all real, whole food is nutritious and healthy in moderation. This book is a feast for the eyes and spirit as well as having delicious no-fail recipes. My husband and I always go through a new cookbook and mark what we want to try but we had to rein ourselves in on this one. We marked every page.
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lalaTemecula
Temecula, CA
January 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Its title says it all....truly 'Comfort Food'!
January 28, 2010
I love this cookbook! I received it for Christmas and have been cooking from it almost weekly ever since. The photos are excellent inspiration; the instructions are well written and clear. My husband & 3 boys have raved over each meal, completely cleaning their plates! Every recipe I've tried is great, so picking a favorite is too hard! The cookbook's title says it all...each recipe is truly 'Comfort Food'!!
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladoring
Brigantine, NJ
January 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
OMG AMAZING
January 27, 2010
Ok, so we all love comfort foods, but this book pushed the envelope and came up with pure decadent comfort food. The recipes are easy, hearty, delicious, and comforting!!
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
heyitsjessie
Milwaukee, WI
January 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Absolutely love it!!!
January 26, 2010
Just bought this and everything looks so good!!! Made the mac n' cheese lastnight. I have never had anything better!!!
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kentuckycook
Central Kentucky
November 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Yummy!
November 19, 2009
After drooling over the cover of this cookbook every single time I visited my local WS store I finally decided to get it over with and actually buy a copy. So glad I did! I haven't made a bad dish from this book yet. My favorite so far has to be the Shepherd's Pie... delicious! Great recipes and mouth watering pictures make this a cookbook worth adding to any collection.
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Comfort Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HRJabber
Odenton, MD
October 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Best Purchase I've Ever Made!
October 13, 2009
Being 23 and newly married, I know how to cook basic foods fairly well, but i'm always looking for a new challenge when it comes to the kitchen. I have purchased dozens of cookbooks in the past that look good, but the recipes never turn out well, the ingredients are so weird or the recipe is way too complicated - not this book! As another reviewer stated, the majority of the recipes in the book are dishes that EVERYONE grew up on - yummy, classic dishes with really nice flavors. The only recipe that didn't turn out that well for me was the chocolate cake, but everything else I have tried, which is the majority of the entrees, are all amazing! LOVE this book!
page1 2 next