Cole & Mason Granite Mortar & Pestle, 7"

This mortar and pestle are made from solid black granite-a beautiful complement to natural kitchen surfaces. The unpolished interior surface has a rough texture that aids in grinding garlic, whole spices and fresh herbs and in making pesto, curry pastes and other sauces. Traditional mortar and pestle made of solid natural granite. Unglazed stone has a rough texture that helps create friction for efficient grinding. Exterior is smooth polished granite. Heavyweight granite is very stable during use. Can be used for both wet and dry mixtures. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cole & Mason Granite Mortar & Pestle, 7"
Review 1 for Cole & Mason Granite Mortar & Pestle, 7"
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tinags
,Tucson
,AZ
February 22, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Mortar and Pestle
February 22, 2015
I have had this mortar and pestle for a week and have used it at least 3 times. It is the perfect size and weight as well as being pleasing to the eye. I chose this over the more rustic, rough mortars because I use it mostly to grind spices or make guacamole, and the mortars with more interior texture tend to trap and hold too much of the ground spice or avocado, making it difficult to remove. I would have given it 5 stars but my mortar arrived with a 1/4" chip on the rim. Since it doesn't affect performance, I am keeping it. Although I thought it was too pricey at first, after checking various websites for this and other mortars and pestles of similar size, and material, I felt that this was the best quality for the money, and met my requirements.
Review 2 for Cole & Mason Granite Mortar & Pestle, 7"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JustTheCook
,Ann Arbor
,MI
December 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wish I got this sooner...
December 29, 2014
Love the size and quality. Went to season it, but I didn't really didn't need too...but it was sure fun smashing the stuff anyway!
Used one of my wife's odd knee high stocking over the opening of the mortar with the pestle inside and it kept the grains of rice from flying out and making a mess as I pounded away.
Storage isn't going to be a problem. The outside of the mortar is a really nice finish and so I am going to keep it right out in the kitchen by using it as a small vase with fake flower arrangement that is put over the pestle and into the mortar. Nobody could tell.
Made some fresh basil pesto...wow! The aroma as I was making it was phenomenal and the flavor when eating it was fantastic.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight, makes a great vase when not using it!
Review 3 for Cole & Mason Granite Mortar & Pestle, 7"
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JJJetPlane209
,Midwest City
,OK
March 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Mortar
March 6, 2014
This mortar is beautiful and fantastic. I was thoroughly surprised at the size and weight of it, and am extremely happy with it for the price.
My pestle arrived broken, 2 items in as many months that have arrived broken from William Sonoma's online store. I'm not sure yet whether to chalk this up to the quality of this item, or just William Sonoma's handling and packaging.
I have noticed that purchasing a pestle, separate from a mortar, is nearly impossible so it may be worth considering before you buy this item.
Pros: Size, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 4 for Cole & Mason Granite Mortar & Pestle, 7"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Batchusera
,Denver
,CO
November 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Mortar & Pestle
November 3, 2013
We buy so many wood mortar and pestles, but this one is the best. It is big enough to make mofongo and small enough to just crush garlic or spices without flying out of the bowl. It is heavy, but you only need to rinse with water after every use. If you are lucky enough to get one of the few left grab one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight