Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills

With these battery-powered mills you can dispense salt or pepper ground to your desired coarseness at the touch of a button. A mini light illuminates the area below the mill - handy for twilight grilling and candlelit dinners. Easy push-button operation. Stainless-steel body with a brushed finish. Durable carbon-steel grinding mechanism for pepper and salt. An acrylic window displays the contents and fill level. A mini light illuminates food below the mill as you grind. Uses six AAA batteries (included). A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
83 of 120(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
Review 1 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LibDev
Lebanon, NJ
January 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Top Heavy and Breakable
January 6, 2010
These salt and pepper mills have terrific features. I especially like how it lights up your food so you can tell how much salt you are getting. And they have worked very well for me for some time; though I do agree that the batteries do not last all that long.
My biggest complaint is that the design is flawed in that the batteries make them top-heavy and there is no wide base to keep them from knocking over. Its easy to tip them over causing them to roll off the counter and fall to the floor. Then the plastic piece inside chips and the top and bottom no longer stay together.
I have exchanged the broken ones three times now at no extra charge; but, I wonder how long William-Sonoma will keep replacing them?
If the company could make the same thing with a wider base for more stability, I would be more satisfied with the product.
Review 2 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CBJR
Northern VA.
April 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Long time user
April 29, 2009
Overall these are nice grinders - I have owned a pair for several years. the button on the Pepper grinder quit working quite early on and was replaced free of charge but a year or so later the button failed again - and I rigged the bottom/grinder portion to a 12V variable speed drill - it's a conversation piece to say the least now and will grind pepper in a big hurry.
The salt grinder has worked fine. Couple things to note 6 AAA batteries in the top of the shakers make them a top-heavy hammer when they get knocked over. Usually dislodging a battery or two. Once it hammered the edge of the glass cooktop and broke the cooktop. $500 repair- so be careful.
Otherwise they look as good as the day they were purchased. Good quality stainless steel.
Review 3 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SDSTRBR
Lompoc, CA
March 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TAKE CARE NEAR HEAT!!!
March 26, 2009
As lovely as these are to look at and use, they DO NOT hold up well near heat, i.e., a STOVE or OVEN in a KITCHEN. Mine lived on the back of the stove, and the first time the oven was used, the s/s conducted heat that melted the inside plastics at a very low temperature..... Just because they LOOK and FEEL like heavy metal, they are still VERY fragile plastic inside. $100 bucks, down the drain. There are no instructions cautioning proximity to heat, and I would have expected them to stand up MUCH better. I should have talked to the store, but it's too far away. Until that disaster, they were LOVELY, but use KID GLOVES! I just can't afford another set!!
Review 4 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kenny
Palm Springs, Ca.
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beauty is transient
September 3, 2008
For the first year, I really loved these mills. Work great. Illuminate the food greatwith its light. My guests loved them so much that I bought another set for friends last Christmas. The only objection was that they are top heavy, falling over easily. Then disaster happened. The salt mill stopped working. Somehow salt had gotten into the wiring making the motor quit. I checked the batteries, cleaned the contact points, and gave it a good shake, but to no avail.
The saga ends with me trashing the salt mill, replacing it with a cheaper brand, and being disillusioned that something so beautiful could fall into uselessness so fast.
Review 5 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
massbiker
Baltimore, MD
October 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unreliable
October 10, 2010
I'm on my second pepper mill - the first broke in three days, the second (replacement) broke on day one. The problem is the plastic ring that is used as a base against which the grinding wheel moves to grind the pepper. This plastic ring is attached to the base of the grinder by two thin screws that screw into plastic sleeves. The plastic sleeves shear off during grinding leaving the grinder unusable. The Peugeot grinders (2x the money) have a steel sleeve and steel assembly; maybe they are more durable. Williams Sonoma should not carry the Cole & Mason grinder; it does not reflect well upon WS' general level of quality.
Review 6 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goaskellen
Los Angeles, CA
May 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Mills
May 29, 2009
I've had my Cole & Mason salt & pepper mills for 2 years now and LOVE them!! The one-handed use is great especially when cooking and/or handling meat etc. I've had others (Sharper Image) that stopped working after a little while. Plus, Cole & Mason have an arrangement with W-S where they'll exchange it for a new one if it stops working which happened a few months ago and - after a year and a half - W-S gave me a brand new pepper mill that had stopped working for some reason. With no receipt!!! I definitely recommend this item for anyone, especially people who are hard to buy for.
Review 7 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snickers
Spokane, WA
April 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love these salt and pepper mills !
April 23, 2009
I received an "off brand" electric pepper mill for Christmas a couple of years ago. It has never seemed to work as well as I wanted it to, sometimes wouldn't stop grinding even when I wasn't pushing the button or wouldn't grind when I did push the button. I decided to buy this set for salt and pepper and I absolutely love them! The mechanism is so smooth, the light makes it easy to see how much you are grinding. They are easy to hold. I keep them close by in my cooking area as they are an essential tool when cooking....now I need another set to just stay on the table!
Review 8 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GREGMON
New Mex
January 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Could be better
January 14, 2009
I've wanted one of these for so long and finally received the pepper mill for Christmas. I'm using it a lot.
PROS: Works pretty quickly. Great for things which take a bit of pepper like carbonara or red sauce. One handed operation.
CONS: The housing doesn't click into place and if you're rough on things, it will come apart and fall intoyour cooking pot. Also, the grind selection is limited. You can not get a very fine grind.
I keep lots of batteries on hand, so I'm not concened about replacements. Peppermills are usually difficult to fill; I find this one no worse.
Review 9 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EEBFS
,NYC
,NY
December 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WORST EVER!
December 14, 2011
I've never actually written a product review online, but this deserves one. I received this set as a gift from my wedding registry. Due to the monogram, I couldn't return it. This morning, I finally threw them away. For the last 18 months, I have been stubbornly hanging on to them and trying to make the most of the gift. The only way to reduce the possibility of the bottom piece falling off is to use two hands. If not, the parts will detach and explode peppercorns and salt all over the kitchen. This has happened several times. Terrible design. Do NOT buy!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 10 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AllyO
San Mateo CA
July 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pure Garbage
July 26, 2010
Save yourself some money and don't buy these. Bought in May and now (July) the salt has totally stopped working. Not that it ever worked that great. Pepper is just hanging in there. Lousy Design to refill and I agree with the other review, that they fall over easily. Corrasion on the inside of both, where batteries are kept, and I do not live in humid climate. Salt will leak out all over table or counter after each use.
Wish I could give them a negative star, but hopefully someone will read this and not make the same mistake I did.
Review 11 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DPOCH
Gurnee, Illinois
October 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't waste your money
October 2, 2010
When you first get these grinders, you'll love them. However, after a few months the cheap plastic latch will wear out and it will fall apart mid operation landing on whatever, you're seasoning. I've had to add tape and hold it with 2 hands in order to continue using it. This is after replacing several of these due to switch and motor failures. One last irritation as if the fore mentioned wasn't enough, due to their shape and weight, they're prone to tip over and smash anything that's in its path (wine glasses, plates, etc...).
Review 12 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IrishEyesSmiling
NJ
December 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tried my best to make these last
December 8, 2010
They look lovely on the table and in the kitchen - love the light and being electric, I thought how handy. First purchased these about 3-4 years ago with a WS gift card in store. They first one broke about 3 months later. Returned for another. Another couple of months, broke again. Tried again. Lasted maybe 10 months. Thank goodness this was during the time WS return policy was longer. That time I decided NOT to try again, returned them for Peugeot u’Select Daman Acrylic Salt & Pepper Mills. Have had no problems with those.
Review 13 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Ben Lomond, CA
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not reliable
September 3, 2008
These are very cool and work great, when they work. The flashlight feature is especially useful for the salt mill in allowing you to see how much you're getting. But they're powered by six AAA batteries (each), which are hard to position and easy to dislodge. And after about eight months of use my salt mill just stopped working. Fiddling with the batteries didn't fix it, replacing the batteries didn't fix it. Just seems to be broken. I heard that the same thing happened (sooner) to the pepper mill of a set I gave as a gift.
Review 14 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jpcdmcc678
Springfield, VA
July 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pepper Mill could be stronger.
July 14, 2009
Overall, we love this set. The one drawback is the longevity of the pepper mill. We purchased the set a little over two years ago and after about a year the pepper mill just quit working. We took it back to the store and they replaced it for free. We have had the second one for a little over a year and it too has died. The salt grinder is fine. We believe the motor in the pepper grinder may not be sturdy enough to withstand constant usage. Otherwise, these are great products and have received bunches of compliments.
Review 15 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Guycook123
,Calgary
,Ab
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Look great but poor design
December 25, 2012
These are beautiful but have some design flaws.
1) They are very top heavy and can get knocked over easily.
2) Very early on in their life I needed to wrap tape around the batteries to hold them in place.
3) Because they fall over easily the plastic piece that holds pepper or salt has broken off from the aluminum body and after the 3rd time repairing with crazy glue they will be thrown out.
These are great for a large dining area and if used with care. For everyday use save your money and buy something else.
Pros: Easy to Use, great looks
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 16 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CookingInOKC
Oklahoma City, OK
December 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not for everyday use
December 23, 2009
The batteries do not last very long. Better to purchase rechargeable ones...you'll save money in the long run!
Make sure the units are put together properly before using. I had an incident where I was cooking soup and went to add salt and the unit came apart and fell into my soup. It wouldn't work after that but I was able to take it in and get a replacement.
Don't plan on using these for day to day cooking. I would recommend keeping these on the dinner table for when you're serving food.
Review 17 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DesertRick
palm desert, ca
July 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Spare Parts!
July 29, 2010
Bought these two maybe three years ago and have really enjoyed them. The one I bought required six batteries. A month ago, the acrylic canister on the pepper mill broke loose from the body. I superglued it back, but that only lasted a month. Went to the Cole & Mason site and they say "no spare parts". Bummer. Some of their other products have a 25 year guarantee on the grinding mechanism. Don't know if that covers the acrylic breaking away from the grinding mechanism.
Review 18 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TomNT
,New Preston
,CT
February 22, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor design
February 22, 2012
I received a Cole & Mason pepper mill as a gift and it broke within a year or less. The plastic that two screws screwed into broke for no reason that I could determine other than a poor design. The broken mill has been replaced, however, it's described as a "salt" mill and I can't find if there is a differance in the salt and pepper mills or are they interchangeable.
With all the negative reviews, I don't understand why W&S is continuing to sell this product ???
Cons: Fragile, poor design
Review 19 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Amrac
Sammamish, WA
May 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the money
May 28, 2009
I purchased this pepper mill a year ago. When it began to die about a week ago, I thought it just needed new batteries. I just replaced the batteries (the ones I tossed were probably fine) and the device will barely grind. I will probably have to toss it after a few more uses. My previous one from Sharper Image lasted over 5 years, so I tossed my receipt for this one as I expected the unit to last more than a year. This was not a quality purchase - don't buy it!
Review 20 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JRSullivan
Rochester NY
December 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
INCREDIBLE SALT AND PEPPER GRINDERS
December 7, 2010
I have purchased over 20 sets of salt and pepper grinders over my 35 years of cooking. Always loving the fresh taste, but hating what I had to go through or fight with to get it. NEVER have I been so delighted with a set. These are the best grinders I have ever used. I have purchased over 10 sets for presents. I love giving wonderful gifts and these are truly a perfect gift for yourself or someone you care for. In fact I am ordering another set right now.
 
My Recommendations
 
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next