Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills

With these battery-powered mills you can dispense salt or pepper ground to your desired coarseness at the touch of a button. A mini light illuminates the area below the mill - handy for twilight grilling and candlelit dinners. Easy push-button operation. Stainless-steel body with a brushed finish. Durable carbon-steel grinding mechanism for pepper and salt. An acrylic window displays the contents and fill level. A mini light illuminates food below the mill as you grind. Uses six AAA batteries (included). A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.125 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
8 of 16(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
Review 1 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Guycook123
,Calgary
,Ab
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Look great but poor design
December 25, 2012
These are beautiful but have some design flaws.
1) They are very top heavy and can get knocked over easily.
2) Very early on in their life I needed to wrap tape around the batteries to hold them in place.
3) Because they fall over easily the plastic piece that holds pepper or salt has broken off from the aluminum body and after the 3rd time repairing with crazy glue they will be thrown out.
These are great for a large dining area and if used with care. For everyday use save your money and buy something else.
Pros: Easy to Use, great looks
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 2 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TomNT
,New Preston
,CT
February 22, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor design
February 22, 2012
I received a Cole & Mason pepper mill as a gift and it broke within a year or less. The plastic that two screws screwed into broke for no reason that I could determine other than a poor design. The broken mill has been replaced, however, it's described as a "salt" mill and I can't find if there is a differance in the salt and pepper mills or are they interchangeable.
With all the negative reviews, I don't understand why W&S is continuing to sell this product ???
Cons: Fragile, poor design
Review 3 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
August 28, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not worth the money
August 28, 2014
My husband bought the Greenwich pepper mill. It worked well until he dropped it on the granite countertop about 3 months after we purchased it. The top (stainless part) broke off from the bottom (clear plastic). In my opinion the product is not merchandisable quality in that the top is too heavy for the weak plastic bottom. Replacement parts are not available and it chews through batteries like no one's business.
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 4 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gourmetbuff
,St. Louis
,MO
November 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DON'T BUY THIS BRAND!
November 3, 2012
These aren't worth the investment. The adjustable pepper mill doesn't adjust. The top of the salt mill doesn't screw onto the bottom anymore, so you have to carefully use two hands. W-S is a wonderful company and they have replaced the pepper mill for me once. It isn't any better than the first one. It's hard to throw a $100 product into the trash can but that's what needs to happen. BUY ANOTHER BRAND.
Pros: lighted
Cons: Quality
Review 5 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Peppa
,St Louis
,MO
February 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but be careful
February 9, 2014
I have had my Cole & Mason salt and pepper mills for a couple of years, they are beautiful and look great in my kitchen. Last month while making Chippino, I was using the pepper mill, and the entire bottom half of the pepper mill (batteries and all) fell off and into my Chippino. Took me 5 minutes to find all the batteries, and completely ruined my Pepper Mill. Use caution when using over food!
Pros: very pretty
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile, too many batteries
Review 6 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABeachNelson
,San Francisco
,CA
October 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
7 years later still working beautifully
October 28, 2012
We've had these for 7 years and they still work great. Everyone loves them and at $100 for a pair, a really good deal. Adjusting grind size could be a bit easier. Re-filling a breeze with a stainless steel funnel bought at Mollie Stone's. We've given as a gift several times and everyone has loved them. We will definitely buy again, if and when these finally give up the ghost.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Design
Review 7 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gaye
,Norfolk
,VA
Virginia Beach, VA
February 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor construction for an expensive item
February 15, 2012
As everyone else mentioned, these are top heavy and the plastic clips that hold the top on have broken off. Thus, the bottom keeps falling off our salt grinder. Pepper shaker grinds very poorly. I find that all the "Exclusive" items for Williams-Somoma do not deliver and fail quickly. This is a shame because the concept is great.
Pros: Design
Cons: Weight, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, Fragile, cheaply made, top heavy and fall over easily
Review 8 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RCKJ
,Carlisle
,MA
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cole and Mason Electric Salt and Pepper Grinders
August 25, 2013
Cole and Mason Electric Salt and Pepper Grinders
This is actually quite a good product with one exception. With high usage, it goes through batteries quickly and the new batteries are tricky to get in just right. Because of this I end up using my Oxo manual grinders more. Still very good grinders, especially for high volume.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Clean, battery replacement difficult
Review 9 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
March 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic product/great design
March 28, 2013
This is my second set of these. I use them every single day. Gifted my other set to my son for his apartment. I was pleasantly surprised when the new set came. They've changed the grind wheel on the bottom to an easier one to use. Now I can do large flakes to fine grind so easily. All of my friends love these too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beeker
,Falls Church
,VA
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Design
November 28, 2012
I really don't like these mills. My biggest complaint is that they are top heavy and when I am cooking, they fall over. Luckily none of the plastic pieces have broken. Considering the price, I would expect a lot more. Save your money and buy another set.
Cons: Quality, Weight
Review 11 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JDR1
,Butler
,Pa
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have salt & pepper mills
November 30, 2013
They are great, buy not grandchildren proof when dropped from five feet and lands the “wrong way”. I had them for several years- did not hesitate to replace. The pepper mill was the one that did not survive, but at the price, I had to buy the set.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: grandchildren
Review 12 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goody2shoz
,Groton
,SD
June 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best electric mills
June 8, 2012
i had three sets prior and these are by far the best. not perfect and a little hard on batteries but they are impressive good heavy weight and they have a light. keep the receipt they have a 1 year warrenty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
parishongkong
,San Diego
,CA
July 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do not last
July 16, 2012
I finally bought the electric ones and gave good manual ones away because I broke my wrist. They both worked beautifully for about 3 months. Then the pepper mechanism broke. Would never buy again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Review 14 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KGYinLA
,Los Angeles
,Ca
September 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I have had two and they both broke
September 16, 2012
I have had to of these and they both broke. Same issue both times, motor died. You can't get replacement parts either for motor. Warranty does not cover motor either.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile, breaks
Review 15 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BGGolfingLady
February 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful salt and pepper mills
February 27, 2012
These were a gift for one of my sons who is a gourmet cook. He thinks these are the greatest.
A great gift for anyone who likes to cook!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 16 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bsg78746
,Austin
,TX
May 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Have used for several years
May 12, 2014
I have given this pepper and salt mill to many friends and they have all enjoyed them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Design