Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills

With these battery-powered mills you can dispense salt or pepper ground to your desired coarseness at the touch of a button. A mini light illuminates the area below the mill - handy for twilight grilling and candlelit dinners. Easy push-button operation. Stainless-steel body with a brushed finish. Durable carbon-steel grinding mechanism for pepper and salt. An acrylic window displays the contents and fill level. A mini light illuminates food below the mill as you grind. Uses six AAA batteries (included). A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.304 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
12 of 23(52%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
Review 1 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ryan77
,Vernal
,UT
June 29, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great when the work.
June 29, 2015
These mills are wonderful when they work. The salt mill gets bound up occasionally with Himalayan salt and both seem to run out of batteries quite quickly. I had to replace the salt mill after a few weeks because it quit working completely. Id have switched brands if I did not have the pepper mill...
Cons: Temperamental, Quality
Review 2 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
gourmandc
,Washington
,DC
June 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Despite their looks....these are delicate machines
June 27, 2015
I received these as a wedding gift a # of years ago and have had to replace them 2x.
While the body is steel....all the interior mechanisms are are very fragile plastic. The issue of the plastic arises as the top has these very small plastic tabs which allow it to snap firmly into place. The batteries in the top make the units top heavy and they do tip over.
The plastic tabs break when this happens and the top won't screw as tightly and results in the inevitable moment when you are using them and the whole bottom part falls into your meal or food.
This has occurred on 2 Pepper mills, and also the plastic window on our salt mill has cracked and separated from the metal body when it tipped over.
They are beautiful devices and do their job well and require 6 AAA batteries and are fragile so treat them with care or you will be replacing them within a year.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Fragile, Temperamental, top heavy, requires 6 aaa batteries
Review 3 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BelindaH
,Katy
,TX
June 10, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Wedding Gift!
June 10, 2015
This has been my "wedding gift" of the year! They are great salt & pepper grinders, but the light is just awesome! Makes a fun conversation piece at the dinner table too! A good gift as most people will actually remember who this gift is from!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Design, Size, Quality, Weight, Easy to Store, Time-saver, Accuracy
Review 4 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JGDecorator
,ELLINGTON
,CT
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Grinders Ever
December 31, 2014
I own these grinders , and loved them so much that I gave them as Christmas gifts! They were a HIT !!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Review 5 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lobuick
,Liberty lake
,Wa
December 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best ever mills
December 8, 2014
After one year of daily use these mills perform flawlessly ........I have tried two other similar mills which were junk. I will be giving three daughters each a new set this year to replace the failed brand X gifts from a few years ago. Just pay attention when re-filling to properly align the motor section with the base. LED light works perfect. If used for table service only the battery life great. Highly recommended and a fun table accessory!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lauramess
,Brooklyn
,NY
December 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
awesome gift
December 5, 2014
I received the Cole & Mason electric salt & pepper mills for Christmas last year, along with sea salt & 5 peppercorn blend to refill.
They are totally awesome. They work so well and I haven't even had to replace the batteries yet.
I've gotten so many compliments as I do a lot of entertaining and most of my guests tease me because they're monogrammed, a very classy touch. In fact, I'm so impressed, I'm returning the favor & buying a set for the person who gave them to me!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Cons: takes a lot of aa batteries
Review 7 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Emily27
,Manchester
,MA
September 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Only Lasted a Couple Years
September 8, 2014
We were given the Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills as a gift. The bottom of the salt mill completely fell apart for no apparent reason after a couple of years. Called both Williams-Sonoma and Cole & Mason to no avail. Only a one year warranty. Beware.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality
Review 8 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
August 28, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not worth the money
August 28, 2014
My husband bought the Greenwich pepper mill. It worked well until he dropped it on the granite countertop about 3 months after we purchased it. The top (stainless part) broke off from the bottom (clear plastic). In my opinion the product is not merchandisable quality in that the top is too heavy for the weak plastic bottom. Replacement parts are not available and it chews through batteries like no one's business.
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 9 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bsg78746
,Austin
,TX
May 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Have used for several years
May 12, 2014
I have given this pepper and salt mill to many friends and they have all enjoyed them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 10 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Peppa
,St Louis
,MO
February 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but be careful
February 9, 2014
I have had my Cole & Mason salt and pepper mills for a couple of years, they are beautiful and look great in my kitchen. Last month while making Chippino, I was using the pepper mill, and the entire bottom half of the pepper mill (batteries and all) fell off and into my Chippino. Took me 5 minutes to find all the batteries, and completely ruined my Pepper Mill. Use caution when using over food!
Pros: very pretty
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile, too many batteries
Review 11 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JDR1
,Butler
,Pa
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have salt & pepper mills
November 30, 2013
They are great, buy not grandchildren proof when dropped from five feet and lands the “wrong way”. I had them for several years- did not hesitate to replace. The pepper mill was the one that did not survive, but at the price, I had to buy the set.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: grandchildren
Review 12 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RCKJ
,Carlisle
,MA
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cole and Mason Electric Salt and Pepper Grinders
August 25, 2013
Cole and Mason Electric Salt and Pepper Grinders
This is actually quite a good product with one exception. With high usage, it goes through batteries quickly and the new batteries are tricky to get in just right. Because of this I end up using my Oxo manual grinders more. Still very good grinders, especially for high volume.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Clean, battery replacement difficult
Review 13 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
March 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic product/great design
March 28, 2013
This is my second set of these. I use them every single day. Gifted my other set to my son for his apartment. I was pleasantly surprised when the new set came. They've changed the grind wheel on the bottom to an easier one to use. Now I can do large flakes to fine grind so easily. All of my friends love these too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 14 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Guycook123
,Calgary
,Ab
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Look great but poor design
December 25, 2012
These are beautiful but have some design flaws.
1) They are very top heavy and can get knocked over easily.
2) Very early on in their life I needed to wrap tape around the batteries to hold them in place.
3) Because they fall over easily the plastic piece that holds pepper or salt has broken off from the aluminum body and after the 3rd time repairing with crazy glue they will be thrown out.
These are great for a large dining area and if used with care. For everyday use save your money and buy something else.
Pros: Easy to Use, great looks
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 15 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beeker
,Falls Church
,VA
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Design
November 28, 2012
I really don't like these mills. My biggest complaint is that they are top heavy and when I am cooking, they fall over. Luckily none of the plastic pieces have broken. Considering the price, I would expect a lot more. Save your money and buy another set.
Cons: Quality, Weight
Review 16 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gourmetbuff
,St. Louis
,MO
November 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DON'T BUY THIS BRAND!
November 3, 2012
These aren't worth the investment. The adjustable pepper mill doesn't adjust. The top of the salt mill doesn't screw onto the bottom anymore, so you have to carefully use two hands. W-S is a wonderful company and they have replaced the pepper mill for me once. It isn't any better than the first one. It's hard to throw a $100 product into the trash can but that's what needs to happen. BUY ANOTHER BRAND.
Pros: lighted
Cons: Quality
Review 17 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABeachNelson
,San Francisco
,CA
October 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
7 years later still working beautifully
October 28, 2012
We've had these for 7 years and they still work great. Everyone loves them and at $100 for a pair, a really good deal. Adjusting grind size could be a bit easier. Re-filling a breeze with a stainless steel funnel bought at Mollie Stone's. We've given as a gift several times and everyone has loved them. We will definitely buy again, if and when these finally give up the ghost.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Design
Review 18 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KGYinLA
,Los Angeles
,Ca
September 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I have had two and they both broke
September 16, 2012
I have had to of these and they both broke. Same issue both times, motor died. You can't get replacement parts either for motor. Warranty does not cover motor either.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile, breaks
Review 19 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
parishongkong
,San Diego
,CA
July 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do not last
July 16, 2012
I finally bought the electric ones and gave good manual ones away because I broke my wrist. They both worked beautifully for about 3 months. Then the pepper mechanism broke. Would never buy again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Review 20 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goody2shoz
,Groton
,SD
June 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best electric mills
June 8, 2012
i had three sets prior and these are by far the best. not perfect and a little hard on batteries but they are impressive good heavy weight and they have a light. keep the receipt they have a 1 year warrenty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
page1 2 next