Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills

With these battery-powered mills you can dispense salt or pepper ground to your desired coarseness at the touch of a button. A mini light illuminates the area below the mill - handy for twilight grilling and candlelit dinners. Easy push-button operation. Stainless-steel body with a brushed finish. Durable carbon-steel grinding mechanism for pepper and salt. An acrylic window displays the contents and fill level. A mini light illuminates food below the mill as you grind. Uses six AAA batteries (included). A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
83 of 120(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
Review 1 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Peppa
,St Louis
,MO
February 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but be careful
February 9, 2014
I have had my Cole & Mason salt and pepper mills for a couple of years, they are beautiful and look great in my kitchen. Last month while making Chippino, I was using the pepper mill, and the entire bottom half of the pepper mill (batteries and all) fell off and into my Chippino. Took me 5 minutes to find all the batteries, and completely ruined my Pepper Mill. Use caution when using over food!
Pros: very pretty
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile, too many batteries
Review 2 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JDR1
,Butler
,Pa
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have salt & pepper mills
November 30, 2013
They are great, buy not grandchildren proof when dropped from five feet and lands the “wrong way”. I had them for several years- did not hesitate to replace. The pepper mill was the one that did not survive, but at the price, I had to buy the set.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: grandchildren
Review 3 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RCKJ
,Carlisle
,MA
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cole and Mason Electric Salt and Pepper Grinders
August 25, 2013
Cole and Mason Electric Salt and Pepper Grinders
This is actually quite a good product with one exception. With high usage, it goes through batteries quickly and the new batteries are tricky to get in just right. Because of this I end up using my Oxo manual grinders more. Still very good grinders, especially for high volume.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Clean, battery replacement difficult
Review 4 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
March 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic product/great design
March 28, 2013
This is my second set of these. I use them every single day. Gifted my other set to my son for his apartment. I was pleasantly surprised when the new set came. They've changed the grind wheel on the bottom to an easier one to use. Now I can do large flakes to fine grind so easily. All of my friends love these too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Guycook123
,Calgary
,Ab
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Look great but poor design
December 25, 2012
These are beautiful but have some design flaws.
1) They are very top heavy and can get knocked over easily.
2) Very early on in their life I needed to wrap tape around the batteries to hold them in place.
3) Because they fall over easily the plastic piece that holds pepper or salt has broken off from the aluminum body and after the 3rd time repairing with crazy glue they will be thrown out.
These are great for a large dining area and if used with care. For everyday use save your money and buy something else.
Pros: Easy to Use, great looks
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 6 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beeker
,Falls Church
,VA
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Design
November 28, 2012
I really don't like these mills. My biggest complaint is that they are top heavy and when I am cooking, they fall over. Luckily none of the plastic pieces have broken. Considering the price, I would expect a lot more. Save your money and buy another set.
Cons: Quality, Weight
Review 7 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gourmetbuff
,St. Louis
,MO
November 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DON'T BUY THIS BRAND!
November 3, 2012
These aren't worth the investment. The adjustable pepper mill doesn't adjust. The top of the salt mill doesn't screw onto the bottom anymore, so you have to carefully use two hands. W-S is a wonderful company and they have replaced the pepper mill for me once. It isn't any better than the first one. It's hard to throw a $100 product into the trash can but that's what needs to happen. BUY ANOTHER BRAND.
Pros: lighted
Cons: Quality
Review 8 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABeachNelson
,San Francisco
,CA
October 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
7 years later still working beautifully
October 28, 2012
We've had these for 7 years and they still work great. Everyone loves them and at $100 for a pair, a really good deal. Adjusting grind size could be a bit easier. Re-filling a breeze with a stainless steel funnel bought at Mollie Stone's. We've given as a gift several times and everyone has loved them. We will definitely buy again, if and when these finally give up the ghost.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Design
Review 9 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KGYinLA
,Los Angeles
,Ca
September 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I have had two and they both broke
September 16, 2012
I have had to of these and they both broke. Same issue both times, motor died. You can't get replacement parts either for motor. Warranty does not cover motor either.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile, breaks
Review 10 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
parishongkong
,San Diego
,CA
July 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do not last
July 16, 2012
I finally bought the electric ones and gave good manual ones away because I broke my wrist. They both worked beautifully for about 3 months. Then the pepper mechanism broke. Would never buy again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Review 11 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goody2shoz
,Groton
,SD
June 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best electric mills
June 8, 2012
i had three sets prior and these are by far the best. not perfect and a little hard on batteries but they are impressive good heavy weight and they have a light. keep the receipt they have a 1 year warrenty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BGGolfingLady
February 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful salt and pepper mills
February 27, 2012
These were a gift for one of my sons who is a gourmet cook. He thinks these are the greatest.
A great gift for anyone who likes to cook!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TomNT
,New Preston
,CT
February 22, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor design
February 22, 2012
I received a Cole & Mason pepper mill as a gift and it broke within a year or less. The plastic that two screws screwed into broke for no reason that I could determine other than a poor design. The broken mill has been replaced, however, it's described as a "salt" mill and I can't find if there is a differance in the salt and pepper mills or are they interchangeable.
With all the negative reviews, I don't understand why W&S is continuing to sell this product ???
Cons: Fragile, poor design
Review 14 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gaye
,Norfolk
,VA
Virginia Beach, VA
February 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor construction for an expensive item
February 15, 2012
As everyone else mentioned, these are top heavy and the plastic clips that hold the top on have broken off. Thus, the bottom keeps falling off our salt grinder. Pepper shaker grinds very poorly. I find that all the "Exclusive" items for Williams-Somoma do not deliver and fail quickly. This is a shame because the concept is great.
Pros: Design
Cons: Weight, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, Fragile, cheaply made, top heavy and fall over easily
Review 15 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mixtress65
,Baton Rouge
,LA
Baton Rouge, LA
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Waste of Money
December 28, 2011
My husband and I received these as a wedding gift. They are top heavy, thus fall over easily and break. I've returned them once already. Please don't waste your time and money adding these to a registry.
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile, top heavy
Review 16 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EEBFS
,NYC
,NY
December 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WORST EVER!
December 14, 2011
I've never actually written a product review online, but this deserves one. I received this set as a gift from my wedding registry. Due to the monogram, I couldn't return it. This morning, I finally threw them away. For the last 18 months, I have been stubbornly hanging on to them and trying to make the most of the gift. The only way to reduce the possibility of the bottom piece falling off is to use two hands. If not, the parts will detach and explode peppercorns and salt all over the kitchen. This has happened several times. Terrible design. Do NOT buy!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 17 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mdmn
,Minneapolis
,MN
November 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst salt & pepper mills ever
November 27, 2011
I was really looking forward to these when we received them a year ago. They have been a disappointment ever since. The power is good - however you need to be careful or the entire bottom will fall out into whatever you are seasoning! The design is completely flawed - they are so top-heavy they fall over and break. We have them each held together by electrical tape. Hardly what you expect for salt & pepper mills that cost $50+
Cons: Quality, Weight, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 18 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
rubba2
,Downingtown
,PA
September 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice But....Needs Work
September 16, 2011
Conceptually great, but the salt mill fell apart after the warranty ran out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Quality
Review 19 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purrrsuaive1
Chicago, IL
August 20, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Greatest invention since bread!
August 20, 2011
EVERYONE that sits and eats at my kitchen table falls in love with my salt n pepper shakers! Just push the top button ever so slightly and your salt or pepper gets ground up and poured out perfectly! PLUS, it lights up so you can see what is coming out if you eat in a dark room or under candle light! They are on sale now and I am going to buy an extra pair...just in case they ever stop making these!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 20 for Cole & Mason Electric Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
susiedevildog
Nassau, NY
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great for cooking
August 4, 2011
These are the best... When your making something and don't have time to grind with a pepper or salt mill. These are great just push the button and grind. Even has a light too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Design, you can see what your putting on your food.
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next