This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Coastal Platter

Bring coastal style to casual gatherings with a serving platter inspired by the natural beauty of underwater landscapes. Decorated with the rich, mottled patterns and textures of a sea urchin's shell, the durable platter looks just like ceramic tableware, but is made of shatterproof melamine. Count on it to breeze its way through season after season of carefree meals, indoors or out. BPA-free. Dishwasher safe. 15 1/4" diam. Made in China. Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
2 of 3(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Coastal Platter
Review 1 for Coastal Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
remdawg
,SOUTH SHORE
,MA
August 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
BEAUTIFUL AND LOOKS LIKE CERAMIC
August 7, 2013
This is so nice...and I wish I got the rest of the set. I cannot believe a prior reviewer thought they looked too cheap for a gift! Definitely a great purchase!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Coastal Platter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnneGG
May 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Have to disagree...plates are EXACTLY as described
May 3, 2013
I usually do not bother adding my two cents BUT cannot understand previous review...I bought these plates to compare to 2 other melamine sets from other stores, looking for unbreakable outside dishes for the summer. EVERYONE I asked to weigh in on the decision had the same first question I had in the store--"Are these really not ceramic?!?" They are heavy and do indeed have the look/feel of ceramic, much sturdier than any melamine dishes I have come across. The blue color is actually more of a seafoam green, which I love. The only complaint I got from friends/family is that they look too nice to be casual outdoor dishes that the kids are going to use. The only reasons I would not get these are 1)if price is an issue, because they are pricy, 2)if you're looking for something more casual/light or 3)if handwashing them will drive you nuts, because they are only top-rack dishwasher safe.
Pros: beautiful, heavy/sturdy
Cons: price, heavy/sturdy, only top-rack dishwasher safe
Review 3 for Coastal Platter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
livelovecook
April 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
cheap looking and feeling
April 21, 2013
I bought this as a gift for a friend, and boy am I glad I took it out of the box first to inspect it! I would have been embarrassed to gift this to someone.
The plastic material is tacky and cheap. In no way does it resemble ceramic tableware as described. I expected more from a Williams-Sonoma platter. This is going straight back.
Don't waste your money.
Cons: cheap looking, cheap feeling, not as described
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
LisaandTom
Boston and Cape Cod
Posted August 14, 2013
Disagree entirely with your perspective
Coastal melamine is truly lovely. We don't always want to use breakable china outside and were delighted to find such elegant, understated melamine outdoor entertaining.
0points
Customer avatar
george6
bucks county, Pa
Posted May 16, 2013
outdoor dishes
Sorry to disagree with livelovecook, these are wonderful outdoor dishes! Having shopped all over for some classy melamine dishes, I found these to be the best out there!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)