This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Classic Soda Siphon

Making your own soda water is easy and cost-effective with this sturdy siphon. It operates easily: Fill with water and chill in the refrigerator, then insert a CO2 charger and press the lever.Safe pressure-regulating system that creates carbonated water for drinking or mixing.Ideal for making cocktails, Italian sodas, wine spritzers and ice cream sodas.Safe and simple-to-use lever-press operation.Between uses, the siphon can be safely stored in the refrigerator.Polished aluminum.CO2 charger sold separately.
Average Customer Rating:
3.077 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
7 of 13(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Classic Soda Siphon
Review 1 for Classic Soda Siphon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
murphycat
March 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Great product
March 4, 2012
It took me about 5 uses to fully understand how to get this to work properly. I store the siphon in the fridge, fill it with cold water and shake it at least 20 times...works perfectly every time. My one complaint would be the amount of soda it produces and the high cost of the chargers from Williams-Sonoma. I buy them online from other sources as they are significantly cheaper.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for Classic Soda Siphon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BusyCooking
October 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
13of 17found this review helpful.
Best Soda Ever - Literally
October 16, 2011
There must be user error involved on some of these other reviews, because the only issue we have had with our Classic Soda Siphon is that I am worried our children will balloon up like one of the Willy Wonka characters and literally float away (our ceiling is only 8 feet, but still a legit worry). If you want bubbles that snap, crackle, and pop (sorry for the infringement Kellogg's), then this is the siphon for you. If you are going to whine about user error, then yes, it's probably better to keep buying soda at the store. But I would recommend this 999 out of 1000 times, because I like, on average 999 out of 1000 people.
Review 3 for Classic Soda Siphon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LAredjumper
Los Angeles
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Really disappointed
December 30, 2010
I bought this product so that I could cut down on the purchase of club soda in plastic and glass bottles. I found that the "charged" water doesn't hold its bubbles very long at all. Perhaps it is operator error but I would really love to know how to make it work as advertised.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ricker
Newark, CA
Posted February 8, 2011
Keep it Cold?
Usually you keep club soda in the fridge. Do you keep your seltzer bottle there? Carbon dioxide is more soluble in colder liquid than it is at room temperature. It might work better cold.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Classic Soda Siphon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnotherWSFan
Boulder, CO
August 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
We Love Ours!
August 14, 2010
My husband just bought one of these a few weeks ago and we love it! It performs well and was a good price. I cannot imagine why / how others might be reporting problems. Gotta think it's user error.
Review 5 for Classic Soda Siphon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NemoUndersea
Arcadia, CA
July 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Good product with best price
July 4, 2010
This is a good product with the best price you can get. (I don't want to say the best comparing with those more than $150 products) We bought this product due to its good price and it's totally worth your money. I totally agree with Anonymous' review on 3/22/10 that you have to make sure your siphon is cold (not just cool) and you pour the COLD water in to the bottom of the neck. The trick here is that after you charged, shake is about 15-20 times before you take the charge off. If you do it correctly, you should hear a very short hissing sound. The very first time we took the charge off without shaking it. the sound was very long due to all the CO2 came out from the siphon and the taste was awful. After that I researched the web and found out what we were doing wrong and what the trick is. After that, each time the taste is very good and the siphon stays fizzy for 3 days so far. You can use other company's chargers to save money and the taste is the same if you do the correct way.
Review 6 for Classic Soda Siphon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sugarland
Sugar Land, TX
June 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
1of 9found this review helpful.
save your money
June 6, 2010
I am returning the classic soda siphon because it doesn't get the job done. I think it would be easier to buy club soda, or sparkling water than to mess with this.
Review 7 for Classic Soda Siphon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Pasadena, CA
March 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Great product and saves money
March 22, 2010
After reading the poor reviews I had to weigh in. This is a great product. The trick is to 1)make sure that the water you put in is cold. I keep a container of cold water in the fridge to refill the Siphon. 2)Make sure that you fill it not quite to the top. If it's too full it will leak. If it's not full enough you will constantly need to refill. I put in water to the bottom of the neck. 3) Make sure that the cap is properly sealed. If you don't, then it will spray and leak. 4) After charging, shake the Siphon and it's pretty well ready. I don't wait the hour. I just start drinking. This has saved me tons of money and trash/recycling as I would drink at least a bottle/day of Gerelsteiner. I've recommended this to friends who also love theirs.
Review 8 for Classic Soda Siphon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Notrelevant
New Orleans, LA
January 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
4of 11found this review helpful.
Very poor product indeed
January 30, 2010
This was a huge purchase mistake and a total waste of money. You might as well pour tap water into your glass and blow bubbles through a straw.
The product looks stylish but it does not provide any significant soda bubbles whatsoever. Do not waste your money on this product.
Review 9 for Classic Soda Siphon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DBButler
Concord, NH
August 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Awful - just awful
August 19, 2009
I bought this as a present for my teenager - what a bust. The water was barely - I mean barely fizzy. Plus it didn't come with any cartridges - so first I had to order them - not even the one that was promised. But no matter - the box of ten was gone almost immediately as we kept trying to make the thing work. It looks great but it doesn't work as promised - makes a few bubbles you can see but no fiz when you drink.
Review 10 for Classic Soda Siphon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wakeboarder
Miami, FL
July 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Works Great
July 21, 2009
Saves money and impresses my friends. The secret is using cold water, shaking it, and waiting an hour after charging. Big sexy bubbles!
Review 11 for Classic Soda Siphon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beachguy
Cambridge, MA
February 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Works great!
February 9, 2009
I had to write a review after seeing two poor reviews. I have used this item for several months and it has worked flawlessly for me. No problems or leaks and stays pressurized to the last drop.
Easier and less expensive than buying carbonated water from the supermarket. Great for summertime Mojitos!
Review 12 for Classic Soda Siphon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Grammy3
New York, NY
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
I'm very disappointed...
February 5, 2009
As I love carbonated water, this looked like an exciting product. It's pretty and easy to use, however I have to use a new charger almost every day as the siphon runs out after 3-4 SMALL glasses are filled approximately 1/2 full. If you shake it you can hear water inside, but it does not come through. Also, when you load the charger, as you turn it to hear the gas, a fine mist of water sprays all over the place causing a mess. This happens after I've checked to be sure that all of the threading is done correctly. The good news is that what water I AM able to get is well carbonated and delicious.
Review 13 for Classic Soda Siphon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
minty
visalia, calif
February 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
poor design
February 3, 2009
bought this on sale, the very first time I used it it shot fluid out around the seal on the lid, I ignored it thinking possibly I had inadvertently over filled it, but no, it continued to leak all over my refridgerator for the full time it had fluid in it, who needs it, what a mess. This will be going back,