This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Cincinnati Chili Starter

Midwestern chili parlors serve up a local legend known as "Cincinnati Chili," a combination of spicy-sweet tomato sauce with ground beef. Our richly flavored starter is perfectly spiced to let you create this iconic dish at home. An all-natural spiced tomato sauce for making classic Cincinnati Chili. Just simmer the sauce with ground beef and serve. Made with a base of slow-simmered beef stock, red wine, tomato sauce, a touch of cider vinegar and traditional seasonings: cinnamon, cloves and a dash of cayenne pepper. Serve the chili one of 5 "ways": One-way: just chili. Two-way: chili over spaghetti. Three-way: chili, spaghetti and cheese. Four-way: chili, spaghetti, cheese and onions. Five-way: chili, spaghetti, cheese, onions and beans. Spoon it on a hot dog for a classic Coney Island Dog. 32 oz. Product of USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
3 of 5(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cincinnati Chili Starter
Review 1 for Cincinnati Chili Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sherann
,madison
,wi
madison,wi
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
tastes more like bbq
November 24, 2012
I had never had cincinnati chili and cannot attest to it's authencity; but as a personal preference - I did not care for. It tasted more like sweet BBQ.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 2 for Cincinnati Chili Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
machampion
,Asheville
,NC
May 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Not Your Mamma's Chili
May 6, 2012
Cincinnati Chili is very "Regional", and not like other chilis. It is made with choccolate and cinnamon, among other things, and the ground beef should be boiled, not browned when making it. There are many chili parlors in Cincinnati, all of whom originated their recipes from Greece. Do not try to make this taste like Texas Chili or start adding your own ingredients, or it will be a disappointment !!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Cincinnati Chili Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nanspalate
,Maui
,HI
March 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
A big no-no!
March 7, 2012
I was so looking forward to this having all the greatness of your other sauces,or starters.
Man this was weird tasting chilli I think maybe I'm spoiled by my own cooking & throwing this in some ground beef seemed too good to be true.
It was!
The stuff was so cloyingly sweet,no amount of salt could fix. There was a strange undertaste. My husband and I ended up throwing the pot away.
That was an expensive little experiment!
We used great wygu beef too,double ouch!
Way overpriced for what it is.
Sorry
I like all your other stuff though!
Pros: Great Gift
Cons: Disappointing, Amount, smell, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Pennycandy
Michigan
Posted April 28, 2012
Cincinnati Chili
Cincinnati Chili is an acquired taste. If your not from Cincy or have grown up with this way of preparing chili then it could be unusual to you. However, most people I know LOVE IT....I found this starter very good and would purchase it often. Oh,and did I mention I no longer live in Cincy but I grew up there!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Cincinnati Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KNordvik
,SF
,CA
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Five-Way, yum
March 5, 2012
I used ground turkey instead of beef and used fusilli pasta instead of spaghetti. I decided to also add kidney beans, cheddar cheese and red onions as instructed on the jar. It was great! I love chili and I love pasta so it was a great combo for me! It’s not your typical super savory chili though, so I also added a little cumin and crushed pepper flakes, provided a nice kick!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Cincinnati Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
krzy2cook
,Chesapeake
,VA
February 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Something different for Chili
February 17, 2012
Tried this starter for after talking to the staff at my local Williams-Sonoma store for something different for the past Super Bowl. I had tried a sample of it at the store with the spaghetti and found it quite different and it was a big hit at the Super Bowl potluck I brought it to. Some people enjoyed it as a topping on their hot dogs and others tried it with the spaghetti noodles as I did since it was "so different". It isn't too spicy and doesn't taste like "spaghetti sauce" either. You can taste the spices in the sauce but they are not overpowering and even my Texas chili loving husband enjoyed it. I would say that entire family should enjoy this item.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift, great for family