William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders

Chromed steel tops and bases give these American-made mills modern polish, while acrylic housings let you tell salt from pepper at a glance. Durable stainless-steel mechanisms provide a range of even grinds, for taste and aroma preground spices can't equal. Crank top makes grinding easy. Acrylic body lets you identify contents and fill levels instantly. Adjust the grind to your liking by cranking the lever on top of each mill. Stainless-steel mechanisms grind evenly and efficiently. Crafted in the USA by William Bounds, a family-owned company that has been making specialized kitchen tools of enduring quality for more than 40 years.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
14 of 25(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
Review 1 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mauigirl55
,Haiku
,HI
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cute but corroded after a couple of years
December 26, 2013
this is a very cute little set or just by itself. I thought it would be perfect because it didn't take up much space. It was such poor quality that I sadly will be chucking it. Also it is hard to clean and i had to use a q-tip and just force it in there to clean it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, Weight
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, corroded
Review 2 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Consumer222
,Ca
November 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sadly, poor quality for American made product
November 3, 2013
I looked for a long time for an American made salt and pepper grinder set that was good quality and looked nice. I thought I found it, so I didn't mind paying the price. I had it for less than a year before the silver ring fell off of the pepper grinder. We glued it back on. A few weeks later the other ring fell off and we glued it back on. A few months later, the salt grinder quit grinding. The pepper grinder doesn't do a great job either. I was happy I saved the paperwork that came with it as well as the receipt. It's guaranteed for life and can be returned to the store where it was purchased. I will return it as soon as possible.
Cons: Quality
Review 3 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RichnRose
,East Alton
October 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Always handy /
October 19, 2012
I feel the product is well made , and resonably priced for its quality , but , best of all its made in the U.S.A ., Amen !
my wife unfortunatly has a injured hand and holding it it troublesome for her because its not tall enough for her to get
a good grip on it .
Battery powered , next , that will solve it !
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Design, Weight, made in usa !!!
Cons: Size
Review 4 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AntiPastaAmy
,Baltimore
,MD
December 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Corroded and Dull
December 29, 2011
After a few years of regular use the blades on both items are dull, and the salt shaker corroded. Sad fate for such a high priced item.
Pros: cute and handy
Cons: not made to last
Review 5 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Infrequentcook
October 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poorly made and overpriced
October 11, 2011
As a single person who cooks infrequently, I don't tend to wear my cooking tools out...but within just a couple of years, this salt grinder has fallen apart a couple of times. For $30, I shouldn't have had to spend so much time supergluing the chrome base back on the grinder.
My recommendation is to buy something else.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, falls apart with minimal use
Review 6 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
diynewbie
San Francisco, CA
April 7, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Found the right salt recently
April 7, 2011
So far these grinders are working for us (had them for about a year) - we finally ran out of salt and are currently using the salt grinder with the salt from Trader Joe's that comes in the plastic grinder (about $3). I'll report back if any issues with corrosion.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MJbythebay
San Francisco
Posted November 1, 2011
Salt?
I also used the TJs sea salt crystals in the salt grinder when we ran out of the WS salt, and it worked for about a week and now is not grinding much salt - perhaps it is the wrong size. Has anyone found a good salt to use?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tyrone
New York
July 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful but Flawed
July 29, 2010
These used to be my go to mills but I found that the grinding mechanism corrodes and dulls with time. I had to replace them every other year.
Review 8 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Aoda
Idaho
July 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great at first, but not over time.
July 24, 2010
This was a really decent pepper grinder at first -- the grind fineness mechanism is easy to use but in my grinder proved imprecise, so pretty much everything came out super fine or super coarse, which was okay with me. It was easy to use as well, and made a lot of pepper at once. The downsides have made this a dealbreaker for me though: with a lot of grinding, the top finial unscrews and bounces clean off. Worse, over time (I've had my grinder about 5 years) the grinder mechanism itself has dulled to the point where it barely grinds any pepper at all. If it weren't for the dulling of the blades, I'd give this 4 stars (the finial unscrewing is a mark of poor design). As it is, this gadget was expensive enough that I couldn't recommend it knowing it will need to be replaced every few years.
Review 9 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pepperlover2
Davis, CA
May 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buying another one today
May 28, 2010
I've used my pepper grinder--a gift-- daily for several years now with not a moment's trouble. It's perfect for our family. We like pepper, but like differing grinds. It's impossible for me to imagine having the troubles some reviewers report. I'm ordering another one for the dining room at my senior cooperative community--can't stand another day of the one we have now with NO mechanical advantage and almost no results!
Review 10 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FrancesR
san jose, ca
February 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love these
February 3, 2010
i always thought these kinds of grinders were more for show and not useful. But then i stayed at my sister’s for a week and she had them and i am now addicted to these so i got a pair for myself. i like being able to see what you are putting on or in your food, and since it is freshly ground it is yummy. i like how these feel in my hands too.
Review 11 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NatashaG
Sacramento, CA
February 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Rust!
February 2, 2010
I received these as a gift and I like them so much because they are easy to use and so far have lasted a long time. My absolute favorite thing is no rust. I guess that's because they have ceramic mechanisms. I love these salt and pepper shakers!
Review 12 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dan62
Anoka, MN
February 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
buying the mate, finally
February 1, 2010
These grinders are cool! I love the elegant retro look. I received this pepper grinder for my birthday last year and am buying a salt grinder to go with it now after getting a year of compliments from dinner guests. It works great and looks fabulous!
Review 13 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
georgemines
Mount Vernon, WA
February 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My go-to gift for weddings
February 1, 2010
I received this set of grinders for my birthday last year and bought a set for a friends' wedding as well (they keep thanking me for them!). I am going to buy a set for a friend's wedding gift again as I am so pleased with mine. We use it for cooking (love the coarse adjustment!!) and on the table for dining (fine adjustment is perfect). I got on here today to make sure they were still available. Looking at these other reviews I can’t figure out what anyone is talking about with having a bad experience. Too bad all the thrilled customers like me don’t get back on here to leave their comments. Great set of grinders!
Review 14 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CheeseIsGood
San Antonio
January 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good for Kitchen Use
January 14, 2010
The grinders are adjustable for fine through course. They work well, though I initially had to replace the salt as we didn't use it for a couple of years after receiving it and the salt reacted with the chrome. Williams-Sonoma was great about replacing it at no charge and the replacement is used almost daily so the salt reaction will not occur again.
Review 15 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sdumey
Alexandria, VA
December 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not top quality for William Sonoma
December 22, 2009
I purchased the salt and pepper grinder about 2 years ago. The salt grinder has been okay. It is true that once the salt that comes in the grinder at purchase is gone, it is hard to find another good salt to put in and William Sonoma does not sell the right kind for this grinder. The pepper grinder is a whole different story. The pepper grinder has now broken 2x on me. I took the first one back to the store and received a new one with no problems. Now it has broken again and I don't want to return it just to get a new one that will most likely break again. I would definitely not purchase this product.
Review 16 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BarrettMichelleA
Oswego, IL
December 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No more grinding
December 20, 2009
Seems I am having the same problems as everyone else. After about a year (maybe less) the salt grinder no longer works. The top of the crank is loose and no amount of tightening will get it to work properly. At the beginning we were having problems with inconsistent grinding and should have returned them then. The design and quality of the grinder (in my opinion) is poor!!!
Review 17 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WSFan2009
Suffolk, Va
November 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All salt grinders are not created equal
November 30, 2009
This product worked fine until the salt ran out. I replaced it with the recommended salt type and even tried a couple of other brands of the same quality and size salt crystal. The grinder is now useless.
Review 18 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
robinanbriar
Raleigh, NC
November 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
just right s and p
November 23, 2009
The salt and pepper grinders are a nice size, easy to clean and attractive. Great for daily use and entertaining.
Review 19 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LaLaLand
Los Angeles
November 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I had the same exact problem!
November 15, 2009
I had the same problem with it as the last poster. I've used it frequently for the last three years. The acrylic bottom broke and I had to scoop some peppercorns out of my au gratin potatoes, nothing catastrophic though. I'm really glad I saved it and read that review. I will try to exchange it and pick up an additional one for my sea salt. Thanks!
Review 20 for William Bounds Chrome Twist Salt & Pepper Grinders
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
condro
November 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tough to use, now almost useless
November 15, 2009
This grinder worked decently at first, but then started to produce less salt per twist over time. Now the top portion doesn't fit over the bottom well and a gap has appeared between the two, allowing salt to spill out if it's not vertical. I can't seem to fix this problem and will need to buy a new grinder.
page1 2 next