This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Nut Chopper

Operated by a simple hand crank, this versatile tool quickly chops hard and soft nuts into small pieces. Just fill the upper compartment, select the grind and turn the crank.Ideal prep tool for baking, making salads and creating toppings.Choose coarse or fine grind.Chopped pieces are clearly measured in the lower compartment.Nonskid base holds chopper in place during grinding.Dishwasher safe.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
49 of 64(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Nut Chopper
Review 1 for Nut Chopper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LibraGirl
,St.Louis
,M.
February 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
My favorite way of Chopping Nuts
February 14, 2013
I have used this and it is just great! I put nuts in most desserts I make and this is just great. Would highly recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 2 for Nut Chopper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nt014
October 26, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
broke after 2yrs
October 26, 2012
very disappointed that the plastic basically crumbled in the middle. Just like another reviewers. After 2yrs and barely any use - what a waste. Especially, when you consider my moms is still working after 30yrs. I am sure it was from Woolworths or some store of that era.
Review 3 for Nut Chopper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
konekoneko
,new york
,ny
September 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
one of my favorite kitchen gadgets!
September 18, 2012
i use chopped nuts in all sorts of recipes, over salads, in baking, etc., so i was really excited when this FINALLY arrived (it was backordered for a long time). i used to smash up nuts with a mortar and pestle, but they would jump all over the place and some would always hide underneath the already broken-up nuts. it was annoying. this makes it much easier, neater, and faster. i see there are a lot of complaints regarding durability; i've only had it for a few months, so i can't say anything about that. however, for the price, i wouldn't really expect it to last forever, and i'd be happy buy another in the future if this one were to break.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 4 for Nut Chopper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marilisa
,Oak Ridge
,TN
Oak Ridge, TN
January 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great Nut Chopper if it doesn't break
January 16, 2012
I really like this nut chopper and used it for over two years until it broke (the plastic part in the middle). It chops nuts quickly and you can chop very fine or regular, depending in which direction you turn the crank. Williams Sonoma replaced the broken one and I'm hopeful this one will last longer.
Pros: Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 5 for Nut Chopper
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Heddysmom
,Hemet
,ca
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Not that Great
January 12, 2012
I had another chopper for several years and just loved it. When it "died" I thought I'd get better quality from a product purchased from Williams Sonoma. However, this has not been the case with this little product (mind you...the absolute exception from WS!) The top screws on, but is difficult to get off, tight fit and awkward placement to the adjoining crank. Also, the base is not broad enough for the devices height, making it prone to falling over. I've just cleaned up my fourth mess in the short time I've had the grinder. Argh...frustrating!
Pros: Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Temperamental
Review 6 for Nut Chopper
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
treat
,salem
,or
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
works well but....
December 12, 2011
This works well when using a full cup of nuts but can be a bit more difficult when using a lesser amount; it sometimes will turn without grinding anything. The lid fell apart after the first washing also. Overall a good machine. What it does chop, it chops well, at both settings.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 7 for Nut Chopper
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Misterbuds
,RI
December 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Second one broke again
December 10, 2011
I bought this 2 yrs ago. I like concept of the container with measurements & holes for the fines, but product doesn’t perform well because it's plastic. My first one broke within 2 uses. It broke where the shaft goes into the top piece. Plastic pieces that hold it in place broke off & went into nuts. Brought it back, maybe was defect, got another one. That one lasted 1 year, but the other day after washing by hand, top piece just fell apart where it was glued together. When I went to glue it back, the same plastic pieces to hold the shaft that broke on my 1st, broke on this one. Top fell off easily when you went to grind nuts, thus spilling nuts all over. This is a poor design made of cheap plastic. Shouldn't break that easy if it involves food prep & light use. I give it 2 stars only because I like the concept of measurements on the jar, but wish it was made of stronger material on the top, like stainless or more durable plastic so it doesn't break when you are turning the shaft.
Pros: Accuracy, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile, breaks too easily, plastic cracks at hand crankshaft, top falls off when grinding nuts
Review 8 for Nut Chopper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
callalily
Vancouver, WA
August 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Nut chopper
August 2, 2011
This is the 3rd time we have bought this model nut chopper we have purchased from Williams-Sonoma. We still feel it is the best we have found; but at some point, the top hopper has separated from each chopper component. With the last one, we took it out of the dishwasher before the drying cycle in hopes this was our problem - nope. Also, over time, we have found the bottom container will develop small fractures in the dishwasher. This time, we will not put it in the dishwasher and see what happens. Otherwise, we have been very pleased. Blades have not bent or broken on any of the choppers. Like the measuring cup on the bottom.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
Review 9 for Nut Chopper
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cmb1027
Brooklyn Park, MN
July 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Top separates easily from bottom when grinding
July 29, 2011
While I like the consistecy of the nuts processed through this product, I find it frustrating to use. I am right-handed and when I turn the crank the pressure is applied in the same direction that unscrews the lid from the bottom. Even when I am careful to keep the top from unscrewing, I've had the top pop off. It seems the threading isn't deep enough to hold. I've spilled nuts several times using this devise. I am disappointed with this product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality
Review 10 for Nut Chopper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PLSV
Hope Town, Elbow Cay
June 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
The bottom falls off!!
June 3, 2011
Yes, it grinds nuts. But also, once it is nice and full of the chopped nuts, the bottom falls off! And then you get about a cup of nuts all over the kitchen floor. Yes, the dog will be happy, but I am not!
It comes off for cleaning, I imagine, and never quite goes back on the way it did originally.
I am SO disappointed! I love WS, but this has happened far too many times to make me happy with this product. And I live in the middle of nowhere, it is a flight to get to my closest WS, so it is my only nut chopper, like or not. And I don't like it at all!
Pros: chops great
Cons: Temperamental, falls apart
Review 11 for Nut Chopper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
qapam
Lompoc, CA
April 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love this!
April 25, 2011
I got this for a gift from my daughter and I love it. What a fast and easy way to "chop" nuts. I like that you have a choice between coarse or fine AND it's a measuring cup!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 12 for Nut Chopper
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
pugs4me
Wentzville, MO
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Frustrating
April 6, 2011
I use the chopper to chop almonds on a frequent basis. The metal on the rubber cap fell off after just a few uses. When turning the crank the top compartment easily comes unscrewed from the bottom compartment. You have to use a lot of force on the crank to chop almonds; it's jerky and hard.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 13 for Nut Chopper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charliem
Georgetown,Texas
March 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
excellent tool
March 2, 2011
very easy to use, easy to clean. For every time you need chopped nuts.
Review 14 for Nut Chopper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luamtrin
Colonial Heights VA
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
nut chopper
February 21, 2011
I like this nut chopper for several reasons- it has coarse and fine cut, the metal top with rubber seal fits securely and is durable, the measures on the side make it easy to see when you have the proper amount which saves on dirtiying up a measuing cup, and it comes apart for easy cleaning.
Review 15 for Nut Chopper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
passantes
Nashville, TN
February 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
I LOVE THIS CHOPPER!
February 16, 2011
I bought one of these nut choppers for my parents last year as a gift, and they couldn't stop raving about it, so I finally bought one of my own. Unlike the choppers that have the punch-down top, this chopper produces consistently-sized chopped nuts. It's easy to clean and a snap to use. I absolutely love it and think it's a terrific value. Buy one! Two! Give it as a gift! It's a great deal.
Review 16 for Nut Chopper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PBatTheVillages
The Villages, Fl.
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Excellent Nut Chopper
January 27, 2011
Excellent Nut Chopper, we use it in our store for our turtles and the ease of use and quickness cuts down on labor cost for getting nuts either coarsely ground or finely ground. No nut should be without one! Ordering and shipping of this product was easy as well. Love the tool, bought 3 because I love it so much and would not want to be without.
Review 17 for Nut Chopper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
audreyl
Ogden, Utah
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Nut Chopper
January 4, 2011
I've used this nut chopper for quite a while and found it to be the best way to chop nuts. I recently purchased 4 more for my daughters. Great product!
Review 18 for Nut Chopper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MisizM
Falls Church, VA
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Guaranteed to please!
December 31, 2010
This nut chopper would be a 5 star if only it was glass. Basically it is the same type of unit I used 60 years ago (except it is plastic). It far exceeds the performance of any food processor or blender which tend to pulverize the nut. There is a fine and coarse grind which enables you to adapt it to your recipe. And it is as simple as grinding forward or backward!
Review 19 for Nut Chopper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kayhay
Paris, Texas
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Nut choper
December 28, 2010
This nut chopper was great for about 6 uses. It came completely apart on the 7th use. I can't even hold it together to turn the handle. It is in its original box just taking up space. I love WS products, but this one missed out on quality. It is not usable anymore.
Review 20 for Nut Chopper
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MrsJ
Darien, IL
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Mixed review here
December 24, 2010
Pro: you can measure how much you need to be chopped.
Con: the metal ring comes off and the screw on topper comes off during chopping. I have taken off the ring thinking that would solve the problem, but no. I've had nuts flying out because the topper became so loose.
This was a gift from one of my sons, so I have to use it. Otherwise, I would go back to using my old glass jar chopper.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Dixielee1
Ladysmith, WI
Posted April 20, 2011
Thank you so much MrsJ
Thank you for your review, I had a laugh and a cry. I had not realized this was plastic. I remember using the glass nut grinder with my mom. She's passed on and my son would do a sweet thing like yours did. I just wish I had that glass one. Hopefully WS will wave their magic wand and come up with the "old-fashioned" glass nut grinder.
Again, Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 3 4 next