This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs

With their charming lifelike detail, these irresistible German confections look like diminutive blue robin's eggs but are actually rich chocolate truffles scented with a blend of Champagne, amaretto and kirsch and then cloaked in white chocolate and surrounded by a speckled candy shell. They're perfect for tucking into our miniature nests to decorate table settings and for adding to Easter baskets and candy bowls. 6 oz. (24 eggs). Made in Germany. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.918 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
36 of 49(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
Review 1 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefBillie
,Shelton
,WA
March 4, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Yummy Chocolate Goodness
March 4, 2013
WS has two different types of truffle eggs. These are the blue Robins eggs that come with the nest but also can be purchased by them selves. I LOVE THEM. My husband and I don't eat much candy, but we couldn,t stop eating these. I'm ordering more!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TBA2011
,NE
February 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Different Product
February 26, 2013
I ordered these for the first time in 2012. They were delicious, and looked like the picture - smooth inside with a thin candy shell. I ordered several packages this year, expecting the same thing. I looked at the picture, it looked like last year, but the description is different. Yes, I should have read it too, but WS should note that it's different from years past. It now has a white chocolate layer, which I found awful. I don't know why they added this, it doesn't taste nearly as good as it used to.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 3 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Radioeye
,Knoxville
,Tn
April 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Delicious treats
April 26, 2012
Smooth and creamy. I love them however, my friends are unimpressed.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 4 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori8254
,Dallas
,TX
April 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
WOW - These are Fabulous!!
April 24, 2012
Just as pictured they really do look like robin eggs! and the inside is YUMMMM. very rich so you don't eat too many.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gourmu
The Valley, CA
April 13, 2012
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My favorite blue
April 13, 2012
I only regret I didn't purchase more of these "to die for" eggs! Outstanding flavors.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 6 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Andi23
April 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Looks Pretty; Tastes Iffy
April 13, 2012
These chocolate truffle-filled eggs are quite pretty in appearance. Nonetheless, I found the truffle filling to have an odd taste, probably attributable to the spices used in making it. If you are expecting a traditional chocolate taste for the truffle filling, you will probably be disappointed with this product.
Pros: cute appearance
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 7 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
smango42
April 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
good but not my favorite
April 13, 2012
This are good quality chocolates and a pretty bird egg design. However, the alcohol or other flavor is not really to my liking.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Great Gift
Cons: not my cup of tea
Review 8 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bradyswife04
,Newton
,Ne
April 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Not a favorite
April 11, 2012
No one in my house cared for these..... we were disappointed.....
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 9 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Casagravez
,Albuquerque
,Nm
March 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Didn't care for these
March 27, 2012
Three members of my family didn't like these; they have a licorice flavor for the coating.
Cons: Flavor
Review 10 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NCombs
March 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Magical indulgence
March 24, 2012
If you do not typically spend this much on Easter treats, I encourage you to make the leap next year, because these robin's egg truffles are absolutely worth the experience.
For me, these invoke memories of a childhood spent in a Swiss bakery, although they are not as strong as the tortes and chocolates that my father made. I prefer a very light hand with liqueurs (just enough to engage my senses, without tasting alcohol under the flavors), so these are sublimely perfect for me. If you do not like the taste or smell of alcohol at all, try the pastel bird's egg truffles in a box instead.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: sell out quickly, seasonal availability only
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mangopapaya
March 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Delicious and unusual
March 19, 2012
I ordered four bags: one for me and my husband, and the rest to disperse among family. These are great! They're very pretty, and the taste is very unusual. They're very sweet, so you just need one to satisfy your sweet tooth. Considering how many you get and how good they are, I think the price is very reasonable, and I also ordered these with free shipping which made them all the more worth while. I could see these being a new annual Easter/spring time treat.
I could see these not being for everyone, but I suggest giving them a try. Don't expect normal, creamy milk chocolate, but instead a blend of chocolate with lots of other sweet flavors.
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 12 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chicklips
,San Antonio
,Tx
San Antonio, Tx.
March 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My yearly buy
March 10, 2012
Delicious always! I place these eggs in Wm S small bird nests and decorate my Easter table....it looks like real nests with real bird eggs. Ships great! Its now a tradition and inexpensive also.
Pros: Amount, Quality
Review 13 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RaggedyRoses
Vicksburg, Mississippi
April 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
These Chocolate Truffled-Filled Eggs are AMAZING!!
April 22, 2011
I'm really at a loss for superlatives in which to use in order to properly describe how awesome and amazing these Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs are! The creamy, rich, dark-chocolate truffle centers melt in your mouth, and have the perfect combination of flavors -- which include chocolate liquor, champagne, Amaretto, and Kirsch (cherry liquor). The white chocolate surrounding the dark-chocolate centers is also creamy and melt-in-your-mouth soft and smooth. The thin, delicate, easy-to-bite-into candy shell is the "icing on the cake" for these robin's-egg-blue speckled treats. There is also the pleasant aroma from the Amaretto and Kirsch that wafts around you as you nibble ... they are truly quite wonderful!! They are actually just about the size of a real robin's egg (maybe a tad bit larger). These were worth every penny, and my only regret is not purchasing more; because, sadly, I have discovered that they are now "Sold Out" ... I demand that these be made available all year around!!!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, amazing flavor, wonderful aroma
Review 14 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
secularchick
Utah
April 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Mmmm, these eggs are delicious!
April 11, 2011
Received some as a gift today, heavenly! Thanks Mom & Dad!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
talloutdrsygal
Westlake Village, CA
March 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
I buy these every year!
March 26, 2011
I love these truffles! I am pretty shocked to read the reviews stating that they were "awful". I grew up in a German household. That may be the difference. American "chocolate" doesn't taste like real chocolate to me. Technically, it's "chocolate candy". I think anyone that knows European confections will love these truffles. I'm off to W-S tomorrow to pick up my 2011 Easter supply!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 16 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
robistar
Indiana
March 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Favorite Treat
March 9, 2011
This was my "secret" indulgence until my husband tasted the wonderful candies. Now when I order them each year, I have to order extra. The flavor is so complex and delicious and the dainty, crisp "eggshell" adds such a contrast to the creamy truffle.
Review 17 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StephanieK
Claverack, New York
April 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
April 12, 2010
I received the "nest" a few years ago as a gift and I am thrilled that I can continue to purchase the truffle eggs each year from you. One year I forgot to order the eggs and used a substitute candy; my guests immediately noticed! The eggs are always fresh and look great!
Review 18 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
littlewitch
new orleans
April 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
ugh look but don't touch
April 11, 2010
good looking but tastes awful. we had a houseful at Easter. Everyone from age 5 to age 50 grimaced when they ate these things.They looked good but that was it.
Review 19 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
rfran
April 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
great looking but no one liked them
April 11, 2010
While the truffle eggs looked perfect in the dried flower nest , no one liked them and they went uneaten. I had ordered a refill thinking that they would be popular but the nest came with enough to fill it plus one refill, more than enough.
Review 20 for Chocolate Truffle-Filled Eggs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mairia
Vancouver USA
April 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Truffle Eggs
April 9, 2010
The truffle eggs were perfect for my Easter Bunny project. The eggs were 'taste tested' before being given away and they were delicious.
page1 2 3 next