Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15

Master pastry chef Jean-Yves Charon prepares our chocolate croissants in the traditional French style, using butter and ultrathin layers of yeast dough and laboriously folding and cutting the pastry by hand. Our handmade croissants have a delicate flaky texture, buttery taste and irresistible aroma. Filled with fine chocolate from renowned Belgian chocolatier Callebaut. Easy to prepare: allow to rise overnight, then bake. Shipped frozen. 15 chocolate croissants (2 lb. 13 oz. total). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.825 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(687 Reviews) 687
661 of 687(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
Review 1 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SadSan
Washington
January 23, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So very yummy.
January 23, 2014
I didn't think I would like the chocolate filled croissants but decided to try them anyway (the regular croissants are awesome), and yes, I love them. These guys make the best croissants ever, so good, buttery, fresh, just the right amount of chocolate in my opinion, flakey soft and easy to prepare. Please don't ever discontinue any of your croissants.
Review 2 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChiTownChowHound
,Chicago
,IL
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not QUITE as good as before....
December 29, 2013
My mother has taken to sending these croissants to myself and my siblings each Christmas to be enjoyed Christmas morning. It's a lovely tradition that I hope she continues as these croissants are truly a delicious treat. Having said that, we all agreed that the chocolate filling was not quite as generous as in years past. I'm willing to accept that perhaps we received a "bad" batch and will look forward to next year's box! Aside from this issue (which forced me to downgrade a star) these croissants are usually a home run in my house!
Review 3 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsPicky
,Chester
,Va
December 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic croissants in every way
December 20, 2013
Easy to prepare, flaky buttery pastry with chocolate melted through the middle. A hit every time we serve these. Guests are always impressed to get fresh, hot croissants for breakfast!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patchin
,southern california
December 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Fresh
December 16, 2013
I was impressed with all the reviews this item has. I prefer them cooled out of the oven. The butter flavor comes out more if cooled off, in my opinion. I had these shipped to my office, I put them in the freezer then drove them home to the freezer again. No problems! The chocolate is very generous.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 5 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
vahappycrab
,DC Metro Area
,VA
November 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious but Check Exp. Date Upon Receipt!!
November 3, 2013
These chocolate croissants are delicious...if they are fresh! I have ordered these 4 times this year, April, May, July and October. I received the last order on October 17th and baked the first few on November 1st. They turned out horrible!! The dough didn't rise enough, they were chewy not flaky, and tasted "old". This was odd as my experience with the past three orders was excellent. I checked the expiration date on the box and it was October 30, 2013!! Obviously these were not fresh. I called customer service and they are sending another box of croissants.
This type of inconvenience should not be happening with a product that is being sold has "high-end". Please verify the expiration date before shipping the product. Sending something that expires two weeks before the expiration date, when it is supposed to last three months, is unacceptable. Again, delicious and worth every penny IF FRESH!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining
Cons: poor handling of order
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
tantalus3
San Diego
Posted December 18, 2013
Update: Problem fixed
I contacted Williams Sonoma about the croissants not tasting as good and they promptly sent me a new box which was a huge difference over the last 3 boxes I purchased. I noticed first hand that there was now an expiration date stamped on the box (which wasn't there on the previous boxes). The next thing I noticed was that the croissants were slightly bigger and lighter in color and when I thawed them overnight they were noticeably bigger and baked up beautifully just like I remembered from the very first box I ordered. I know this was not the fault of Williams Sonoma but they took care of the problem promptly (great customer service!) and I will continue to purchase these croissants because they really are the best I have found.
0points
Customer avatar
tantalus3
San Diego
Posted December 8, 2013
Not the same croissants
I have to agree...these croissants are not the same! When I first started purchasing these croissants a few years ago they puffed up big and beautiful, crispy and light. The last few boxes I purchased I noticed that the dough no longer rises when I leave it out overnight (they used to rise so big and puffy!). And the taste is not quite the same, not as good as before. I tried to look for a date on the box but I could not find it...maybe they aren't putting the date on there anymore? Which makes me wonder how old these are. Unless things change I will not be purchasing these again.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patticake1
,Newport
,RI
September 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is The Real Deal
September 25, 2013
I recently surprised a friend with these on a Sunday morning. My friend, while not a chef himself, had worked for one and so was familiar with and had helped in the prep of making croissants. His face lit up when he saw these. When he took a bite his face beamed and the comment was, "This is the real deal, my friend!" Take a bite and you will hear an angelic choir of angels also singing their praises!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 7 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandyt96
,Bloomington
,il
September 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So glad I tried these!
September 23, 2013
I really love these. Am hoping to purchase the plain butter ones, too. Would love to see some Chicken, broccoli and cheese filled also.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 8 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sstephens
,Franklin
,TN
USA
September 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best frozen croissants I've ever tried
September 17, 2013
I've tried other frozen croissants with mixed results, but these are always delicious! The current favorite in our house are the chocolate ones, but the plain croissants are delicious too! The only downside is waiting overnight for them to thaw and rise!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Time to Prepare
Review 9 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chefsdaughter
September 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Did they change the recipe?
September 3, 2013
I have ordered chocolate croissants from Williams Sonoma many times. The latest batch that I received is of lower quality than the product received earlier. The baked croissants are smaller and less crispy that the earlier ones. They are heavier and more like bread than the earlier product. I have not changed the time allowed for defrosting and letting the dough rise of the amount of baking time or temperature.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 10 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PamD963
,West Falls
,NY
August 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chocolate croissants
August 22, 2013
Yummy! Worth every penny. Hit with company! Delivered in timely manner
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 11 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiMaMi
,FL
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Gift
August 16, 2013
I've purchased these several times as thank you gifts and everyone loves them. Flacky, light, and delicious chocolate. Always well received.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 12 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WIJen
,WI
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Croissants
August 16, 2013
I was hesitant to order these croissants as they are a bit pricey but they are totally worth it! Easy directions and they come out perfect every single time! I have already ordered more. Delicious!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: expensive
Review 13 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LRBavatar
,Glendora
,CA
August 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A chocaholic's delight
August 12, 2013
My husband is the chocaholic in our family ... there is just something special about pulling these fresh from the oven and enjoying with a latte. They proof overnight, and get popped in the oven first thing in the morning.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 14 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JLWCooksAndBakes
,Upstate New York
,NY
August 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The BEST for Sunday brunch!
August 5, 2013
Fantastic. Simply the best chocolate croissant available! Better than bakery, because you can serve them right from the oven. Guests are always impressed.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 15 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cipollina
,miami beach
,fl
August 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
August 1, 2013
Gave three orders of these croissants to friends and all raved about how easy and delicious they were. Great for brunch/weekend breakfast for us and a sweet gift for friends/family!
The chocolate is top quality and the pastry wonderfully buttery and flaky. Enjoy!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 16 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JacyJax
,Jacksonville
,FL
July 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
As Tasty as You Hope!
July 8, 2013
I have purchased the chocolate croissants for the past several years. They are always a brunch hit and a terrific breakfast treat for grandkids or company. I will continue to buy them.
Review 17 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chellbythesea
,sarasota
,FL
July 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
hard to resist
July 8, 2013
what can i say? these are always, always
fantastic--as good as in Paris, where i'm
from. i always order two boxes at a time;
one for me and one for my next door
neighbor--she adores them too. the only
thing wrong with these, is that you have
to let them rise for 9-l0 hours. wish
you could eat them as soon as they
get here.
Review 18 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cong
,Lafayette
,LA
June 12, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My wife and daughter's favorite breakfast
June 12, 2013
We always enjoy the chocolate croissants. They are great for the morning get together, with a hot coffee.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 19 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RosieGirl
,Tampa
,FL
June 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Always delish!
June 11, 2013
This is a treat each time I order them. Nothing like spending Sunday morning reading the paper and enjoying one of these decadent croissants.
ThIs is the closest to being in France that I have found and soooo easy!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 20 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CatATX
,Austin
,TX
June 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelievably good!
June 11, 2013
Oprah was right. These are the BEST croissants. Better than anything you can buy at a bakery here in the US. I don't know if its' because they are baked fresh at home, or if it's the recipe, but they will spoil you to all other croissants. Worth every cent! So delicious!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 35 next