Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15

Master pastry chef Jean-Yves Charon prepares our chocolate croissants in the traditional French style, using butter and ultrathin layers of yeast dough and laboriously folding and cutting the pastry by hand. Our handmade croissants have a delicate flaky texture, buttery taste and irresistible aroma. Filled with fine chocolate from renowned Belgian chocolatier Callebaut. Easy to prepare: allow to rise overnight, then bake. Shipped frozen. 15 chocolate croissants (2 lb. 13 oz. total). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.289 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
74 of 90(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
Review 1 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeamParis
,Duanesburg
,NY
January 25, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chocolate Croissants
January 25, 2015
Really great croissant pastry with a high quality chocolate filling. Awesome!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AHSII
,Asheboro
,NC
January 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Special Treat
January 15, 2015
Makes a wonderful treat with our morning coffee. . Great gift, too.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RCBInman
,Boise
,ID
January 3, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome croissants!
January 3, 2015
Bought these before Christmas. They arrived quickly and well packaged in a styrofoam box with dry ice. I took out 6 croissants that evening and allowed to rise overnight (I believe 9 hrs). The next morning they had risen to twice their frozen size. I used an egg wash and baked as instructed. They turned out picture perfect and tasted awesome. The croissant is not sweet so the chocolate adds just the right sweetness. I don't know what the other reviewers got, but I received a quality product and will buy again.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzettee
,Roseville
,Ca
January 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just like Paris!
January 2, 2015
You MUST try these!! Simply amazing! They taste exactly like the croissants I had in Paris. The only hard part is remembering to take them out of the freezer the night before. It's become a Christmas morning tradition to have chocolate croissants hot out of the oven right after opening presents! Two days later my husband asked for them again! I love be able to bake only the amount we want to eat. You have to give them a try. Puts everyone else's to shame!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JMAM
January 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 2, 2015
These are wonderful in taste with light, crispy dough, just like we'd get in France.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PamN
,Orland Park
,IL
January 2, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
To Die for
January 2, 2015
I served these New Year's Day and they were a hit. They were flaky and delicious. So much better than I could ever make on my own. I will definitely serve these again.
They are so easy to prepare.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 7 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoeNo
,Hudson
,FL
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Like being back in France
December 31, 2014
Fantastic product. Lived in France for 10 years and the Croissants are perfect.
Purchased for family as well.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KimB224
December 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Horrible Quality
December 5, 2014
We have purchased chocolate croissants the past several years for an anniversary treat, and the taste and quality have always been exceptional. However, when we opened the box to prep this batch, the croissants looked different than past years and the entire box had freezer burn. The smell was rancid and we ended up throwing out the entire box. Do not recommend this product - save your money.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, smell
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
kilasurfer
Michigan
Posted December 14, 2014
Rancid
I had exactly the same problem. They didn't smell normal after rising all night (nor did they rise very well). When baking, they created a horrible, rancid smell that took hours to dissipate. The croissants were covered in ice crystals (freezer burn) inside their box -- which was odd, since the box had been unopened -- even the outer layer of plastic wrap was intact until this morning. I threw away all the croissants -- baked and unbaked. Disgusting smell. Don't waste your money!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lisad2
,Hudson
,Oh
December 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mine Were Great
December 4, 2014
It sounds like the quality of this product has been inconsistent, but the croissants I purchased and made on Thanksgiving weekend were wonderful - proofed just fine. I will definitely purchase again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KathCG
,Austin
,TX
December 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
what happened???
December 1, 2014
Have bought and served chocolate croissants for several years...always for special occasions and holidays.
Had large family group for Thanksgiving weekend and prepared both almond and chocolate croissants. The chocolate croissants never did proof correctly....they remained flat and even though i attempted to bake them they were awful!
Called customer service, more suppose to be on the way>>>>HOPE THEY ARE BETTER!!!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, smell, failed to rise when proofed
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SCTR
Ayden, NC
Posted December 18, 2014
Ditto
I have loved these for years but I have had the same problem. Something has changed with the croissants.
0points
Customer avatar
tantalus3
San Diego
Posted December 4, 2014
Check for date on box
I have had the same problems....these croissants used to rise beautifully but in the last year or so they were flat. What I came to realize is that there is no longer a date stamp on the box of croissants so you have no idea how old they are and because of that the croissants do not rise and may have a smell. Williams Sonoma sent me another box which was great but I have ordered again and the problem still exists unfortunately.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ponyo
,Midwest
November 26, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Used to be Amazing....
November 26, 2014
We received several boxes of these croissants as a gift (along with the plain and the ham/cheese) and they have been amazingly delicious and something to be happy to receive. However, a recent order was really strange: smelled weird, didn't rise overnight, flat and greasy after baking. Definitely not what you would call a good croissant.
I called customer service to notify and the service was great - we just received a replacement box so hopefully these will not disappoint. At least it's nice to know the customer service is top notch!
Cons: Disappointing, smell
Review 12 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
heathlwong
,Sacramento
,CA
November 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality is back up to snuff
November 26, 2014
I took a gamble and ordered another box of these despite the recent sub-par reviews. Our first batch of croissants rose as expected, and baked beautifully! Hope the quality is here to stay.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 13 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
windavians
,Chicago
,IL
November 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
it's still happening...
November 9, 2014
We just bought another box of the chocolate croissants; we normally love them! But wish I'd read the recent reviews - we wouldn't have purchased them. They didn't rise and the taste is definitely off.
We were sent a box of these chocolate croissants last Christmas (2013) by a relative, because she knew we loved these. She'd lived in France for many years and loved them herself! But same thing - the croissants didn't rise. We thought it was a fluke and put it down to a bad batch.
Not the case, as our experience this morning with our new box of chocolate croissants attests to. Something's definitely wrong with these, and WS needs to address it. We used to love these and hope the problem can be rectified! We're calling customer service to see what they can do about it...
Cons: Disappointing, smell
Review 14 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nanmty
,Lynnwood
,WA
July 18, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very yummy!
July 18, 2014
These croissants are very yummy. A little bit pricy but it is worth it.
Pros: Texture, Flavor
Cons: price
Review 15 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solestial
,Margate
,FL
July 2, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Little Treat
July 2, 2014
Love these Croissants.. easy to make, just make sure to put them on a higher wire rack when backing and def. Coat with an egg wash to give it that golden brown color. My husband and I enjoy these very much and are great for Sunday Brunch.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 16 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mdinfl
,jacksonville
,fl
June 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They're back
June 15, 2014
Recently received my box of chocolate croissant. Have enjoyed them in the past and reordered without reading the recent reviews. My order was fine, They rose as before and tasted as before. I believe that whatever was going on has been resolved.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 17 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Michael7
,Topeka
,KS
May 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointed!
May 31, 2014
We have been buying these croissants for at least two years and have enjoyed them as a weekend treat until recently. In the past, the croissants have smelled and tasted heavenly and rose to perfection. Unfortunately, the last two boxes have been the exact opposite. We thought the first box was a fluke or that something happened in shipping, but the second box proved there has been a drastic change, for the worst, in the production of this product. We just threw out the last box because the croissants would not rise when prepared as directed, smelled rank while baking and tasted dreadful! We are so disappointed and would love it if Williams Sonoma would bring back the old croissants. Weekends just aren't the same without them! We won't be buying these again and would not recommend them to anyone.
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor, won't rise
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Eatsmart
SC
Posted October 5, 2014
Reply?
Hi, I was wondering if the company got back to you about your comment? I was thinking of ordering these as a gift, but I won't based on your comment. I am thinking they would be monitoring these and communicating back with customers who are not satisfied. Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BIBSoccerMom
,Ventura
,CA
Fillmore, CA
May 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chocolate Croissants Are Not the Same!
May 20, 2014
As per other reviews - Do Not purchase these at this time.
I have bought these croissants for the past 5 years and I have recommended them to all our friends and family members. My spouse is from Belgium so he knows an excellent croissant. For the 1st time in 5 years he threw them in the trash! He said they smelled bad (a rancid smell) and tasted even worse. These croissants have been a weekend MUST HAVE for him ... (I myself am not a chocolate nut so I eat the plain croissants).
** Williams Sonoma has to figure out what happened to the quality of these chocolate croissants - if not for the customer's sake then for William Sonoma's own reputation
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients, smell, Flavor, did not rise properly
Review 19 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Juletta
,Jenks
,OK
May 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DO NOT BUY RIGHT NOW
May 12, 2014
I have bought these croissants several times. The last time I bought both the almond and chocolate. The almond croissants rose like normal, but the chocolate ones stayed like little bricks. I tried it again and again it failed. I then called customer service. They sent a replacement which I received on April 25th. Due to vacations and planned work trips, I tried the replacement batch for the first time this morning. They did not rise in 10 hours. How completely disappointing!! I am not sure what is going on but now is not the time to order these. Something has happened in these batches. PLEASE FIX IT
Cons: Disappointing, did not rise
Review 20 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lotuslady
,Placervill
,Ca
May 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What's happened???
May 8, 2014
I have purchase the chocolate croissants and plain croissants for two years now and I don't know what's happened, but they won't fully rise. I note others are commenting about the quality so I have to presume it is in the making of the product. I am heart sick since these bakery items have been a Sunday morning standard for us for such a long time. Hopefully, this can be resolved and a notice to those of use who have loved and purchased the products notified.
Cons: Disappointing, quality has degraded
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
tantalus3
San Diego
Posted May 10, 2014
Croissants not rising
I too, agree that these croissants do not rise as big as they once did and I believe I know the answer, they are old.
You need to make sure there is an expiration date on the box because I found that the fresher the croissants were, the bigger the rise. The problem is that Galaxy is not putting the date on the box so you have no idea how old they are. I have complained and was sent a new box with the date on it but then the next box I ordered once again did not have the date. Do not accept these croissants if there is not a date on it, it really makes a difference in the product.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 3 4 5 next