Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15

Master pastry chef Jean-Yves Charon prepares our chocolate croissants in the traditional French style, using butter and ultrathin layers of yeast dough and laboriously folding and cutting the pastry by hand. Our handmade croissants have a delicate flaky texture, buttery taste and irresistible aroma. Filled with fine chocolate from renowned Belgian chocolatier Callebaut. Easy to prepare: allow to rise overnight, then bake. Shipped frozen. 15 chocolate croissants (2 lb. 13 oz. total). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.377 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
65 of 77(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
Review 1 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nanmty
,Lynnwood
,WA
July 18, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very yummy!
July 18, 2014
These croissants are very yummy. A little bit pricy but it is worth it.
Pros: Texture, Flavor
Cons: price
Review 2 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solestial
,Margate
,FL
July 2, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Little Treat
July 2, 2014
Love these Croissants.. easy to make, just make sure to put them on a higher wire rack when backing and def. Coat with an egg wash to give it that golden brown color. My husband and I enjoy these very much and are great for Sunday Brunch.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mdinfl
,jacksonville
,fl
June 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They're back
June 15, 2014
Recently received my box of chocolate croissant. Have enjoyed them in the past and reordered without reading the recent reviews. My order was fine, They rose as before and tasted as before. I believe that whatever was going on has been resolved.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 4 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Michael7
,Topeka
,KS
May 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointed!
May 31, 2014
We have been buying these croissants for at least two years and have enjoyed them as a weekend treat until recently. In the past, the croissants have smelled and tasted heavenly and rose to perfection. Unfortunately, the last two boxes have been the exact opposite. We thought the first box was a fluke or that something happened in shipping, but the second box proved there has been a drastic change, for the worst, in the production of this product. We just threw out the last box because the croissants would not rise when prepared as directed, smelled rank while baking and tasted dreadful! We are so disappointed and would love it if Williams Sonoma would bring back the old croissants. Weekends just aren't the same without them! We won't be buying these again and would not recommend them to anyone.
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor, won't rise
Review 5 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BIBSoccerMom
,Ventura
,CA
Fillmore, CA
May 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chocolate Croissants Are Not the Same!
May 20, 2014
As per other reviews - Do Not purchase these at this time.
I have bought these croissants for the past 5 years and I have recommended them to all our friends and family members. My spouse is from Belgium so he knows an excellent croissant. For the 1st time in 5 years he threw them in the trash! He said they smelled bad (a rancid smell) and tasted even worse. These croissants have been a weekend MUST HAVE for him ... (I myself am not a chocolate nut so I eat the plain croissants).
** Williams Sonoma has to figure out what happened to the quality of these chocolate croissants - if not for the customer's sake then for William Sonoma's own reputation
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients, smell, Flavor, did not rise properly
Review 6 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Juletta
,Jenks
,OK
May 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DO NOT BUY RIGHT NOW
May 12, 2014
I have bought these croissants several times. The last time I bought both the almond and chocolate. The almond croissants rose like normal, but the chocolate ones stayed like little bricks. I tried it again and again it failed. I then called customer service. They sent a replacement which I received on April 25th. Due to vacations and planned work trips, I tried the replacement batch for the first time this morning. They did not rise in 10 hours. How completely disappointing!! I am not sure what is going on but now is not the time to order these. Something has happened in these batches. PLEASE FIX IT
Cons: Disappointing, did not rise
Review 7 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lotuslady
,Placervill
,Ca
May 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What's happened???
May 8, 2014
I have purchase the chocolate croissants and plain croissants for two years now and I don't know what's happened, but they won't fully rise. I note others are commenting about the quality so I have to presume it is in the making of the product. I am heart sick since these bakery items have been a Sunday morning standard for us for such a long time. Hopefully, this can be resolved and a notice to those of use who have loved and purchased the products notified.
Cons: Disappointing, quality has degraded
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
tantalus3
San Diego
Posted May 10, 2014
Croissants not rising
I too, agree that these croissants do not rise as big as they once did and I believe I know the answer, they are old.
You need to make sure there is an expiration date on the box because I found that the fresher the croissants were, the bigger the rise. The problem is that Galaxy is not putting the date on the box so you have no idea how old they are. I have complained and was sent a new box with the date on it but then the next box I ordered once again did not have the date. Do not accept these croissants if there is not a date on it, it really makes a difference in the product.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sandy4112
,inverness
,fl
May 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOULD NOT RAISE, AWFUL
May 3, 2014
Like other recent reviews, I have bought these in the past with excellent results. I was given these as a gift, while they arrived still frozen; they would not rise even after 10 hours! They tasted gummy and nasty and I am so very disappointed that even though there have been recent bad reviews, they continued to sell the "bad" batch. That is a lot of money to throw in the garbage. I don't consider them even edible. Buyer beware!
Cons: Disappointing, did not rise
Review 9 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
europeanfoodfan
,The Woodlands
,TX
April 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
lower category than previous years
April 22, 2014
I have been acquiring this product for years, but the quality of the butter has been declining until now when saponification of the butiric acid has arrived to an unacceptable level, and you can smell the characterisitic aroma even when the croissants are in the oven.
The produc arrived in good shape, and with dry ice still on the bags.
Two years ago this product was one of my favorites. Now I will not acquire it again.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 10 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rick232323
,Rochester
,NY
April 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What the heck happened!?!?
April 20, 2014
Have purchased these chocolate croissants for a few years and had been very pleased with them. The last two orders have shown a dramatic drop in quality. The last two orders have had an obvious sour dairy smell to them both in their frozen state and after they are thawed and baked. Possibly a rancid yeast concern?? Williams Sonoma has replaced on one occasion in hopes of resolving the matter but the replacement box didn't resolve any issues. If not a change in ingredients issue, is it a packaging issue?? One of the boxes received appeared to have been partially thawed and refrozen as most of the croissants had to be pulled apart as they were stuck together even though they were frozen when received. I hope that the matter will be looked into with the manufacture of the product, Galaxy Foods, as We really did love the original product.
I have attached a photo of the thawed and "risen" croissants for your review. I hope the issue can be resolved.
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, smell, Flavor, sour smell and don't rise properly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SadSan
Washington
January 23, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So very yummy.
January 23, 2014
I didn't think I would like the chocolate filled croissants but decided to try them anyway (the regular croissants are awesome), and yes, I love them. These guys make the best croissants ever, so good, buttery, fresh, just the right amount of chocolate in my opinion, flakey soft and easy to prepare. Please don't ever discontinue any of your croissants.
Review 12 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChiTownChowHound
,Chicago
,IL
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not QUITE as good as before....
December 29, 2013
My mother has taken to sending these croissants to myself and my siblings each Christmas to be enjoyed Christmas morning. It's a lovely tradition that I hope she continues as these croissants are truly a delicious treat. Having said that, we all agreed that the chocolate filling was not quite as generous as in years past. I'm willing to accept that perhaps we received a "bad" batch and will look forward to next year's box! Aside from this issue (which forced me to downgrade a star) these croissants are usually a home run in my house!
Review 13 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsPicky
,Chester
,Va
December 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic croissants in every way
December 20, 2013
Easy to prepare, flaky buttery pastry with chocolate melted through the middle. A hit every time we serve these. Guests are always impressed to get fresh, hot croissants for breakfast!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 14 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patchin
,southern california
December 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Fresh
December 16, 2013
I was impressed with all the reviews this item has. I prefer them cooled out of the oven. The butter flavor comes out more if cooled off, in my opinion. I had these shipped to my office, I put them in the freezer then drove them home to the freezer again. No problems! The chocolate is very generous.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 15 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
vahappycrab
,DC Metro Area
,VA
November 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious but Check Exp. Date Upon Receipt!!
November 3, 2013
These chocolate croissants are delicious...if they are fresh! I have ordered these 4 times this year, April, May, July and October. I received the last order on October 17th and baked the first few on November 1st. They turned out horrible!! The dough didn't rise enough, they were chewy not flaky, and tasted "old". This was odd as my experience with the past three orders was excellent. I checked the expiration date on the box and it was October 30, 2013!! Obviously these were not fresh. I called customer service and they are sending another box of croissants.
This type of inconvenience should not be happening with a product that is being sold has "high-end". Please verify the expiration date before shipping the product. Sending something that expires two weeks before the expiration date, when it is supposed to last three months, is unacceptable. Again, delicious and worth every penny IF FRESH!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining
Cons: poor handling of order
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
tantalus3
San Diego
Posted December 18, 2013
Update: Problem fixed
I contacted Williams Sonoma about the croissants not tasting as good and they promptly sent me a new box which was a huge difference over the last 3 boxes I purchased. I noticed first hand that there was now an expiration date stamped on the box (which wasn't there on the previous boxes). The next thing I noticed was that the croissants were slightly bigger and lighter in color and when I thawed them overnight they were noticeably bigger and baked up beautifully just like I remembered from the very first box I ordered. I know this was not the fault of Williams Sonoma but they took care of the problem promptly (great customer service!) and I will continue to purchase these croissants because they really are the best I have found.
0points
Customer avatar
tantalus3
San Diego
Posted December 8, 2013
Not the same croissants
I have to agree...these croissants are not the same! When I first started purchasing these croissants a few years ago they puffed up big and beautiful, crispy and light. The last few boxes I purchased I noticed that the dough no longer rises when I leave it out overnight (they used to rise so big and puffy!). And the taste is not quite the same, not as good as before. I tried to look for a date on the box but I could not find it...maybe they aren't putting the date on there anymore? Which makes me wonder how old these are. Unless things change I will not be purchasing these again.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patticake1
,Newport
,RI
September 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is The Real Deal
September 25, 2013
I recently surprised a friend with these on a Sunday morning. My friend, while not a chef himself, had worked for one and so was familiar with and had helped in the prep of making croissants. His face lit up when he saw these. When he took a bite his face beamed and the comment was, "This is the real deal, my friend!" Take a bite and you will hear an angelic choir of angels also singing their praises!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 17 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandyt96
,Bloomington
,il
September 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So glad I tried these!
September 23, 2013
I really love these. Am hoping to purchase the plain butter ones, too. Would love to see some Chicken, broccoli and cheese filled also.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 18 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sstephens
,Franklin
,TN
USA
September 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best frozen croissants I've ever tried
September 17, 2013
I've tried other frozen croissants with mixed results, but these are always delicious! The current favorite in our house are the chocolate ones, but the plain croissants are delicious too! The only downside is waiting overnight for them to thaw and rise!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Time to Prepare
Review 19 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chefsdaughter
September 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Did they change the recipe?
September 3, 2013
I have ordered chocolate croissants from Williams Sonoma many times. The latest batch that I received is of lower quality than the product received earlier. The baked croissants are smaller and less crispy that the earlier ones. They are heavier and more like bread than the earlier product. I have not changed the time allowed for defrosting and letting the dough rise of the amount of baking time or temperature.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 20 for Chocolate Croissants, Set of 15
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PamD963
,West Falls
,NY
August 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chocolate croissants
August 22, 2013
Yummy! Worth every penny. Hit with company! Delivered in timely manner
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: Unhealthy
page1 2 3 4 next