Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand

Chefs use conical strainers like this one to make ultrasmooth soups and sauces as well as clear stocks. Add the pestle to help push denser ingredients through the mesh and the stand to stabilize it over smaller bowls and pots.Fine stainless-steel mesh strainer prevents lumps, seeds and skins from passing through.Long handle lets you lift it easily from pot to sink.Side tab rests on the rim of the pot or bowl for stability.Set includes the strainer, a stainless-steel stand and a beechwood pestle.Made in France.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
Review 1 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FoodieJane
,New York
,NY
October 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great kitchen tool with one flaw
October 27, 2013
I've had the chinois strainer for about 3 years now and have loved using it to strain the vegetables/bones from homemade stocks about twice a month. However, the chinois has started to rust on the mesh where the mesh meets the solid stainless steel, an area that is difficult to dry well. If it weren't for the rusting, I would easily give this product 5 stars as it is very handy to have in the kitchen for straining and sifting. Unfortunately, I will have to throw it away now.
Pros: Versatile, Design
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, rust
Review 2 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jdkitchen
,Boston
,MA
March 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Strainer
March 4, 2013
Heavy duty - great chinois for home use. I used it to strain about 7 quarts of vegetable stock this weekend and had no problems with it.
The mesh is tight enough to leave behind most of the pieces and result in crystal clear stock.
Tamper and stand are great additions. Stand allows you to keep your hands free during straining and contains what can otherwise be a messy operation. The tamper is great for getting the last drop out of vegetables.
Only cons would be that it is a bit bulky to store in my cabinet and it's a bit of a pain to get the tiny pieces of food out from the bottom of the cone during clean-up; don't let that deter you though, it's a great strainer.
Pros: Durable, Quality
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 3 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GinaLisa
,Monroe Township
,NJ
May 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gnocchi lovers
May 2, 2012
My grandmother had one that my sister and I shared for years, we used it as a ricer to make the lightest most delicious potato gnocchi.
So I bought this in hopes it could be as useful and it really is wonderful. Also use to can sweet tomatoes for sauce each summer, minus the seeds. This is a hand me down item that's very useful to those who have such needs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 4 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Malabargold
January 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A wrist saver
January 5, 2012
Stand is brilliant. I use this everyday, 4 times a day for prolnged periods. A career saver.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 5 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alpo
,OK
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good value
December 12, 2011
After doing a lot of searching I found this unit. It seemed like the best value and turned out to be great. I got it for my wife who loves it. It is well constructed and sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 6 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JIMMYJ
Monterey,Ca
July 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A GREAT GIFT!!!
July 11, 2011
Gave this Chinois Strainer as gift to my Mother,who is an advid "Canner" and she loves it. Quality construction & an ease to clean. 5 stars all the way.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, looks great
Review 7 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MimiV
Belleville,NJ
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well worth the money
January 8, 2011
My husband purchased this kit for me and I am so excited to use it! I was surprised to see it strain all the grit out of guava puree and made the most delicious Guava-lini's. A recipe I found in Daisy Martinez's latest cookbook. My first try ended up with a lot of grit in this drink. After using the chinois, no grit and a divine drink.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drpam
St. Louis, MO
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice for soups
January 2, 2011
I purchased the chinois for making Cream of Asparagus soup for Christmas eve dinner. It did a very nice job of straining out all the tiny asparagus fibers. I wish the stand was a little more steady and wider to be able to fit over a larger bowl. It cleaned up very easily. All in all I would recommend it !
Review 9 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarkinKansas
Kansas
December 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A unique tool
December 8, 2010
I got mine at WS several years ago. I heard about guys deep-frying turkeys and injecting marinades. I wanted to try the latter, with an oven-roasted bird. Got a syringe at the local WS.
As I progressed from simple mixtures to complex herb concoctions, my needle clogged with bits of sage and stuff. Blending was useless. Got the chinois, and it worked like a charm. I used the filtrand (retained pulp) as an inside rub. You can get some of the moistest turkey breasts ever. I like injecting better than brining because I my marinade has butter.
On cleaning, use a brush and spray button on the faucet, or otherwise at full flow. Brush from the OUTSIDE, to push lodged particles back inside the funnel under flowing water. (Opposite technique drives the particles deeper into the mesh.) If circumstances do not allow immediate cleanup, soak in the sink or pot of water until you can get to it.
Review 10 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
letifanning
Littleton, CO
August 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great tool for making Greek Yogurt
August 18, 2010
I found a great recipe for making homemade Greek Yogurt, and it suggested using a Chinois Strainer. I found this product from other places, but I chose Williams-Sonoma because of the additional stand and pestle. The packing was done very well to avoid any damage to the product. I am very pleased at the online purchase, and I would recommend to anyone needing this kitchen tool.
Review 11 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
astro
GR MI
December 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Think Pomagranate
December 21, 2009
Best tool to juice poms I have found. Base is a bit wobbly but holds firm atop a soft wooden surface.
I have needed this tool for so long. Ashamed to say I waited a decade to buy it but glad I finally did. Very handy and well built.
Review 12 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aiki
Fort Worth, Texas
December 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent product
December 2, 2009
This strainer is wonderful. It is very sturdy and gets the job done. I wish we had purchased this a year ago.
Review 13 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NuJoi
Chicago, IL
December 14, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
For the Smoothest Results
December 14, 2008
If you want only the smoothest and silkiest of results, use this. It has extremely fine mesh and won't even let grated lemon zest through.
I would not suggest this to someone who wants to use this as a principal strainer -- it's too fine. It is a great addition to a set sieves a food mills. I love using it for my butternut squash soup.
Review 14 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarbF
Marqette, MI
October 8, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for canning
October 8, 2008
I've wanted one of these for years. I remember my mom using it during the canning season.....now I'm doing it too.
Well made and has a very fine sieve. Would like to have the availablity to get a coarser sieve.
Review 15 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jaci
Kansas City Missouri
September 29, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
-23points
8of 39found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm taking this back
September 29, 2008
I bought the chinois, stand and pestle yesterday to make applesauce. The stand is too narrow and slips, the mesh too fine. In order to push hard enough to strain something through the mesh, one person has to hold the stand and the chinois while the other person pushs/circles with the pestle. VERY labor intensive for anything other than the softest of things, more so than any other chinois strainer I've used previously. I'm returning it and going to buy the food grinder/strainer attachment for my kitchenaid mixer.
Review 16 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mamacelly
Murrieta, CA
September 11, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does the job
September 11, 2008
I love it! Smooth consistencies with no lumps or skins which is why I use it to make homemade baby food.
I rated it average because it rusted just a bit near the rim after one hand-wash.
Review 17 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beefshaman
San Diego, Ca
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Make straining easy
September 3, 2008
Using this Chinois has made making soups and sauces much easier. My only issue with it is that it can be a challenge to clean. I recommend that it is cleaned as soon as you are done using it, do not let it dry even a little bit. Besides that it is definately everything that I thought that it would be and more.