Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand

Chefs use conical strainers like this one to make ultrasmooth soups and sauces as well as clear stocks. Add the pestle to help push denser ingredients through the mesh and the stand to stabilize it over smaller bowls and pots.Fine stainless-steel mesh strainer prevents lumps, seeds and skins from passing through.Long handle lets you lift it easily from pot to sink.Side tab rests on the rim of the pot or bowl for stability.Set includes the strainer, a stainless-steel stand and a beechwood pestle.Made in France.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
Review 1 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FoodieJane
,New York
,NY
October 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great kitchen tool with one flaw
October 27, 2013
I've had the chinois strainer for about 3 years now and have loved using it to strain the vegetables/bones from homemade stocks about twice a month. However, the chinois has started to rust on the mesh where the mesh meets the solid stainless steel, an area that is difficult to dry well. If it weren't for the rusting, I would easily give this product 5 stars as it is very handy to have in the kitchen for straining and sifting. Unfortunately, I will have to throw it away now.
Pros: Versatile, Design
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, rust
Review 2 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jdkitchen
,Boston
,MA
March 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Strainer
March 4, 2013
Heavy duty - great chinois for home use. I used it to strain about 7 quarts of vegetable stock this weekend and had no problems with it.
The mesh is tight enough to leave behind most of the pieces and result in crystal clear stock.
Tamper and stand are great additions. Stand allows you to keep your hands free during straining and contains what can otherwise be a messy operation. The tamper is great for getting the last drop out of vegetables.
Only cons would be that it is a bit bulky to store in my cabinet and it's a bit of a pain to get the tiny pieces of food out from the bottom of the cone during clean-up; don't let that deter you though, it's a great strainer.
Pros: Durable, Quality
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 3 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GinaLisa
,Monroe Township
,NJ
May 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gnocchi lovers
May 2, 2012
My grandmother had one that my sister and I shared for years, we used it as a ricer to make the lightest most delicious potato gnocchi.
So I bought this in hopes it could be as useful and it really is wonderful. Also use to can sweet tomatoes for sauce each summer, minus the seeds. This is a hand me down item that's very useful to those who have such needs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 4 for Chinois Strainer, Pestle & Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Malabargold
January 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A wrist saver
January 5, 2012
Stand is brilliant. I use this everyday, 4 times a day for prolnged periods. A career saver.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design