This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Chinois Bouillon Strainer

Chefs use conical strainers like this one to make ultrasmooth soups and sauces as well as clear stocks. Add the pestle to help push denser ingredients through the mesh and the stand to stabilize it over smaller bowls and pots. Fine stainless-steel mesh strainer prevents lumps, seeds and skins from passing through. Long handle lets you lift it easily from pot to sink. Side tab rests on the rim of the pot or bowl for stability. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
2.714 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
3 of 7(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chinois Bouillon Strainer
Review 1 for Chinois Bouillon Strainer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
andrewhk
November 2, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
very nice TIN chinois
November 2, 2012
This chinois is made of extremely low quality stainless steel borderline tin. It will rust after the first use.
Cons: Quality
Review 2 for Chinois Bouillon Strainer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GreekYogurtMaker
,Fallbrook
,CA
January 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Rusted in 2 months
January 21, 2012
I bought this strainer as the result of an online recommendation from a Greek Yogurt maker. I had been making Greek and regular yogurt for a few months and decided to make my life easier with this strainer despite the cost of $70.
It worked beautifully. But the solid rim began to rust in just a few months. I bought it in Sept. 2011 and returned it in Jan. 2012. The mesh, guard, and handle seem to be stainless steel but not the rim. Why the cheap-out? The paperwork it comes with says stainless steel and dishwasher safe. But it isn't. I have a Matfer Exoglass on order to replace this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Design
Cons: Quality, Inaccurate
Review 3 for Chinois Bouillon Strainer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nacb
Danvers, MA
July 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
And For Other Uses
July 31, 2011
I bought this, not to strain anything, but for draining spaghetti. My mother had something very similar to it long ago and I've never found one similar to it. My regular pasta pot is fine for other types of pasta, but spaghetti always got stuck in the holes of the strainer. It was even worse with angel hair pasta. This strainer, with the stand, is worth every penny for draining spaghetti. The stand keeps it high enough in the sink and the spaghetti doesn't get caught in the holes.
Oddly enough, the salesman thought I was nuts. He kept insisting it wasn't what it was designed for, but it's absolutely perfect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
Review 4 for Chinois Bouillon Strainer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GilSFO
San Francisco, CA
August 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Excellent tool
August 3, 2009
I've had mine for years and I always get great results. I used my chinois this weekend to make a central american drink called atole which is made from strained corn and milk, simmered and sweetened with sugar and cinnamon. I was able to strain a blender of corn mush at a time and ended up with a silky smooth concoction that had all the central american ladies at our church function asking for the recipe. I ran out of it too quickly! I can always count on my chinois to give the best results to all my culinary needs.
Review 5 for Chinois Bouillon Strainer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
XmasShoppingByDavid
Glastonbury, CT
December 14, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
-11points
11of 33found this review helpful.
Why is stand not included?
December 14, 2008
According to your desciption of the "Chinois Bouillon Strainer", the stainless-steel stand is not included. Question: How would you use this item without the stand? I suppose a second person could hold the strainer while the first person uses it ... but that's not very convenient, is it.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
upscalebohemian
San Francisco, CA
Posted October 23, 2012
Top 100 Contributor
See That Tab on the Top Rim?
The other reviewer is right. No stand required. See that tab on the edge of the rim? That can also be hooked over the side of a bowl.
0points
Customer avatar
Marteaux
New York, NY
Posted December 3, 2010
Obvious Solution
If you use the strainer as chefs do, you do not need the stand. The loop at the base of the strainer rests in the bottom of the pot (if necessary), and you hold the handle with one hand and the wooden plunger in the other. Pretty easy.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Chinois Bouillon Strainer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GailH
Michigan
September 20, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
A must have tool if
September 20, 2008
...you are making stocks, soups, juices...any liquid product that must be perfectly clear and/or smooth. I made tomato juice for the first time this summer and could not have gotten it the right consistency without my chinois. Makes crystal-clear chicken stock, too. I found that the tomatoes stained the rim a bit, but I have not experienced any reactivity (the mesh is stainless). It cleans up in the dishwasher. I highly recommend the stand and food pusher accessories as well.
Review 7 for Chinois Bouillon Strainer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hoss
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
22of 28found this review helpful.
Easily Tarnished
September 4, 2008
This strainer, while functional, tanished after its first cleaning. I did not use anything offensive or obrasive in cleaning this tool, nor did I fail to dry it properly. However, it developed many large tarnished spots on the interior and exterior of the lip as well as where the mesh meets the lip. I do not recommend using this product due to the fact that it is obviously reactive. I personally prefer to keep my kitchen tools as non-reactive to their environmental stresses as possible.