Williams-Sonoma Chinese Five Spice Powder

A classic Chinese spice blend, this aromatic mixture is traditionally used to season roast pork and duck. Ours combines fragrant star anise with spicy Szechuan peppercorns and the sweetness of cinnamon and cloves. Finely ground fennel seeds balance and unite the flavors. Five-spice powder is a traditional Chinese blend of ground star anise, Szechuan peppercorns, cinnamon, cloves and fennel seeds. Ideal for seasoning roast meats and poultry, this versatile blend adds spicy-sweet flavor to stirfries and other Chinese dishes. The spices are freshly ground before blending to ensure the most vibrant flavor and aroma. The premium, all-natural seasonings for our Chinese Five Spice Powder are sourced from around the world and expertly blended by a family-owned artisanal spice company in Northern California's Napa Valley. 1.7 oz. Made in USA from imported ingredients.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Chinese Five Spice Powder
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Chinese Five Spice Powder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent flavor
July 27, 2013
I use this in my sweet and sour sauce and it gives it a unique twist. Very nice flavor profile.
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Chinese Five Spice Powder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elissa121
IL
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome flavors
September 6, 2011
I used this for some braised pork shoulder and it was phenominal. Of course it would be great for other recipes as well, which I also look forward to. Tons of flavor, and very well balanced.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Chinese Five Spice Powder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inquisitive
Houston
May 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally found good Chinese spices
May 6, 2011
Love to cook Chinese but can never find all the ingredients needed. This is top quality and has it all!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Chinese Five Spice Powder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jingbin
Columbus, Ohio
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Test like mom's cooking!!!
January 5, 2011
I been living in US 11 years now, since this first year I came from Beijng I tried find great Chinese Spice any chance I can, until I used this one. It's so good I used in a lot dishes with it and test just my mom's cooking!!! Thanks!!!
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Chinese Five Spice Powder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RickyRocket
Baltimore, Maryland
December 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just smell it
December 1, 2010
Careful, this is the real thing! Can you do better growing it yourself? Maybe, but not me, I don't have time. Williams Sonoma Spices are off the hook compared to grocery store options. The price is comparible to premium gocery store versions. If you are used to grocery store spices, be careful with this, it might surprise you.
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Chinese Five Spice Powder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sbanksfrg
Selma, TX
September 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great addition to anyone's spice cabinet!
September 4, 2010
I attended a technique class a few weeks ago at a Williams-Sonoma store in San Antonio. We had the opportunity to try this spice during a cooking demonstration. It is simply amazing! It smells wonderful and gives the food so much flavor. I am very impressed with the quality of Williams-Sonoma's seasonings and spices. One word of caution, though...a little goes a long way.