Chili Verde Starter

In its traditional form, chili verde is a hearty, vibrantly flavored pork stew that incorporates tart tomatillos, spicy peppers, onions and other fresh ingredients. Our Mexican-style Chili Verde Starter is as close to the real thing as you can get - and couldn't be easier to use. A tangy, spicy blend for making Mexican-style chili verde. Slow-cooked with traditional chili verde ingredients - roasted tomatillos and jalapeno peppers - plus pieces of nopale, or prickly pear cactus. The tart-spicy flavors are balanced by a savory blend of fresh garlic, onion, cilantro and Mexican epazote, an herb with a flavor akin to anise, used as a traditional seasoning. Just add pieces of browned pork or chicken and simmer to create a Mexican-style stew. For a mouthwatering summertime dish, use the starter as a sauce over grilled shrimp. It's also delicious as a topping for burritos and enchiladas. 30 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chili Verde Starter
Review 1 for Chili Verde Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jshoopes
,Lodi
,CA
August 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best chili verdi
August 21, 2014
Makes pork butt into the best chili verdi around. Super simple in crock pot or stove top. I just tell'em "yes" when asked if I made it. As good as any.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 2 for Chili Verde Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zuckererbse
,San Diego
San Diego, CA
August 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Authentic!
August 7, 2014
The store manager at the San Diego UTC store is Mexican, and once told me that this sauce "is almost as good as his mom's". Well, it is utterly delicious and easy to prepare. Follow the instructions on the back of the jar for a truly authentic meal. Tip: buy a little more meat, as you'll cut away plenty of fat before sautéing the cubes. Gracias, Williams Sonoma!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 3 for Chili Verde Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
suentherockies
,FL
July 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Healthy
July 25, 2014
When I get down to just one of these jars left in my pantry, it's time to re-stock! So handy for spur of the moment meals. I like it best poured into some chunks of browned pork (pork shoulder, pork loin, etc.) and heated on the stove top; covering it or heating it too long makes it more watery than I like, though it still tastes good. It is also very low in calories, carbs and sodium, even if you were to eat the entire large jar yourself!!! It's great by itself or, if you're not watching carbs, its great poured over rice. I only wish it had a few more chunks of chile in it!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Cons: not enough chile chunks in it.
Review 4 for Chili Verde Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stumpy
,Geneva
,IL
November 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Was very surprised
November 23, 2013
I normally am not a user of any canned sauces as I enjoy making my own, but I picked up a jar during the last sale to have on hand. I browned a pork butt, added sauce to the dutch oven and braised in the oven. At the end I added a can of white hominy-man was this good-
I think if I try again I amy add some fresh cilantro or something at the end to brighten it up a bit.
Review 5 for Chili Verde Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alohalesley
,Pu'uanahulu
,HI
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
August 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous flavor!
August 22, 2013
This sauce is just fabulous, with many uses with different meats. Spicey, but not too spicey. The depth of flavor shows the care that went into the recipe and production of the sauce. This can make a quick meal, and it tastes like you spent all day in the kitchen. Excellent!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Chili Verde Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
daydreambeliever
,Chino
,Ca
Chino, CA
April 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy Chili Verde
April 6, 2013
This was an experiment for me as I have never had Chili Verde before. I bought it based on the reviews and thought it would be great for those busy evenings when I don't have a lot of time to cook. I just followed the simple directions on the bottle, but I used a lean pork loin cut up into chunks, browning the pork in my dutch oven and adding the sauce. It didn't require more than 1 1/2 hour cooking time in my dutch oven. I just cooked it on top of my stove.
I served it over rice and my family loved it. It does have some heat to it, but just the right amount. Not too spicy, and not too bland. I will buy this again for a quick, easy chili verde meal.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 7 for Chili Verde Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaurieLee
,Bakersfield
,Ca
March 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy & Delicious
March 26, 2013
Have been using this starter for quite a while and it is a family favorite. I usually add a bit of jalapeño pepper because we like it spicy.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 8 for Chili Verde Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KHUFF33
,San Jose
,CA
February 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
February 25, 2013
This Chile Verdi starter sauce is delicious. The first time I made it, my family couldn't get enough. I thought I would have leftovers, but that did not happen. I've made it for friends too and everyone raves about it. Can't believe this sauce comes in a bottle.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Chili Verde Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie44
,Los Alamitos
,CA
May 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Winner every time!
May 28, 2012
This sauce has a most authentic flavor and our Mexican family loves it. Made it again tonight and my husband said it outdid his favorite restaurant.
As with other sauces, it is a bit expensive, but with all the authentic ingredients it would be hard to duplicate if you had to buy so many different things.
Tried it in a crock pot once and don't recommend it. Becomes too watered down. Oven method on the label is easy and delicious!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 10 for Chili Verde Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
debr76
,UT
Tooele, Utah
February 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Surprisingly good!
February 20, 2012
I bought this a few months ago and finally got around to using it for President's Day. I added some fresh green chili's and a bit of evaporated milk but it had a good flavor all on it's own. I highly recommend this product..
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor