Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base

The cookery of the Italian countryside is famous for hearty long-simmered braises - perfect fare for chilly evenings and hungry guests. Our authentic braising base, made with white wine and portobello mushrooms, makes preparing classic chicken cacciatore easy.All-natural braising base is made with white wine, vegetables and spices and gently cooked for hours to achieve its delicious complexity.Simply combine the base with chicken in a slow cooker or Dutch oven and simmer.24.5 oz.Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
27 of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
Review 1 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sunnyt47165
,Scottsburg
,In
November 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Sauce ever tasted
November 14, 2013
This is so flavorful , I thought I was eating at a 5 star restaurant. My husband said this was the best chicken dinner he has ever had. I want to stock up on this Cacciatore Sauce.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Review 2 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BklynKins
NYC
November 16, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick and Delish!
November 16, 2012
Put my chicken breasts in my slow cooker with this sauce. Last hour added fresh mushrooms. Delish!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Nyc3
New York
Posted February 13, 2013
How long did you leave in slow cooker? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tag1
,Amherst
,NH
Amherst, NH
June 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious dish
June 25, 2012
This sauce is flavorful and rich. I braise the chicken and then saute onions and a variety of peppers layer it in a crock pot with the sauce and you have a fabulous dinner worthy of company presentation. Add pasta, salad and bread and your meal is complete.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy
Review 4 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WIFoodieInTraining
November 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Dinner
November 13, 2011
Even my picky 11 year old loved this sauce. She thought the mushrooms were small bits of beef and still loved it when I let her in on the 'secret'.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 5 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beaucat
,SC
SC
November 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely fantastic
November 6, 2011
I've tried several recipes for chicken cacciatore but none of them had much oomph in them (lack of depth of flavor.)
Short on time, I bought this and put it in a crockpot with my chicken. Wow! It is fantastic. I've bought it several times more...
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FamilyDinner
Tacoma WA
July 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy - Reordered
July 11, 2011
I think of all the bases, this is the family's favorite. It is flavorful enough for all (children and adults) but not overpowering.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crewmom05
Connecticut
May 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great WS sauce!
May 25, 2011
Tried this for the first time last night and it was a big hit with my husband and three teenage athletes! Browned some boneless skinless chicken thighs in a Dutch oven and poured the sauce over all. Put the pot in a 350 degree oven for about an hour and served it over angel hair pasta. The house smelled amazing and the dish was fantastic --like I'd been cooking all day. Nobody would ever know it was from a jar! Yum!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 8 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A1Cook
MI
May 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great sauce!
May 10, 2011
A wonderful sauce for chicken. I browned a whole cut up chicken and added the chicken to the crockpot, added the jar of sauce and cooked on low all day. The house smelled wonderful! Serve with pasta, a crisp salad, and garlic bread! Wonderful!
Review 9 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momtoots
Royal Oak, Michigan
March 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oh, my gosh!
March 15, 2011
I have used WS food items for a number of years, so it was not a big surprise that this cacciatore base was so amazing. But oh, my gosh... it is just fantastic. I could spend all day trying to prepare chicken cacciatore from scratch and could not possibly come up with something as wonderful as this is. Does it cost a little more than some store brand? Yes. Is it worth it? Absolutely. You get what you pay for.
Review 10 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
agrold
Kalispell, MT
March 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chicken tonight?
March 7, 2011
The Chicken Cacciatore braising base added a very pleasant flavor to the chicken dinner, plus it made fixing dinner that night very quick and easy!
Review 11 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marinite
Mill Valley, CA
February 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Cacciatore
February 25, 2011
Just finished up dinner - Mmmm... yummy!! I'll definitely purchase again and keep a stock in my pantry. Everyone had seconds and there were no leftovers. Best starter sauce ever!
Review 12 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BiloxiBill
Biloxi, MS
February 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than from Scratch
February 12, 2011
Very simple and delicious. Hard to believe it could be so good from a jar.
BiloxiBill
Review 13 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jillysma
Staten Island, NY
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not for us
February 3, 2011
Didn't enjoy the flavors at all. I have been trying Wlliams Sonoma products this winter...but this is one we didn't like at all!! Sorry!!!
Review 14 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kennadi
Florida
July 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone loved it!!
July 26, 2010
This was SO good, served it over linguine, my husband and daughters (13 & 5) loved it! They asked me to add it to the permanent menu...
Review 15 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
35Maxwell
Sharpsburg, GA
June 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW! Well worth the price!
June 24, 2010
I told my husband how much the jar cost before I made the meal. Lets just say he was "skeptical" LOL. While he ate it was all Mmm's and then I had to fight him away from the leftovers. I didn't think they were going to make it to a second meal! He wants me to buy 2 jars next time!
Review 16 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bunkie77345
California
April 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another GREAT braising sauce....
April 15, 2010
Can't go wrong with this sauce. Great complexity of flavors and easy to use. I'd buy it again.
Review 17 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
yummymommy
Warrenton, VA
March 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy.
March 27, 2010
I just made this on Monday. It was easy like most of the other sauces, but not better than a Wegmans recipe I had tried within the last few months. My two kids, 10 and 13 ate it because they were hungry, but did not care for it. I most likely will not purchase this particular base again.
Review 18 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delicious
NY
March 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our go-to sauce
March 26, 2010
This sauce makes preparing chicken cacciatore easy. We flour and brown six chicken thighs and then put them in our slow cooker with this sauce. In the evening, we have a delicious meal. It's that simple. Given our busy schedules, we keep a jar or two of this in our kitchen at all times.
Review 19 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erlina
Chicago, Il
February 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chicken Cacciatore Sauce
February 10, 2010
This is one of the best sauces my family has enjoyed. My husband just loves it and the flavors remind us of Europe. We use it on a regular basis and it makes for a wonderful chicken dinner.
Review 20 for Chicken Cacciatore Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wyatt18
Palmdale, CA
October 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious
October 7, 2009
I used chicken breasts and served it over spaghetti, it was so simple and delicious
page1 2 next