Cherry Wood Salad Bowls

Skilled woodworkers in Wisconsin use traditional butcher-block construction to create laminated serving bowls that are exceptionally strong and stable. They're hand finished of cherry wood, which darkens to a rich reddish brown over time. The 12" bowl has a 3-qt. capacity; the 13 3/4" bowl, a 5-qt. capacity; the 8 1/4" diam. individual bowls, a 24-oz. capacity. The servers are 13" long. Our special set includes a 12" bowl and four individual bowls. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.524 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
14 of 21(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
Review 1 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cooksastorm
,Shoreview
,MN
February 26, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect gift!
February 26, 2014
This bowl makes the perfect wedding gift. Almost any couple will move for a few years, and this is one classic gift that won't break. Alone, it's beautiful and fits anyone's taste. Depending on what you want to spend, you can add to it: salad making accessories, cookbook, servers. (Get one for yourself)
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design
Review 2 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aceto
,Tempe
,AZ
March 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful salad bowl
March 11, 2013
I gave this bowl as a wedding gift. I got to see it and was so impressed with the quality and beauty of the wood. It is large enough to serve salad when having company, and makes a wonderful presentation!
Pros: large
Review 3 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,Stanford
,CA
December 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a piece of junk
December 28, 2011
Received this for Christmas it had already broke. The lip broke in transit. Badly made.
Cons: Not Durable, Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SueSue2
New York
Posted December 31, 2011
Top 10 Contributor
reviewed wrong item?
It looks like you reviewed the wrong item. The bowls don't have a lip.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DrQR
October 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality
October 27, 2011
After my first use, the top of the salad bowl split in between the two pieces of wood stuck together. My fault, I didnt oil it. After no uses, just in storage but already oil treated, the bottom is starting to split. I am afraid to use it now for salads because the dressing may leak through it. Using it as a fruit/vegetable bowl was a terrible idea because a tomato that went bad had its juice soak all the way through the wood so there is an unsightly stain that can be seen from the inside and outside. Also, the wood is not finished so it is rough feeling. I dont think a product can get any worst than this.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SueSue2
New York
Posted November 19, 2011
Top 10 Contributor
I'm baffled
After all of the reviews, I don't understand why everyone doesn't oil their bowls regularly with food safe mineral oil, before and after use, and understand that the wood in this product is natural and will not be smooth unless lightly sanded or upon several uses. As an example Tguch used olive oil to season her bowl and was unhappy with the results, while, many others don't do a thing. If you go online there are several websites on how to season and care for wooden bowls. Obviously, Williams Sonoma should read these reviews and help their customers by adding directions.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SueSue2
,NY
New York
September 22, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautifully crafted
September 22, 2011
After much pondering, I splurged and bought the salad bowl set. They are beautifully crafted. Due to the mixed reviews, I immediately purchased food safe mineral oil and have oiled the bowls several times, even before using them for the 1st time, to make sure they last a very long time. The size and curve of the individual bowls adds pleasure and ease while enjoying salad (especially Ceasar). I'm looking forward to using them with company and plan on purchasing 2 more individual bowls.
Pros: Quality, Size, Design
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 6 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CarrieFromBrooklyn
Brooklyn, NY
August 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best piece of kitchen equipment EVER
August 19, 2011
This is hands down the best gift I received for my wedding six years ago. I still use it almost daily, and it looks more beautiful every time I do. I've purchased the same one for several friends, and my mother! Don't bother with the small bowls, the big one is all you need. You have to oil it, but it just takes a second.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Design
Review 7 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Debra2
Clearwater, Florida
April 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More information
April 8, 2011
It needs to be stated that these are "rustic" wooden bowls, unique in that they are not all alike. Also the instructions need to instruct one on the weekly oiling for the first month, and then monthly afterwards...and NO liquids. Mine are great and aging beautifully, but I used them as designed...for SALAD ONLY.
Pros: Personalization, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Strength, Design
Cons: High-Maintenance, lack of care instructions
Review 8 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ComfortGourmet
Erie, PA
June 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect rustic wooden bowls
June 4, 2010
These bowls (individual and serving bowl) were exactly what we wanted. They are well made bowls that have a very natural, rustic feel to them. Every bowl is not identical, which is one of the things we loved (but makes online ordering tough if you want some consistency). I apply mineral oil regularly, and they are darkening to a beautiful reddish brown color. I may take some sandpaper to a few that still seem rougher than some of our guests would like ;) Overall, I'd recommend them to anyone who isn't looking for a real formal style of bowl...
Review 9 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnneATL
Atlanta, GA
April 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great bowls!
April 24, 2010
I received both the large and small as wedding gifts. I have used the large several times -- treating it with mineral oil each time -- and it is wonderful. It is true that they are somewhat labor-intensive to care for, but this is true with all wooden bowls. I am so happy to have these to replace the old one that I hadn't read the care instructions for!
Review 10 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
blondethought
Kansas City
January 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful salad bowls
January 23, 2010
I actually bought the large and small bowl. I love them both and have received a lot of compliments on how pretty they are. Down side is the care needed. Hand wash and always wipe down with mineral oil. But still worth it!
Review 11 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mandykg
Chicato
December 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this bowl
December 14, 2009
I have had this salad bowl for about 12 years and I love it. I oil it about once a year and use it all the time!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Tguch
Boston, MA
Posted November 29, 2010
Cracks and falling apart
My sister and I both received the 13 3/4" salad bowl for Christmas several years ago and both of ours have fallen apart. Hers cracked down the middle and she had to throw it away. Mine has all the blocks coming apart on the top. We did hand wash it, and oiled it with olive oil.
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
shortstuff10s
Portland, OR
November 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Returned after 1 use
November 29, 2009
We received this beautiful bowl as a wedding gift and after one use, the wood split near the top and we returned it for credit. WS had excellent customer service but I agree with another reviewer who said the instructions should include additional details such as applying the mineral oil before the first use. It's such a shame because the bowl is gorgeous and exactly what we were looking for.
Review 13 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Martha24
Annapolis, MD
November 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
favorite salad bowl
November 23, 2009
I received this salad bowl as a gift about a year ago and I love it. I use it all the time (for salads) and it's still in perfect condition. I wash it with warm soapy water and occasionally rub with oil. There's really no need to submerge it or fill it with water/liquid.. it is a salad bowl after all. It looks great on the table and many of my friends and family have asked where they can get one of their own.
Review 14 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NorthernCalifornia4
California
September 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't last
September 14, 2009
After only two uses and hand washing, the wood is cracking. This is not worth the money.
Review 15 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Knev
Freeport, Bahamas
June 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not what I expected
June 21, 2009
I have only had the bowls a short time and the wood is separating so I cannot place anything liquid in them. They were smaller than I expected. I wouldnt recommend this product to anyone.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Debra2
Clearwater, Florida
Posted April 8, 2011
Not designed for liquid
These are SALAD bowls, not soup bowls, so you should not be putting liquid in them in the first place.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JXPNY
New York City
February 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Make sure to apply Mineral Oil
February 22, 2009
The bowl looked beautiful, but I after one use I washed it as per instructions warped and separated on me. This bowl requires a lot of mineral oil applications which the instructions do not emphasize. William Sonoma was great. replaced the item and gave proper instructions as to take care of this. I will give the new bowl a few more tries and reevaluate.
Review 17 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KimR
Providence, RI
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great - but one problem
February 5, 2009
I bought this bowl and the servers for my mother for Christmas. It is a beautiful set and she loved it and displayed it on our kitchen table with fruit in it. She only washed it once before the wood started peeling off and separating from the bowl. She called Wiliams Sonoma right away and they quickly sent her a replacement free of charge. I have no idea if this has happened to anyone else, but the great this is that Williams Sonoma has great customer service so you can always get a replacement.
Review 18 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WSFan2
new york
December 11, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointed
December 11, 2008
i just ordered this for my mom for her christmas present. i was very disappointed with the quality of the bowl. The wood looks like a mish mash of remnant wood put together in a bowl. there are knots everywhere. now i have to scramble to get another gift. this is such a disappointment.
Review 19 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Alox
Houston
December 9, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Little Disappointed
December 9, 2008
I just got the set with the servers and I am not keen on the quality. 'They are very rough; I will keep applying mineral oil. I bought the tulip shaped wooden bowls for my daughter-in-law a few years ago, which are much nicer, IMO.
Review 20 for Cherry Wood Salad Bowls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zazen
San Antonio, TX
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classy, Functional
September 3, 2008
These elegantly shaped bowls have been terrific for summer chopped salads. The individual bowls are just the right size for single servings; the large serving bowl is not so deep that salad disappears to the bottom. The finish was rougher than I expected, however, and required several applications of food-grade mineral oil over about 2 weeks.
page1 2 next