Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker

Chuck Williams' favorite method of brewing coffee, the Chemex coffeemaker is an elegant, one-piece vessel made of high quality, heat-resistant glass. This simple, reliable method of making coffee yields a full-flavored, clean-tasting brew using Chemex unbleached filter squares (sold separately). The Chemex coffee maker has been brewing clear, pure, flavorful coffee without bitterness or sediment for over forty years and remains one of the purest methods of brewing. Coffee can be made at the preferred strength. Simple to use: Place grounds in the cone-shaped filter at the top and pour hot water over them. The polished wood collar and leather tie serves as an insulated handle. Made in Taiwan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
Review 1 for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katehk
,Seattle
,WA
November 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best cup of coffee
November 20, 2014
when we moved to Seattle we were looking for a "good " machine to replace the mr. Coffee we used in business school and everything pointed us to the chemex.
It truly makes the best drip coffee out there.
At one time we thought it would be nice to have a machine we could set the night before. We spent about $450 on a machine with a built-in burr grinder and timer that got excellent reviews. The coffee didn't come close to comparing to the chemex. The fancy machine was returned and back out came the chemex. We have an espresso machine for weekend lattes, but I'll never use anything other than the chemex for drip coffee and I actually love the morning routine of making it.
I've broken 2 over the course of 9 years and have had the third for about 4 years. You will periodically hit it in just the wrong spot and break it, but a few of these are still way cheaper than fancy machines.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 2 for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coconut64
,Hamburg
,PA
October 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING CUP OF COFFEE
October 28, 2014
I picked up the Chemex 6-cup coffee maker the other day when I pretty much was frustrated with trying to clean a standard electric single-cup coffee maker. It seemed like i couldn't get it clean enough. I did some research and came across Chemex and thought I'd give it a try. WOW!!! NEVER have I ever made a cup of coffee that fit the description of the blend. The blend i am using now is described as "mellow and soft", and that's exactly how I would describe it! The Chemex brings the flavor out to perfection! If you are someone who enjoys a great cup of coffee, you won't be disappointed. I think in this day and age, we all get caught up in convenience and "settle" for the flavor produced by other coffee makers and convenience store coffee which is usually "hit or miss" as far as flavor goes. After using Chemex, it's going to be hard to ever drink coffee brewed any other way!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: none
Review 3 for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
choochee
,San Diego
,CA
San Diego, CA
August 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use, great coffee
August 10, 2014
I received my Chemex and filters about a week ago and was a little hesitant to try it since I've never been able to make good coffee. But, I just followed the directions and actually ended up with a delicious cup of coffee. It was much easier than with my old French press and the cleanup is a breeze. I am very pleased with my Chemex and, as a bonus, it is a very attractive design.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, delicious coffee
Review 4 for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marcela
,Fort Belvoir
,VA
February 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best brewing method
February 28, 2014
I gave this to my husband for Christmas, and the gift turn out to be for me, too. The Chemex is a great vessel for extracting the delicate flavors of my husband's home roasted coffees. In fact, our poor french press is now collecting dust in one of the kitsch cabinets. Highly recommend this! Make sure to get the Chemex filters too, don't use this with any old filter! :-)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 5 for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MichaelWise
,Salt Lake City
,UT
Salt Lake City, UT
October 7, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Replacing a Chemex is sad...
October 7, 2013
The last time I had to replace a Chemex, it took several weeks with no backup for coffee-making, not even a stove-top espresso maker. That was ordering it the next day, directly from Chemex. I joked that coffee dwarves were involved in the making of my Handblown Coffee Maker.
That Coffee Maker broke recently, falling from a shelf it should never have been stored on in the first place. Luckily, a replacement was readily available from Williams-Sonoma. The price was affordable, and the 8-cup suits my needs better than the larger one did.
The great thing about a Chemex over similar devices like the French Press is that it's so easy to maintain. Throw away the filter, and rinse the coffee maker. Cleaning a French Press involved washing out the grinds and disposing of them, as well as a full soap and water to remove the residual oil. Making great coffee shouldn't be a hassle, and never is with the Chemex.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 6 for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cucuzzo
September 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple Design- Great Results
September 20, 2013
Coffee making has been elevated to a whole other level both at home and in cafes. It speaks volumes that there is renewed interest in this simple product that was invented over 70 years ago. If you pay attention to the grind, the water temperature and the amount of coffee you put into the "basket", you can make excellent coffee consistently. Of course some coffees and blends better lend themselves to this pour over method. I prefer your Latin American full bodied darker roasts, just my taste though. I remember these things from the early 70s and it' amazing to see them popping up everywhere again. It's a testament to its design, functionality and the excellent coffee you can make in it for a very small investment. It is easy to break so don't bang it around. Also A brush is useful in cleaning in the bottom of it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 7 for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AbbieW
,Astoria
,NY
September 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Highly Recommended
September 4, 2012
My husband and I love this coffee maker. We just downsized to a much smaller kitchen and had to get rid of our large 1 cup coffee maker, and decided to go with this per my sister's recommendation. It's simple to use and make excellent coffee every time. It takes up a very small amount of space, and actually looks quite stylish left on our stove top.
The only con I could see with this item is it's fragility. Seeing as how it's entirely made of glass, I imagine it could break easily. But so far, I've had no problems with that and I'm about as clumsy as a person gets.
Overall, highly recommended for a small, easy to use, energy efficient coffee maker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Cons: Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
Posted July 27, 2013
I DON'T THINK SO
I 've owned several Chemex carafes (in different sizes) for 30+ years. They are crafted from extra thick heatproof glass, and I have never broken one. They are not anywhere near as fragile as the glass carafes that come with electric coffeemakers. Fragility has never been a concern to me.
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jhengis
August 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
2of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointing flavor
August 28, 2012
I bought this to have filtered coffee since the unfiltered coffee from my wonderful French press has been shown to raise levels of LDL. For me, the flavor was a major disappointment even though I use quality beans and grinder. The flavor is very smooth but incomplete. So I use a Braun electric now ("robust" setting) and savor the press coffee only on weekends.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
JasonW
Northglenn, CO
Posted December 12, 2013
Alternative to paper filters
Paper filters do trap the oils that help define brewing methods like the French Press. An alternative is to use a Coava Kone stainless steel "filter", which is made of finely perforated stainless steel, formed into a cone shape, which fits perfectly into the Chemex.. It's a bit expensive up front, but if properly cared for, will probably never need replacement. Plus, it's absolutely hygienic - no manufacturing residue to affect taste or health, as could be the case with paper filters. Very easy to clean, and no waste. Williams-Sonoma used to sell this, but no longer seems to. Designed and made in the USA, like the Chemex.
0points
Customer avatar
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
Posted July 27, 2013
HERE'S HOW TO DO IT
The robust setting is merely "stronger" coffee achieved in the Braun by keeping the hot water in contact with the coffee grounds longer (by slowing the rate at which the water flows thru). If you want to similarly extract more flavor and strength in the Chemex, you can, as the instructions advise, first soak the coffee with only part of the heated water and wait before adding the rest. The rate at which you add it is up to you, since its a manual pour thru.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MontclairPat
,Upper Montclair
,NJ
August 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easiest and Most Flavorful Coffee
August 7, 2012
I purchased this product about a month ago after becoming frustrated with so many other coffee systems. This is one of easiest I have ever tried and the coffee tastes divine!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Quiet
Review 10 for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StratusChef
,New Waverly
,TX
July 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely the best brewing system hands down
July 13, 2012
I have brewed with Chemex coffee makers for years. It makes the best coffee possible. The secret is the filters. They are heavier than normal coffee filters which allows for an expresso grind with a longer brewing time.
This product works great with a Breville hot water heater with temperature control.
The one negative is the maker can break easily if it tips over and hits the rim of the funnel.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 11 for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laeva
,Manassas
,VA
April 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Chemex Coffee Maker
April 25, 2012
I own a Chemex for many years and just bought one for my mother for Mothers Day. Its very easy to use and to wash.
I own a regular electric coffee maker, but some days i just want something quick and easy just for myself.
When you are not using for coffee you can serve water or juice for your guest.
Great product
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 12 for Chemex Wood Collar Glass Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TrueBlueUKY
,Cincinnnati
,OH
February 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it!!!
February 3, 2012
I have loved coffee for as long as I can remember. A few years ago I was introduced to the french press, which quickly became my primary way of making coffee. I received a gift card for W-S and while looking around online I stumbled upon this system. While I still use my press occassionally, I got tired of all the grounds in the bottom of my cup. This does not have that issue at all. The coffee can be brewed as strong as you like and truly takes no more time than my press. I do not recommend using any other type of filter, they are not strong enough. If you need a quick fix, use the triangle style and double up so they don't break. It is a really good idea to get a carafe/thermos to keep it hot if you don't intend to drink it soon after brewing.
I highly, highly recommend this product to anyone who desires coffee without the drip machines. I always wait for it to cool before rinsing/cleaning
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design