Chef'sChoice Pronto Manual Asian Knife Sharpener

This is the fastest two-stage manual sharpener for Asian double bevel knives on the market today. In a minute, it puts a durable 15-degree, razor-sharp arch-shaped edge on straight and serrated Asian-style blades. Manual two-stage sharpener for santokus and other double-bevel Asian-style knives. Criss-Cross technology uses 100% diamond abrasive wheels that sharpen simultaneously "into" and "out of" the knife edge, for a burr-free edge with lots of bite. Compact size stores away in a drawer. Soft-touch handle for easy, secure grip. Assembled in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chef'sChoice Pronto Manual Asian Knife Sharpener
Review 1 for Chef'sChoice Pronto Manual Asian Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
choochee
,San Diego
,CA
San Diego, CA
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Effective
January 26, 2012
I have a beautiful Shun Santoku knife that I am embarrassed to admit has not been sharpened since I bought it over a year ago. I saw this knife sharpener on the W-S website and thought I'd give it a try. It arrived today and it works!!! Not only is it easy to use, but it's a very effective and inexpensive way to keep my wonderful knife sharp. The directions (included in the packaging) are simple and easy to follow. I'm very pleased with my new purchase and plan to use it once or twice a week to keep my knife in good shape for many years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, effective
Review 2 for Chef'sChoice Pronto Manual Asian Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefChad
November 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth every penny
November 4, 2011
I purchased this along with my Shun knife so that I could keep it factory sharp. Well, as odd as this may sound, it has done even better than that by superseding the sharpness that it came in the box. Don't get me wrong, my Shun knife was insanely sharp, but somehow this sharpener made it even sharper!!. I use my knife daily and this sharpener once a week. It's so easy to use and makes my knife unbelievably sharp every time. Whenever a guest uses my knife they are amazed at how sharp it is. Best money I've spent on maintaining my knife and I would recommend to everyone.
I will say that this will leave markings on the side of your knife edge due to it being passed over the diamond honers.
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Chef'sChoice Pronto Manual Asian Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YiFe
Astoria, NY
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ideal for Asian knives
January 27, 2011
I used this to sharpen a set of Shun Kaji knives (15-16 degree blade angle).
It evenly sharpened the blades, and the 2nd stage gives the edge a polished look. This saves the shipping and time of sending it back to Shun for sharpening.
The horning stage also works for serrated blades like bread knife.
It also fits other brand's Santoku knives. Well worth the investment.
Review 4 for Chef'sChoice Pronto Manual Asian Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dantheman1
Penn Valley, California
January 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great tool
January 24, 2011
This sharpener does a much better job than the Wusthof unit that it replaces. The edge is super sharp and my wife loves it.
Review 5 for Chef'sChoice Pronto Manual Asian Knife Sharpener
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
StillDull
Orlando, Fl.
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What you pay for...
January 23, 2011
I had high hopes for this sharpener but it's average at best.
Only moderately sharpens the knife and since it comes with NO instructions, there's no way to determine if I'm maximizing it's potential.
Glad is was less than $30...as noted...I've received what I paid for.
Review 6 for Chef'sChoice Pronto Manual Asian Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gemmich
DuPage County, IL
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
January 18, 2011
I recently upgraded my kitchen knives to Asian style knives. I couldn't use the sharpener I had because it was designed for Western style knives. I thought I would have to pay someone to sharpen my knives. Then I saw this product on the Williams-Sonoma website and decided to try it. I'm very pleased. This sharpener puts an incredibly sharp edge on Asian knives with a minimum of effort.
Review 7 for Chef'sChoice Pronto Manual Asian Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dblue40
Mason, MI
January 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Asian Knife Sharpener
January 13, 2011
I purchased this sharpener to use with my Shun knifes. This is a great sharpener and put an edge back on my knifes that was as good as a factory finish.
Review 8 for Chef'sChoice Pronto Manual Asian Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Treaty
Mn
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy And Great
December 30, 2010
Loved it and it works well. Small and easy to store