Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener

Sharpen your German and Asian cutlery with a single easy-to-use appliance. Exclusive to Williams-Sonoma, this versatile sharpener sets a razor-sharp edge on any knife, including santoku, straight-edged, serrated and single-bevel blades as well as cleavers and pocket knives. Sharpens any knife, including santoku, straight-edged, serrated and single-bevel blades as well as cleavers and pocket knives. Two separate diamond-abrasive slots sharpen and hone German knives at a 20-degree angle, Asian knives at a 15-degree angle. Third slot holds a polishing disk that smooths and sharpens the edge. Durable brushed-stainless-steel exterior. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
Review 1 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitchenGeek
,River Forest
,IL
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Two thumbs up!
February 12, 2013
I've used this to sharpen all my knives, from a small paring knife to a large chef's knife. Super easy to use, and I think my knives are even sharper than when they were brand new! Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 2 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefmmnyc
,ny
,ny
February 5, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Sharpener..
February 5, 2013
I hate to admit it, but with the few knives I've tried it has been amazing. I have top quality knives. I am a chef. This is Fast.. Simple,.. and the knives emerge sharp. I never wanted to admit to using an electric sharpener. But sometimes time is of the essence and the wetstone just takes too long. I have never been able to get such a sharp edge just with my stone itself in such a short amount of time. Its quick and it does a great job. I haven't tried my japanese knives on it yet, but I expect it will work out well. So far it has been a great investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 3 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kangofumarsha
,Brooklyn
,NY
Brooklyn, NY
July 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A present for my knives
July 31, 2012
I recently made an investment in some very expensive knives. I want to keep these knives as sharp as possible and Lo and behold, I found the Chef's Choice 1520. Not only does the knife sharpener keep my new knives sharp, but it also puts a 'like new' sharp edge on my old knives. The great thing about this piece of equipment, is that the sharpener can sharpen both Asian and Europen knives, as well as serrated knives. What more can I ask for? This is a great piece of equipment that belongs in every kitchen.
Make sure to read the instructions and follow them carefully. You will be amazed!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 4 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
Texas
May 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do It Yourself Perfection
May 2, 2012
I bought one of these at WS when they were first introduced more than 25 years ago. I used it weekly up to last week when I traded up to this one so I could also keep my Asian knives in top condition also. I never had a moment's trouble with the original one and this one sharpens as well, but with the versatility to sharpen both European and Asian knives. This eliminates the need to send my knives out for sharpening. This will pay for itself quickly by allowing you to sharpen your knives yourself.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
pinkmagnolia
Richmond, VA
Posted May 22, 2014
Can this sharpen all Asian knives?
Hi, do you know if this can sharpen all Asian knives? thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TinaLV
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Necessary Piece of Equipment for Every Kitchen
January 15, 2012
I own a set of European and Japanese knives that cost several thousand dollars each set. After a few years of normal use with regular honing, they just were not as sharp anymore. I was very nervous about tackling a whetstone, knowing the importance of maintaining the proper angle and patience required. After buying the Chef'sChoice 1520 sharpener, I wonder how any kitchen can function without it. I did a ton of research and wanted a sharpener that could sharpen both Eastern and Western style knives, but was wary about using an electric sharpener on my very expensive knives, thinking it may sharpen too aggressively. Not so. I read the earlier review about scratches on the side of the knives after sharpening, and I did not encounter that problem. I also wanted to see how well it worked on cheap knives that were retired and used to open boxes; this sharpener brought them back to life, creating a new, exquisite edge.
Buy this, you won't be disappointed. It's worth every penny.
Pros: Versatile, Durable, Easy to Use, Quality