Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener

Sharpen your German and Asian cutlery with a single easy-to-use appliance. Exclusive to Williams-Sonoma, this versatile sharpener sets a razor-sharp edge on any knife, including santoku, straight-edged, serrated and single-bevel blades as well as cleavers and pocket knives. Sharpens any knife, including santoku, straight-edged, serrated and single-bevel blades as well as cleavers and pocket knives. Two separate diamond-abrasive slots sharpen and hone German knives at a 20-degree angle, Asian knives at a 15-degree angle. Third slot holds a polishing disk that smooths and sharpens the edge. Durable brushed-stainless-steel exterior. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
Review 1 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitchenGeek
,River Forest
,IL
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Two thumbs up!
February 12, 2013
I've used this to sharpen all my knives, from a small paring knife to a large chef's knife. Super easy to use, and I think my knives are even sharper than when they were brand new! Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 2 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefmmnyc
,ny
,ny
February 5, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Sharpener..
February 5, 2013
I hate to admit it, but with the few knives I've tried it has been amazing. I have top quality knives. I am a chef. This is Fast.. Simple,.. and the knives emerge sharp. I never wanted to admit to using an electric sharpener. But sometimes time is of the essence and the wetstone just takes too long. I have never been able to get such a sharp edge just with my stone itself in such a short amount of time. Its quick and it does a great job. I haven't tried my japanese knives on it yet, but I expect it will work out well. So far it has been a great investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 3 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kangofumarsha
,Brooklyn
,NY
Brooklyn, NY
July 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A present for my knives
July 31, 2012
I recently made an investment in some very expensive knives. I want to keep these knives as sharp as possible and Lo and behold, I found the Chef's Choice 1520. Not only does the knife sharpener keep my new knives sharp, but it also puts a 'like new' sharp edge on my old knives. The great thing about this piece of equipment, is that the sharpener can sharpen both Asian and Europen knives, as well as serrated knives. What more can I ask for? This is a great piece of equipment that belongs in every kitchen.
Make sure to read the instructions and follow them carefully. You will be amazed!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 4 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
Texas
May 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do It Yourself Perfection
May 2, 2012
I bought one of these at WS when they were first introduced more than 25 years ago. I used it weekly up to last week when I traded up to this one so I could also keep my Asian knives in top condition also. I never had a moment's trouble with the original one and this one sharpens as well, but with the versatility to sharpen both European and Asian knives. This eliminates the need to send my knives out for sharpening. This will pay for itself quickly by allowing you to sharpen your knives yourself.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile
Review 5 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TinaLV
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Necessary Piece of Equipment for Every Kitchen
January 15, 2012
I own a set of European and Japanese knives that cost several thousand dollars each set. After a few years of normal use with regular honing, they just were not as sharp anymore. I was very nervous about tackling a whetstone, knowing the importance of maintaining the proper angle and patience required. After buying the Chef'sChoice 1520 sharpener, I wonder how any kitchen can function without it. I did a ton of research and wanted a sharpener that could sharpen both Eastern and Western style knives, but was wary about using an electric sharpener on my very expensive knives, thinking it may sharpen too aggressively. Not so. I read the earlier review about scratches on the side of the knives after sharpening, and I did not encounter that problem. I also wanted to see how well it worked on cheap knives that were retired and used to open boxes; this sharpener brought them back to life, creating a new, exquisite edge.
Buy this, you won't be disappointed. It's worth every penny.
Pros: Versatile, Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 6 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cjv1
,San Jose
,CA
November 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I was surprised.
November 27, 2011
I have used several sharpeners. Never really obtaining the results I desired. I tried the 1520 and was pleased. Caution, you must read the instructions prior to using.
The 1520 does an excellent job when instructions are followed, however I found I was able to obtain even a sharper blade if after I used the 1520 I followed it up with a couple of light swipes with a manual honing rod.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Review 7 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dave333
MI
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Scratched all my knives!
February 15, 2011
I just brought home a Chef's Choice 1520 and it does a great job at putting a new edge on but at the expense of the sides of the knife. It's completely scratched down the entire length on both sides. Sure it's only cosmetic but I'd rather not have a knife sharpened putting scratches down the sides of my hundred-dollar knives! Is this some sort of undocumented feature of the 1520?! I may be returning it soon. Are others seeing this too or did I get a bad unit.
Dave
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
PhillieFilly
California
Posted August 24, 2011
Top 25 Contributor
I am so sorry for you. I would feel the same as you if that happened to me. Scratching the sides of the knives is a common "side effect", no pun intended, of electric sharpeners in general. It is possible not to scratch the sides but it depends on the user, the width of the knife, the type of knife, etc.
0points
Customer avatar
certlady
Rochester Hills, MI
Posted May 1, 2011
Scratchy knife sharpener
Just came back from William-Sonoma Cutlery 101 and we were told that yes, it is common to scratch the side of the knife when you sharpen them since you are in essence grinding down the metal to sharpen the knives. An like we all said, I'd rather have a scratched knife that cuts well than a pretty shiny knife that can't cut anything.
Hope this helps.
0points
Customer avatar
Nickname2
Posted February 20, 2011
Scratches
Unfortunately electric knive sharpeners tend to produce scratches on the sides.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 8 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MattyMoo
Northern Virginia
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes knives better than new
January 28, 2011
Pricey? Yes.
But being able to sharpen Japanese, European/American, & serated knives all in 1 machine with simple 1-2-3 steps is worth it.
Took my 2 year old Henckels with would no longer cut through the skin of an onion without careful handling. Ran it through according to instructions and BAMN!!
Slices everything like butter now. Made me go right ahead and sharpen everything in my knife block.
If the motor and stones last, I'll have this till they ban electricity.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Prairies
Saskatoon, SK
Posted February 8, 2013
Good One
Great review. Laughed out loud at you last sentence
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TXHomechef
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome tool
January 11, 2011
This purchase saved me tousands...Several years ago I took the plunge and made the Huge investment on quality kitchen tools. Despite my best efforts with the sharpeing steel and almost obssesive concern over proper care and cleaning, my knives had lost their edges and I was considering taking another plunge. As a last ditch effort I purchased the 1520 sharpener. I chose it because of its ability to sharpen European and Asian knives. It is now my favorite kitchen item. My knives are like-new. Read the instructions carefully and you'll have great success.
Review 10 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lars
North Dakota
October 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Essential Equipment
October 4, 2009
I use this sharpener everyday. I use it instead of my honing steel, because it's faster and more accurate in keeping both my Asian and European knives razor sharp.
Review 11 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
coned
Clarksville, Texas
September 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So great a bought for second gift!
September 26, 2009
My son gave me the two slot knife sharpener two years ago. He "borrowed" it to sharpen his knives, and I decided to give him one for his birthday so I could get mine back. Got the three slot, and he loved it so much, I bought one for my brother for his birthday. They are a big hit in our family. So nice to always have a sharp knife.
Review 12 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dragonfly
Boston, MA
February 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Saved my knives
February 27, 2009
My very good set of knives had been sharpened by a "professional" who completely destroyed the edges. The Chef's Choice 1520 put completely new edges on and my knives are sharper than ever. You do need to read the manual carefully and I did start with an old knife I didn't care about-I had it figured out after that first knife.
Review 13 for Chef'sChoice 1520 Electric Knife Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
agreeson
Syracuse Utah
October 8, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I have sharp knives!
October 8, 2008
My kitchen knives have often been dull and remained dull until I could find a person who I trusted to sharpen them. No more looking. No more dull blades, either.
I have only used the sharpener on european style blades but the instructions were clear and the sharpener works a dream.