Chef'n Garlic Slicer

This clever tool's twist-top design thinly slices garlic cloves in seconds. Razor sharp stainless steel blades rest inside a compact plastic housing that holds up to two cloves at a time for speed and efficiency, without leaving garlic oils on your hands. Holds multiple cloves for quick and efficient slicing of whole garlic cloves. Thinly slices garlic to uniform width. Ergonomic shape is easy to grasp and twist. Stainless-steel blade; plastic casing. Top-rack dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
3.1 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
5 of 10(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chef'n Garlic Slicer
Review 1 for Chef'n Garlic Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beccak
,Fitzgerald
,Ga
March 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use
March 29, 2014
Just place the peeled cloves in and turn. It was very easy to clean and the slices came out perfectly. It's hard to slice garlic so thinly with a knife that close to your fingers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Chef'n Garlic Slicer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
InternationalFoodlover
,Dallas
,TX
December 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't even waste your time looking at it!
December 10, 2013
For years I owned a mini-mandolin style garlic slicer. I gave it to my stepdaughter when she said she loved it and hadn't been able to find it. (I was sure I could find another). After searching high and low I gave up and purchased this...it was a mistake.
I replaced it with one by Microplane that still doesn't live up to the reputation of the original.
I cannot believe ItalianCoffeeLover and I actually used the same product. I tried it several times before deciding it was useless.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 3 for Chef'n Garlic Slicer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wishitworked
,New York
,NY
US
November 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
use a knife instead
November 2, 2013
The slicer can only use half the clove as the part that presses the clove down misses the bottom by 1/2", so you have to peel twice as many cloves as you need and fish out the unused portions from the bottom of the reservoir. The slices are paper thin, so thin that they do not stand up to a quick hot sauté, which they would if they were thicker. It is kind of cute, but ultimately, a waste of time and money..
Cons: Temperamental, poor design
Review 4 for Chef'n Garlic Slicer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
brookfieldmom
,brookfield
,wi
October 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worthless and Ineffective
October 24, 2013
Put in two halved cloves of garlic and got exactly four slices out of it. Tried and tried to turn the top and nothing happened. Threw the whole thing in the garbage.
Cons: doesn't work
Review 5 for Chef'n Garlic Slicer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wezzy
,merritt island
,fl
August 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do not buy!
August 1, 2013
I just tried the slicer in place of my grater. This is the only product I have ever ordered from W S that was terrible and just plain doesn't work. The garlic kept getting caught up in the blades and would not cut. I fooled around with this for 30min while making homemade red sauce. I finally gave up and went to my hand grater and the knife! Returning and looking for a quality one for pizzas.
Cons: Difficult to Use, doesn't work
Review 6 for Chef'n Garlic Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
January 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for uniform slices
January 26, 2013
It's faster, easier and safer than using a knife and the slices are a lovely even thickness. Also it slices every bit of the garlic. I was worried that being in a hopper I'd have a stub of garlic left inside, but it's all gone. That's the good news.
Now the bad news. Large cloves of garlic need not apply. You can actually fit 2 small to medium size cloves, but that's it. Also, this isn't a gadget for anyone who is particular about having slices width-wise. Given the size and shape of the hopper, 9/10 you're going to get length-wise slices. Finally, as someone else mentioned quite often the very last slice you need to pull out - it won't fall out freely. But I find a quick turn in the opposite direction helps to loosen it. Same goes for washing up any stuck bits. All these things considered it was only worth knocking off 1 star as the convenience of the slicer out ways the negatives.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Size
Review 7 for Chef'n Garlic Slicer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JoJersey
,Toms River
,NJ
September 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's only OK
September 10, 2012
This does make nice even slices, however, you have to cut the cloves initially to get them to fit into the slicer in the first place and it doesn't hold much so you have to keep refilling. Plus clean up can be a pain as pieces get stuck in the blade. So while it cuts nicely, it's not really that great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Toko
chicago, illinois
Posted January 8, 2013
Chef'n Garlic Slicer
I totally agree with you. Nice & even slices which is what I need. I need to be able to do a large quantity cause I dehydrate them to make garlic powder. Had to cut to make them fit & only 2 at a time & then refill. The worst is it's not that easy to clean at all! Need to be able to take apart to clean the blades and all! Sorry, but dissappointed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Chef'n Garlic Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheryljm
,Yreka
,CA
June 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
garlic slicer
June 13, 2012
Great product! Easy to use and easy to clean. Can't go wrong.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 9 for Chef'n Garlic Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LisaD59
,New Fairfield
,CT
January 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Thin Garlic!!!
January 27, 2012
I bought this for my daughter because I have one and love it and she tells me that it is so great that she had to go out and buy more garlic because she has been cooking with it all the time now! My husband loves ours!
Pros: Accuracy, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Weight
Review 10 for Chef'n Garlic Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DLKNYC
,New York
,NY
New York, NY
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Handy Tool
January 2, 2012
This little garlic slicer works great. I used to use a small mandoline when I needed paper-thin slices of garlic. But this slicer is the easiest and most consistent slicer I've found.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use