This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Chef'n Cheese Slicer

This tool quickly and easily slices your favorite semisoft block cheese, allowing you to cut cleanly through an entire block of cheese without ending up with a wasteful "foot."Quickly slices semisoft block cheeses.Ideal for creating cheese platters, hors d'oeuvres and sandwiches.Easy to use with one hand.On-blade knob adjusts to three thicknesses.Stainless-steel blade.Comfortable rubber handle.Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
2.923 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
7 of 13(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
Review 1 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gigi123
,Seattle
,WA
April 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Terrible slicer
April 16, 2013
This cheese slicer is poorly engineered. It often comes apart in hard cheese making slices that can vary from 1/8 to a full inch. The blade is very dull. It will not cut through any rind. The cheese ALWAYS sticks to the blade requiring manual removal before making another slice. Nearly impossible to get a uniformly even slice.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 2 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mkeh
,Oakland
,CA
January 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
better to get cheaper wire slicers
January 10, 2013
We had this slicer for a couple of years and finally decided to throw it away - it was just cluttering our drawer. It doesn't work for cutting large or artisan cheeses. It also doesn't work if you want to have thin slices. And many times the part that holds the blade would separate so far from the part that holds the guide it was downright laughable...."slices" would be an inch thick! We decided it would be better to buy a handful of cheap wire cutters and just throw them away when the wires break.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental
Review 3 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MurrayR
Waukesha, WI
August 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
4of 12found this review helpful.
NOT what I expected
August 2, 2011
Please be aware, this does NOT cut lengthwise slices from a block of cheese, but chops off pieces from the end. We wanted a slicer that would cut slices through a block of cheese to make long thin slices for grilled cheese sandwiches. This slicer is not what we were looking for. It does a good job for what it was designed for, just not what we wanted.
Review 4 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alevan
Savage, MN
June 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Easy to Use
June 30, 2011
Very easy to use this cheese cutter. You get at least 3 thicknesses. It's nice that there is a blade and not a wire to deal with. t wouldn't be hard to cut strips or cubes. Great price. One negative is that it doesn't cut thin slices.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Review 5 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GBinSF
San Francisco, CA
June 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great for slicing cheddar
June 10, 2011
This is the first cheese slicer I've ever used that can cut an extra sharp cheddar without the cheese crumbling.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Review 6 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CheeseLovingFamily
Atlanta, GA
November 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
I like it a lot
November 29, 2010
I use this all the time. We buy block cheese instead of slices to save money, and it is SO useful in the morning when I'm half asleep and trying to whip up a sandwich for my son's bag lunch. Now I don't have to risk cutting off my fingers at 7am! This is by far my favorite cheese slicer I have ever owned. My only gripe is that it's hard to cut the larger blocks of cheese. You have to turn the block to slice it long-ways, but it's still doable.
Review 7 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maber
Dallas, Texas
October 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Does what it's supposed to
October 29, 2010
I don't buy artisan cheeses. I just buy regular cheese from the dairy section of whole foods, or from my local dairy. I have used this slicer on mozerella and hard cheddar with no problems. I love how easy it is to get uniform slices. I hate using a cheese slicer (like a wire one) because hard cheeses tend to break off before you get to the end of them, which just annoys me. This slices cleanly and evenly every time. If you are looking to slice a TON of cheese, this isn't the gadget for you, because it does require that you remove the cheese that usually sticks to the blade every time. But if you, like me, only need to slice enough cheese for kid's sandwiches, this is perfect and so much better than a cheese knife or wire slicer!
Review 8 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WeimsRKool
Arizona
August 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Better than a cheese knife
August 4, 2010
I needed something to slice perfect little squares of Ski Queen Gjetost.
There's a bit of trick to using this gadget. I went through about 2 blocks (8.8 oz) of cheese before I really had a firm handle on its use.
It's also helpful for a semi-soft cheese like this to be very cold. And *if* slices tend to stick to the blade, the tip of a knife will help to effortlessly and cleanly lift it off. Not a problem at all.
It's not perfect, but it gets the job done. It's much, much better than my expensive cheese knife. This gadget will be used frequently.
I should mention that it is not a gadget that you would just leave out for guests to self-serve. Kids would most likely not find it easy to conquer either.
3-1/4" is the maximum length of cheese the blade will handle. Gjetost blocks are about 2-1/2" across -- just to give you some idea.
I like it.
Review 9 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gocanes
Miami, FL
February 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Useless Gadget
February 19, 2010
Just doesn't cut cheese very well at all. There are only 2 adjustments you can make to cut cheese. Will stay in the bottom of my gadget drawer.
Review 10 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
marrie
Mitchell South Dakota
January 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Good for block cheese maybe.
January 31, 2010
I was disappointed. It sliced so so for small blocks of cheese but would be of no use for any artisan cheeses. The blade has a limited range of motion and the cheese sticks to the blade if you are slicing multiple pieces. I would not recommend this product. We buy a lot of artisan cheese and this is of no use to us.
Review 11 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HungryVet
Grand Rapids, MI
January 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Better than I expected
January 11, 2010
The knob for adjusting slice size is pretty useful, and the blade doesn't get bent out of shape like a wire cutter would. My only gripe is that cheese tends to gum up in the sliding mechanism, but since it's dishwasher-safe, this isn't really a sanitary concern so much as an aesthetic one.
Review 12 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sweetpastry89
Madison, WI
October 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
works but not well
October 29, 2009
I found it hard to try and use it to cut very thin slices. I liked how there was an adjuster on thickness though.
Review 13 for Chef'n Cheese Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MRSELC
South Gate, California
September 17, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great for my husband to use.
September 17, 2009
This has worked well for me and my husband . The One hand only use is necessay for my husband.