This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

DIY Cheese-Making Kits

With our DIY kits, it's easy to make all-natural ricotta, mozzarella, chevre, or queso fresco in less than an hour using basic kitchen equipment and milk from your local store. Your pure, flavorful and tender fresh-made cheeses will put their store-bought counterparts to shame. Enjoy the cheeses with garden-fresh fruits, roasted seasonal vegetables, or try them in your favorite recipes, from pastas, pizzas, tacos, and salads to dips and toppings for crostini. Mozzarella/Ricotta Kit: Use 1 gallon per batch of whatever milk you prefer-whole or low-fat, conventional or organic. Makes ten batches of ricotta or mozzarella, 1.5 to 2 lb. each. Goat Cheese Kit: You supply the goat's milk (2 quarts per batch; available at many grocery and health food stores); the kit contains everything else you need. Makes ten batches of fresh, tangy goat cheese (chevre), 4-6 oz. each. Quesco Fresco Kit: Use 1/2 gallon cow's milk (or a mixture of cow's and goat's milk) per batch-choose from whole or low-fat, conventional or organic. The kit supplies everything else you need. Makes ten wheels of queso fresco, 7 oz. each. All-natural ingredients; contains no preservatives or chemicals. Step-by-step instructions guide you through the cheese-making process. Customize your cheese with herbs, sun-dried tomatoes, red pepper flakes and other flavorful additions. Recipes included. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. UrbanCheesecraft discovered on Etsy: www.etsy.com/shop/urbancheesecraft Goat Cheese Kit includes: 4 oz. citric acid. 3 oz. cheese salt. Cooking thermometer. Fine cheesecloth. 2 food-grade polypropylene cheese molds. Instruction/recipe book. Mozzarella/Ricotta Kit includes: .2 oz. vegetarian rennet. 4 oz. citric acid. 3 oz. cheese salt. Cooking thermometer. Fine cheesecloth. Instruction/recipe book. Queso Fresco Kit includes: 3.7 oz citric acid. 3.7 oz cheese salt. Cooking thermometer. Fine cheesecloth. Traditional cheese mold. Instruction/recipe booklet.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
Review 1 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sahmofthree
Richmond, VA
December 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fun & Easy
December 5, 2012
I got this kit as a birthday present and have really enjoyed it. It's fairly easy to make ricotta and mozzarella, you just need to pay close attention to the thermometer. I have since bought a few of these and given them as gifts and everyone has enjoyed making their own cheeses!
Pros: Easy to Use, fun to make
Cons: no refill supplies available from w&s, only available online
Review 2 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jkonelll
October 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Tried once and failed
October 27, 2012
I went by the instructions exactly and used my digital thermometer but never got the curd. I used TJs organic whole milk. Any suggestions on the milk would be helpful.
Review 3 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lsoltis
,WV
October 21, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Homemade cheese
October 21, 2012
I ordered the Ricotta & Mozzarella kit. The instructions are very descriptive and really easy to follow. I made mozzarella the first time, and it turned out pretty good. The mozzarella does require some skill for the stretching & shaping, but this kit comes with plenty of supplies so I can practice!
Pros: clear instructions, good quality thermometer
Review 4 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MadameVi
,Harrisville
,RI
October 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Yummy Goodness!
October 4, 2012
I loved making home-made Mozzarella cheese! The cheese comes out very nice and the instructions are clear and easy to follow. The kit contains enough ingredients to make 12 batches of mozzarella and each batch makes about 4 store-bought size balls. I'll definitely get my money's worth out of this!
Pros: great product
Review 5 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kemorg
,Cheektowaga
,NY
September 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
So Wonderful, So Easy
September 30, 2012
I never thought I would be able to make my own cheese. Thank you for the wonderful directions and video. It was so easy and I feel like a rock star giving out my wonderful cheese. THANK YOU so much for taking the time to simplify the process and giving us a kit with everything we need.
Review 6 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ettas
August 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Goat cheese kit
August 20, 2012
I tried this twice but was very unsuccessful. I realize it could be the milk so I'm going to try again.
Review 7 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jed2
Boca Raton FL
August 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love this cheese!!
August 14, 2012
We always ejoy the fresh goat cheese we purchase in France and my husband was wishing for more. The kit was fantastic and very simple to use. The outcome was beyond my expectations and this will be a weekly item on our table. Thankyou again for a great product!
Pros: very straight forward directions
Review 8 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
batino
July 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Worth it But Requires Practice!
July 27, 2012
This is definitely a good value for the price- you can make 10 batches with each kit! It was surprisingly simple to make, however the instructions could definitely be clearer as far as what you're looking for. My first batch came out somewhere in between mozerella and ricotta! After doing it a couple times you learn what to look for. Also finding just pasturized milk instead of the ultra pasturized was a little challenging.
Review 9 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CurlyG
,WI
July 17, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Easy-Fun-Tastes Great
July 17, 2012
This was much easier than I thought it would be. Directions where easy to follow and the cheese tasted great with fresh chives from the garden added in. Make your own cheese - try this!!!!
Pros: easy and fun, add what you like for great flavor
Review 10 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
UnionCab26
,Madison
,WI
Madison, WI
June 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Good results
June 14, 2012
But be prepared to spend a good bit of time and a fairly messy clean-up after the fact.
Review 11 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wcolleen
,Portland
,Or
May 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
I love these cheese kits!
May 20, 2012
I received these kits as a gift and am now hooked on making cheese. It is so fun and easy. The cheese is so fresh and much better than store bought. I plan to give these kits as my "go to" gift from now on!
Review 12 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
can2
,roberts
,id
April 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
making mozz
April 25, 2012
All you need is in the kit, the only thing that is not good is the puny little thermometer. A digital thermometer would be better. The enclosed one wouldn't calibrate ended up using a digital one. Some of the instruction is not descriptive enough. Upon making more batches I am sure I will get better. Learned that the temperature is VERY important
Cons: bad thermometer, need to tell the yield on 1 or 2 gallons milk
Review 13 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EricaSF
,San Francisco
,Ca
April 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great results and surprisingly easy
April 25, 2012
I purchased the goat cheese kit and it was incredibly easy. I purchased the goat milk from Whole Foods (accidentally bought cultured, but it turned out fine). The goat cheese was creamy and delicious. Rave reviews!
Review 14 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cjbuckaroo
,Kingston
,Wa
April 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
It's so easy being cheesy
April 24, 2012
This is a great starter kit, the mozzarella took about 20 minutes from start to finish and turned out fantastic. Photos would have been helpful to show the stretching technique. The ricotta is pretty straight forward and is fantastic. I will never have to buy store bought again.
Review 15 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cayucos
,Cayucos
,Ca
April 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Best Goat Cheese Ever
April 23, 2012
The goat cheese is FABULOUS! I used 1/2 goats milk 1/2 regular so it was not so tart and added fresh minced chives from my garden at the end. A couple of friends were over for wine so we had the cheese warm on sliced baguette. We all thought we died and went to heaven. The description does not say but I was pleased to find out the supplies in the kit will make at least 10 batches of cheese so well worth the investment. One note of caution the thermometer that came with my kit was not accurate so I used my own - no big deal.
Pros: easy tasty good value
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ninarhoz
chicago
Posted April 27, 2012
calibrate the thermometer
Howdy! You can totally calibrate the thermometer that came with the kit. That little blue plastic sheath is a hex screwdriver. Just poke the thermometer through the horizontal hole not the storage part of the sheath) until it snaps on the back of the nut of the thermometer. Then you can twist the nut. It's best to do this with boiling water, since you know that water is 212F. Just twist till it matches and VOILA! Calibrated thermometer!
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for DIY Cheese-Making Kits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ARTexas
,Dallas
,TX
April 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+17points
17of 17found this review helpful.
Wonderful!
April 15, 2012
This kit has everything you need to make great cheese at home! The instructions were very easy to follow and it tasted wonderful. So easy and so quick! You will not be disappointed! One thing the instructions do not say, but I recommend is to put your finished cheese in an ice bath for a few minutes to make sure the cheese stays in the shape you want.