DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit

With our DIY kit, it's easy to make your own all-natural ricotta and mozzarella in less than an hour using basic kitchen equipment and milk from your local store. Your pure, flavorful and tender fresh-made cheeses will put their store-bought counterparts to shame. Enjoy the mozzarella with garden-fresh tomatoes and fresh basil, use the ricotta in dips and toppings for crostini, and incorporate both into your favorite recipes, from lasagna and pastas to pizzas and salads. Uses 1 gallon per batch of whatever milk you prefer-whole or low-fat, conventional or organic. Makes ten batches of ricotta or mozzarella, 1.5 to 2 lb. each. All-natural ingredients; contains no preservatives or chemicals. Step-by-step instructions guide you through the cheese-making process. Customize your cheese with herbs, sun-dried tomatoes, red pepper flakes and other flavorful additions. Recipes included. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. Kit includes: .2 oz. vegetarian rennet. 4 oz. citric acid. 3 oz. cheese salt. Cooking thermometer. Fine cheesecloth. Instruction/recipe book.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
Review 1 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bigbayred
,Syracuse
,NY
October 11, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An issue with provided instructions
October 11, 2014
I am glad I bought this kit, all you need in one little bundle. But, I feel that the instructions included are inaccurate. I used fresh milk, but it never set into curds, So, after throwing away $7 worth of milk...I read several cheesemaking websites. Using the same milk, I followed instructions from a cheese making supply company's website (they are located in Mass). And it curded! It was amazing. It was mozzarella! I suggest WS contacts urbancheesecraft about revising instructions (mainly, take pot off heat to add rennet, cover, let sit for 5 minutes, off the heat). Otherwise, it will be a waste of money and frustration vs. the fun, messy and amazing results I experienced today!
Pros: material, Assembly
Cons: instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gisanrd
,NE
May 20, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun, Easy and Tasty!
May 20, 2014
Really enjoyed this kit and love making mozzarella. First batch was perfect and everyone since has been just the same.
Would highly recommend getting gloves and using that method, the spoon method is cumbersome.
Fun activity for everyone in the family. Recommend making pizza after, great way to use the cheese!
Recommend using a strainer to gather all the cheese, slotted spoon is ok, but we use a mesh strainer the second time and got everything in about 3-4 times.
Review 3 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BiscardiCreative
,Buford
,GA
October 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+16points
17of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and fun to make!
October 13, 2013
My wife and I were inspired by a recent visit to an Italian restaurant that served mozzarella cheese made in the restaurant. Online recipes were a bit daunting and required up to 4 hours to complete. This kit seemed tailor made to introduce us to the process and the instructions made it incredibly easy. Good fun to do with kids, especially the quick transformation after you add the Rennet.
About 90 minutes from start to finish for the mozzarella. The last part with the heating and stretching took a little figuring out and once I had the shape I did one more 20 second microwave and it came out the perfect ball of cheese. Wrap it up tight in plastic and put into fridge to let set.
I did not add the total amount of salt in the recipe to the mozzarella but I should have as it needed a bit more, we just sprinkled more on each slice.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 4 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CoolLanie
,Cool
,Ca
September 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty cheese
September 18, 2013
It was a fun morning of tasty cheese making. The cheese was good. I was a bit nervous because there are no pictures to illustrate what to expect, but it turned out okay anyway.
The cheesecloth did not launder well was the only disappointment.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Difficult to Clean, instructions
Review 5 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
panamanorthchef
,Panama City
,FL
August 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Starter Kit
August 22, 2013
This cheesemaking kit contains everything you need to attempt making cheese.
Making ricotta is easiest; mottzarella a bit more challenging and takes practice.
If the results are not perfect the first time.....the cheese is still edible and superior to most store-bought products.
Review 6 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ellie270
,San Diego
,CA
August 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy to make and delicious
August 14, 2013
Make the ricotta frequently, The kit is complete with all you need to make your own cheese, just buy the milk. The recipe is easy to follow and the cheese taste so delicious especially when your favorite herbs are added.
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 7 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wcolleen
,Tualtatin
,Or
August 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I made Mozzarella!
August 14, 2013
I have made so many batches of Mozzarella that I have become an expert! It is so fun to add herbs and I love adding red pepper flakes. I can make the texture soft or more firm for slicing now that I have practiced so many times. Very fun and yummy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Appearance, Versatile, Design
Review 8 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bursevich
,Weston
,fl
August 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fresh Mozzarella
August 12, 2013
Don't be intimidated by the detailed instructions. It was easy to make and came out delicious. Don't stretch or handle the mozzarella too much or it will get hard. My only criticism is that the thermometer included in the kit was not accurate at all. Better to use a digital kitchen thermometer.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: thermometer
Review 9 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Plano
,TX
July 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really cool
July 16, 2013
I have made ricotta several times before, but between the clear instructions and the tightly-woven cheesecloth, I had great results. And i couldn't believe how easy the mozzarella was! I will be giving this as a gift repeatedly. One of the other reviewers mentioned that the thermometer was low quality, and it is. Kinda cheesy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 10 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FlyingPigFarm
,Napa
,CA
July 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointing Mozarella
July 10, 2013
I really wanted to like this product, but it is sadly below Williams-Sonoma standards. I had envisioned making creamy Mozzarella for Caprese salads, but instead I had two batches resulting in hard, tasteless blobs. Firstly, it takes an entire gallon of milk. Then the directions are unnecessarily wordy and complicated. The instructions seem to imply that precise temperatures are needed, but the supplied thermometer is a cheap, slow response, hard to read small dial. It takes about an hour with cooking and cleanup of all the utensils. I tried both the microwave and water bath methods, and both times the result was very disappointing. Certainly not for fresh eating, maybe for melting in lasagna, but why bother when you can buy a superior product in any grocery store.
Cons: Quality, instructions, High-Maintenance
Review 11 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
53karen
,Pensacola
,FL
April 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This cheese making kit is Awesome
April 30, 2013
I have always wanted to make my own homemade mozzarella and ricotta cheese. I will be purchasing this kit again for more batches of cheese.
Pros: easy to understand instructions.
Review 12 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karmen
,Milwaukee
,WI
April 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING is an understatement
April 21, 2013
I bought this kit because my boyfriend and I wanted to go to a cheese making class but they were always extremely expensive! So i found this kit on the website and we just made our first batch of mozzarella and it came out delicious! It was extremely easy to follow directions and took us only about an hour tops. We used a local whole milk *from WI of course* that they sell in the normal grocery store. Next time we are going to try and add our own herbs and spices, but for our first cheese i think we did quite well! Also make sure that you have a slotted spoon you will need it! Oh yeah, and it makes a lot of cheese which one batch (about a pound) lasts up to one week in your fridge!
Pros: good cheese, easy to understand directions, easy and quick
Review 13 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CherriB
,Fayetteville
,NC
March 15, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smaller than what I expected.
March 15, 2013
Packages were smaller than what I expected but overall a great product. I am glad I ordered two kits because my children have already used up one.
Review 14 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ozzy
,new orleans
,la
March 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Motz/ricotta cheese kit
March 13, 2013
My wife is lactose intolerant so I tried making these two cheeses with Lactaid milk. The ricotta turned out great. Much better than store bought...a very fresh taste. The Mozzerella was not as good, however it was probably because I had to use ultr pasturized milk which they recommend not using. It was ok, but not the same as what you buy at the store. Overal, I will use this again and would recommend it .
Review 15 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
elkinger
January 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great fresh mozzarella
January 26, 2013
Followed directions and turned out perfectly. Recommend first time having a partner to help - there are several detailed oriented steps which are time sensitive. I made a batch of plain mozzarella and it was delicious - especially when immediately finished.
Review 16 for DIY Mozzarella/Ricotta Cheese-Making Kit
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jay20
,CA
December 26, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
11of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Missing Components
December 26, 2012
I was so excited to receive this as a gift, but the tablets needed for making mozzarella are not in the box. Since I can't exchange it in the store (internet only item) and wasn't given the packing slip, I went ahead and used it for ricotta which turned out great.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cheese1
New York
Posted January 2, 2013
also missing the rennet
I too was given this kit as a gift and was surprised to find the rennet tabs missing! Too bad. I called WS and they are sending me a new kit. Hopefully this one will have the rennet!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)