DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit

Take pride in crafting your own fresh, natural goat cheese (chevre) with a light, creamy texture and delicate tangy flavor that far surpasses any of the mass-produced store-bought varieties. You supply fresh milk and a few basic kitchen utensils-our kit contains everything else you need to make the cheese in less than an hour. Use the included molds to shape your cheese, or hand roll into small logs and cover with chopped herbs. Enjoy the cheese as an appetizer, fresh or baked, with a selection of fruit and artisan bread, or try it in your favorite recipes, from salads, pastas and pizza to savory tarts, frittatas and panini. Uses 2 quarts per batch of goat's milk, available at many grocery and health food stores. Makes ten batches of fresh, tangy goat cheese (chevre), 4-6 oz. each. All-natural ingredients; contains no preservatives or chemicals. Step-by-step instructions guide you through the cheese-making process. Customize your cheese with herbs, spices, sun-dried tomatoes, red pepper flakes and other flavorful additions. Recipes included. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. Kit includes: 4 oz. citric acid. 3 oz. cheese salt. Cooking thermometer. Fine cheesecloth. 2 food-grade polypropylene cheese molds. Instruction/recipe book.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
6 of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit
Review 1 for DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CarolPV
,Hollis
,NH
February 10, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Didn't work for me
February 10, 2014
I was very disappointed in this kit! I bought it for us as a Christmas present, as something fun to do. We followed the instructions exactly and the goat milk never coagulated. I lost track of time but we probably kept the milk at the correct temperature for 20 minutes. At $9 for the goat milk I probably won't try it again. I should have looked at more reviews before I bought this.
Cons: Quality
Review 2 for DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iwanttobeafarmer
,redding
,ct
December 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun experiment
December 28, 2013
I just tried my DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit and was pleasantly surprised! I was a little concerned at first because I heated the fresh, raw goat's milk to the specified temperature and did not see any coagulation. I decided to cook it just another minute longer (still not allowing it to boil) and let it sit for the specified time. Upon pouring it into the cheesecloth- lined colander I had cheese! Thanks!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 3 for DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoniquesKitchen
,El Cajon
,CA
August 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious cheese and great kit!
August 16, 2013
I have used this kit to make all kinds of chevre, copying flavors I find at my local cheese shop (very expensive chevre!). All have been delicious and so easy to make.
The instructions clearly tell you that ultra-pasteurized milk won't work so maybe some of you have bad milk? I found mine at Trader Joes. I also tried the recipe with regular cow's milk and it worked great!
I am delighted with this adorable kit and I will be buying many more this holiday season... but first, I will try the feta kit for myself!
Pros: Appearance, Versatile, Design
Review 4 for DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LUPIS
,San Diego
,Ca
August 15, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING
August 15, 2013
Two things: I'm neither experienced with high quality cheeses, nor a person who likes to ask for help, so this cheese kit was like the perfect thing to have.
There's not much to add here...this is plain and simply a perfect cheese kit, easy to make and if you get creative by adding any of your favorite herbs the results are amazing.
Can I just say...absolutely delicious?! I loooove this cheeeese!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Cons: materials
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wcolleen
,Tualatin
,Or
August 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Creamy Chevre!
August 14, 2013
I love that I can make cheese! I had to search a bit for goats milk that was not ultra pasteurized but once I did I was able to make beautiful little wheels of goat cheese. My friends are in awe!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Appearance, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LBYork
,Leander
,TX
July 17, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Delicious
July 17, 2013
This kit made the making of goat cheese simple. Worked the very first time but found making a double batch works better than the single batch. Used Ultra Pasteurized goat milk and doesn't have quite the same tang typical of goat cheese and this is probably due to the pasteurization process. Next batch will be with raw goat's milk if I can find some.
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 7 for DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mommiesbaby
,Lima
,OH
Cridersville, OH
June 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointment
June 29, 2013
I was excited to give this to my husband as a gift, but after we spent $10.00 on goat's milk and did not get the coagulation after one hour we continued to cook (not boil) for a couple more hours. $10.00 gone, no cheese. What a disappointment and waste of time. Another reviewer said she had a 50/50 success rate, but who wants to spend that much money on goat's milk for a 50% chance of getting cheese?
Cons: Quality
Review 8 for DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Emmmy
,Baraboo
,WI
May 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not so good
May 2, 2013
Easy to use - when it works. I have had a 50% success rate. Just does not curdle reliably. The thermometer is unreliable and cheap. I use a good instant read.
When it works - with fresh herbs - is great.
Review 9 for DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vincenzo
,Ca
April 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing like fresh CHEESE!
April 13, 2013
I love this kit!
It is a value since it makes 10 batches.... All you need is fresh milk and an hour for the freshest cheese ever!
My guests could not believe that I made the cheese. I can't wait to try the other kits too!
Pros: value, easy to make, great for entertaining, great hostess gift
Review 10 for DIY Goat/Chevre Cheese-Making Kit
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Naturals
,Bandon
,OR
Bend, Oregon
March 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
March 14, 2013
This little kit is overpirced. It contains about $10 worth of supplies.
Pros: contains everything your need
Cons: overpiced