Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

DIY Feta Cheese-Making Kit

Make fresh, all-natural feta cheese in one week with our easy-to-use DIY kit. You supply fresh milk and a few basic kitchen utensils-the kit contains everything else you need. The flavor and texture of your homemade cheese will far surpass any store-bought varieties. Enjoy the deliciously tangy, salty and crumbly feta in salads with garden-fresh fruits and vegetables, marinated with olive oil and flavorful seasonings and in savory recipes from spanakopita and baked eggplant to pastas and frittatas. Uses 1 gallon per batch of whatever milk you prefer (cow's milk or goat's milk, whole or low-fat, conventional or organic). Makes 10 batches of Feta, 1 - 11/2 lb. each (depending on type of milk used). All-natural ingredients; contains no preservatives or chemicals. Step-by-step instructions guide you through the cheese-making process. Customize your cheese with herbs, spices, red pepper flakes and other flavorful additions. Recipes included. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. Kit includes: Vegetarian rennet. Cheese salt. Cooking thermometer. Fine cheesecloth. Instruction/recipe booklet.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
2 of 4(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for DIY Feta Cheese-Making Kit
Review 1 for DIY Feta Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seattle Washington
,WA
July 31, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome product
July 31, 2016
I contacted UrbanCheese Craft through their website when i got stuck on a part and Claudia responded to me within an hour and helped me figure it out! Ending result my kids loved it!
Review 2 for DIY Feta Cheese-Making Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
December 28, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Overwhelming amount of work and little value
December 28, 2015
This product description does not indicate that kit requires a WEEK of work to yield one pound of feta cheese. It's very complicated, and honestly, this kit is extremely overpriced given that it basically contains salt, rennet, cheesecloth and a thermometer. I am very disappointed in this product.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, High-Maintenance, instructions
Review 3 for DIY Feta Cheese-Making Kit
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
December 17, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Important information missing from description
December 17, 2013
The Feta Cheese website description is misleading - you cannot make it "in less than hour." It takes roughly 2 hours before you separate the curds from the whey which takes 8-12 hours. You "hang the bag from a cabinet handle" -- just what I want hanging on my cabinets -- a wet bag of curds dripping into a bowl. I hung it by sticking a wooden spoon through the tie of the cheesecloth and sticking that through the door handles. Then you start salting and turning the slabs for the next 4-6 days. How is that "less than hour"?? The thermometer included did not work and there was no "traditional cheese mold" in the kit. You need 1 gallon of organic or "lightly pasteurized milk," not ultra-pasteurized milk. In the end, the cheese turned out just fine. It is not difficult, just time consuming and not worth the trouble.
Pros: instructions in the kit
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 4 for DIY Feta Cheese-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tualatin
,OR
August 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
I made Feta!!
August 14, 2013
I make one hour cheeses regularly but had never tried Feta before. The Feta turned out fantastic. The instructions are great with lots of helpful tips.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Appearance