This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows

These pillowy soft caramel-coated marshmallows are hand made by a family-owned candy company in Kentucky using a secret recipe developed in 1889. Dubbed "Modjeskas" in honor of a beautiful Polish actress, the confections are still made from scratch and hand poured, dipped and wrapped in much the same way they were 120 years ago. This "checkerboard" collection includes two varieties: marshmallows dipped in classic caramel and marshmallows dipped in caramel enhance with premium Guittard dark chocolate. 1 lb. (10 classic caramels, 10 chocolate caramels). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.744 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
77 of 82(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
Review 1 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EcFinn
December 10, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
These are delish
December 10, 2012
I love these, both flavors. You used to be able to get them from Vermont Country Store for cheaper, but now W-S has a better deal (the same family company makes them for both companies). The flavor is subtle but addictive. They're pricey, like all gourmet candy, but they're a nice treat once a year.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Quality, Flavor
Review 2 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ToniaM
,Sydney
October 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Just lovely
October 20, 2012
These caramels were fantastic! I loved unusual texture and the taste was second to none. The caramels buttery and soft and the marshmallow inside had just enough bounce. Loved it!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superstarbarbie
,White Lake
,Mi
White Lake Mi
October 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best carmels ever !
October 18, 2012
These are the most tasty buttery soft carmel's ever, full of flavor and individually wrapped. I bought these last year and now ordering again. They do not stick to your teeth. love them, worth the money !
Pros: Texture, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: i didn't order enough
Review 4 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NYshopper
,ny
December 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
These are Heavenly!
December 31, 2011
OMG, these are soooooo wonderful! I'm starting to order these every Christmas!
Pros: yummy!
Cons: expensive/fattening
Review 5 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Minneapolis
,MN
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Amazing Holiday Treat!
December 27, 2011
I love these things! I am not a fan of chocolate so these are the perfect holiday alternative. They are also getting harder and harder to find and WS runs out of them way too soon. Get your order in while you can.
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: sells out too quickly
Review 6 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CranberryPA
,Cranberry Township
,PA
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Heavenly! These are the best!
December 27, 2011
With all the wonderful reviews, I felt pretty confident buying these, although the price seemed rather steep. However, they are TOTALLY worth it! Absolutely amazing flavor! A real treat and I'm sure we'll order them again!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Cost
Review 7 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kimpdx
,Beaverton
,OR
November 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
just like Grandma made
November 14, 2011
These caramel marshmallows are excellent. My grandmother made these when I was a little girl, and we looked forward to them all year. How delightful to find them here!
Review 8 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
onlinefoodie
October 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
These are very good
October 12, 2011
These are great, particularly the caramel version. A very satisfying treat to have.
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: pricey
Review 9 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arizonagal
Marana, AZ
March 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome gift idea!
March 16, 2011
I was thrilled to see these. I've purchased them individually many times at a large chain restaurant and knew my mom would love them. She thought they were wonderful. Thank you Williams-Sonoma for yet another fabulous gift giving idea!
Review 10 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookiez
Oswego, NY
March 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Checkerboard marshmallows
March 4, 2011
I bought these as a treat for Valentine's Day....we had to limit ourselves to 2 a day.....they were wonderful......
Review 11 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oscar888
PA.
February 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
nonsticky bites
February 25, 2011
These were a gift and my receiver found them interesting and tasteful. A wonderful gift to recieve and different then your usual hearts of candy. Sent to N.C.
Review 12 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kitchenchemist
Collegeville, PA
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Addictively Delicous!
February 3, 2011
After having my eye on these for two years I finally got my teeth into them! My husband and I finished half the box the first evening it arrived! The pieces are large and it is better to cut them in half which isn't difficult. They are soft, chewy, delicious. The WS Reserve membership is great for trying all those items you might have been hesitant about before.
Review 13 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Modjeskalover
Woodland Hills, California
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Never tasted anything so delicious
January 28, 2011
I keep buying these for friends and get a box for myself each time! These are the most delicious candies I've ever tasted. I even say uuuummmmm each time I devour one. Please keep these available all year. My eyes cross when i eat them. You won't be sorry if you buy them....!
Review 14 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MorningBeckons
Uxbridge MA
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Unbelievable!
January 28, 2011
Bought these to finish off a balance on a gift card, and was pleasantly surprised. There is nothing better than fresh caramel, unless of course it is surrounding a fresh marshmallow as well. Would recommend these to anyone as a decadent treat.
Review 15 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NanaSha
Murfreesboro, TN
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Can't Get Better Than This
January 28, 2011
I haven't decided if I like the dark or light caramel the best. I usually have one of each for a snack. They are incredible. Quite pricey but well worth it. I shared them with my husband the other evening and now he likes them. I guess I'll need to reorder soon.
Review 16 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaJuana
Laurel, MD
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best candy ever!!
January 28, 2011
This candy consists of my 3 favorite things: marshmallow, caramel, and dark chocolate!!! This is the best candy in the world!!
Review 17 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoshfromSparks
Sparks, NV
January 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Amazing and Awesome
January 13, 2011
This are awesome, that is really all you need to know. Get them while you can and enjoy them, then be depressed when you can't get them anymore. Ya, they are that good.
Review 18 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dawn88
Cheyenne, WY
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Favorite Stocking Stuffer!
January 7, 2011
These have become a tradition in my home to have something special with your stocking on Christmas morning. I can always rely on Williams-Sonoma for the highest qualtiy in products; have never been disappointed! Thank you!
Review 19 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoleSurvivor
Marin County, CA
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Not like any marshmallow I ever met!
January 7, 2011
I bought 2 boxes as gifts this holiday season and rec'd rave compliments about them. Of course I sampled some as well and they are truly stupendous. The caramel is soft and chewy, not hard. And when you hit that marshmallow center? Well, they are just to die for!
Review 20 for Checkerboard Caramel Marshmallows
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
twin2
Van Buren, AR
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A wonderful treat!
January 5, 2011
I bought these for this Christmas holiday when my family visited. The Modjeska Caramel Marshmallows were a wonderful treat to serve to my twin sister and my daughter as we are all 3 allergic to chocolate...the caramel is buttery and perfect with the contrast marshmallow center - Delicious.
page1 2 3 4 5 next