Chantal Whistling Tea Kettle

When water comes to a boil, this teakettle's Hohner harmonic whistle sounds off with all the resonance of a train whistle. The kettle's flat base promotes fast heating while the wire-loop handle provides a secure grip. Made of steel with colored-enamel surface; stainless-steel version has a brushed finish. Smooth enameled interior prevents mineral build-up. Wide mouth makes it easy to fill. Wire-loop handle ensures a good grip. Hinged whistle flips up for easy pouring. Includes a stay-cool handle mitt.
Average Customer Rating:
2.2 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
2 of 10(20%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettle
Review 1 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RickH
,Columbus
,Mt
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A little disappointed
November 28, 2013
The tea kettle doesn't whistle. I don't know if it has to do with the induction cooktop but none the less it doesn't work for the price I expected more
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, Size
Review 2 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MabelJo
,La Jolla
,CA
July 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Could be Better
July 10, 2013
This teapot looks great, and I really like the whistle. Unfortunately, that's about as far as my recommendation goes. For the price, it's just not that well designed. The handle attaches to the pot too close to the lid, so when you pour water, you practically have to turn the pot upside down. This causes water to run into the whistle mechanism. The whistle mechanism doesn't raise high enough to clear the hot water being poured from the kettle.
After I've poured as much water out of the kettle and into my cup as I can, I have to take it over to the sink, make a pouring motion, and jiggle the kettle until the water drips out of the whistle mechanism and bottom of the pot. In addition, I have to leave the whistle mechanism raised and the lid off the kettle in order for it to dry out and not rust.
Also, the kettle is a bit tall, which cause the water to heat more slowly than in a kettle that is a bit more broad.
For the price, not something I'd recommend.
Pros: great whistle, looks good
Cons: functional design
Review 3 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purs
,Brooklyn
,NY
June 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality
June 10, 2013
Let alone the handle getting so hot they give you a little thing to hold it with, the brand new one we got leaks!
I can't believe it, leaks from the seam around the bottom and believe me, I've checked several times.
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
running3
May 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tea Kettle
May 6, 2013
Love the size, color and handle. I can't seem to get it to whistle when the water is ready.
Pros: Easy to Use, Color, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AlmostJane
Posted September 8, 2013
I love my Chantal teakettle [purchased about 5 years ago] though the handle is different from the one pictured here. It boils water MUCH faster than any other teakettle I've ever owned. I have NO complaints about it at all - but that I have noticed that it will not whistle if TOO FULL. If you're careful not to overfill it, you'll always get a whistle. Hope this is helpful.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Krme
,Houston
,TX
February 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't Whistle
February 25, 2013
I had one of these that worked great for 20 years. I don't know what has happened to their quality, I have now been through 2 in the last 6 months because the whistles do not work consistently. I have wrecked two kettles because the whistle, which was closed fully and properly, didn't sound and they boiled dry. If you don't need the whistle, the kettle itself was fine.
Cons: Quality
Review 6 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
December 17, 2012
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made in China
December 17, 2012
I purchased this as I love tea and wanted a pretty kettle to sit out on the countertop or stove. I did not do much research about tea kettles or Chantal before I purchased this. My mom had a Chantal tea kettle for years and I assumed it was a great brand and I'd get one too. After I got it home I realized that this is not the same quality that I remember my mother having. The hinged whistle feels cheap. My whistle got wet and it no longer functions properly. I can hear water boiling in it but yet it sometimes just doesn't feel like whistling. Mine also discolored even though I treat it properly - I contacted Chantal about this but they were no help. Bar Keepers Friend works well to restore its shine. It is also made in China (at least, the stainless steel version is). Not worth the $100+tax...this will be my first and last Chantal!
Pros: Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean, made in china, discolors, whistle does not work
Review 7 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gbonz
November 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fine piece
November 7, 2012
Looks great! Locking spout and handle mitten nice ideas.
Review 8 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
diana1962
Massachusetts
October 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gets rusty
October 18, 2012
I have to throw mine out because it got rusty around the top. Admittedly, I've had it for 8 years, but at this price, it should have lasted forever. Otherwise, it worked great and I loved the whistle! I won't buy another of this brand, though.
Pros: Design, Color
Cons: Quality, gets rusty
Review 9 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
amz5
,Gates Mills
,Oh
May 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
doesn't whistle, spout doesn't open, takes forever
May 21, 2012
I never imagined I could have such negative feelings about a tea pot. It's a tea pot. It does not whistle, The handle gets excessively hot even with the mitt and it takes forever to boil. Once boiling, the spout doesn't open without manual help. Every other product I have ever purchased from W-S has been superior. This is terrible.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 10 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lifeisgood333
,chapel hill
,nc
May 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
rusty kettle
May 6, 2012
After 2 years of little use I need to throw out the tea kettle due to rust. Surprised Chantal doesn't stand behind the product, this really shouldn't be happening to so many customers. I don't recommend purchasing the tea kettle, it's not worth the high price tag.
Cons: Quality