Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles

When water comes to a boil, this teakettle's Hohner harmonic whistle sounds off with all the resonance of a train whistle. The kettle's flat base promotes fast heating while the wire-loop handle provides a secure grip. Made of steel with colored-enamel surface; stainless-steel version has a brushed finish. Smooth enameled interior prevents mineral build-up. Wide mouth makes it easy to fill. Wire-loop handle ensures a good grip. Hinged whistle flips up for easy pouring. Includes a stay-cool handle mitt.
Average Customer Rating:
3.255 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
25 of 47(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
Review 1 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RickH
,Columbus
,Mt
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A little disappointed
November 28, 2013
The tea kettle doesn't whistle. I don't know if it has to do with the induction cooktop but none the less it doesn't work for the price I expected more
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, Size
Review 2 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MabelJo
,La Jolla
,CA
July 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Could be Better
July 10, 2013
This teapot looks great, and I really like the whistle. Unfortunately, that's about as far as my recommendation goes. For the price, it's just not that well designed. The handle attaches to the pot too close to the lid, so when you pour water, you practically have to turn the pot upside down. This causes water to run into the whistle mechanism. The whistle mechanism doesn't raise high enough to clear the hot water being poured from the kettle.
After I've poured as much water out of the kettle and into my cup as I can, I have to take it over to the sink, make a pouring motion, and jiggle the kettle until the water drips out of the whistle mechanism and bottom of the pot. In addition, I have to leave the whistle mechanism raised and the lid off the kettle in order for it to dry out and not rust.
Also, the kettle is a bit tall, which cause the water to heat more slowly than in a kettle that is a bit more broad.
For the price, not something I'd recommend.
Pros: great whistle, looks good
Cons: functional design
Review 3 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purs
,Brooklyn
,NY
June 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality
June 10, 2013
Let alone the handle getting so hot they give you a little thing to hold it with, the brand new one we got leaks!
I can't believe it, leaks from the seam around the bottom and believe me, I've checked several times.
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
running3
May 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tea Kettle
May 6, 2013
Love the size, color and handle. I can't seem to get it to whistle when the water is ready.
Pros: Easy to Use, Color, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AlmostJane
Posted September 8, 2013
I love my Chantal teakettle [purchased about 5 years ago] though the handle is different from the one pictured here. It boils water MUCH faster than any other teakettle I've ever owned. I have NO complaints about it at all - but that I have noticed that it will not whistle if TOO FULL. If you're careful not to overfill it, you'll always get a whistle. Hope this is helpful.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Krme
,Houston
,TX
February 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't Whistle
February 25, 2013
I had one of these that worked great for 20 years. I don't know what has happened to their quality, I have now been through 2 in the last 6 months because the whistles do not work consistently. I have wrecked two kettles because the whistle, which was closed fully and properly, didn't sound and they boiled dry. If you don't need the whistle, the kettle itself was fine.
Cons: Quality
Review 6 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
December 17, 2012
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made in China
December 17, 2012
I purchased this as I love tea and wanted a pretty kettle to sit out on the countertop or stove. I did not do much research about tea kettles or Chantal before I purchased this. My mom had a Chantal tea kettle for years and I assumed it was a great brand and I'd get one too. After I got it home I realized that this is not the same quality that I remember my mother having. The hinged whistle feels cheap. My whistle got wet and it no longer functions properly. I can hear water boiling in it but yet it sometimes just doesn't feel like whistling. Mine also discolored even though I treat it properly - I contacted Chantal about this but they were no help. Bar Keepers Friend works well to restore its shine. It is also made in China (at least, the stainless steel version is). Not worth the $100+tax...this will be my first and last Chantal!
Pros: Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean, made in china, discolors, whistle does not work
Review 7 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gbonz
November 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fine piece
November 7, 2012
Looks great! Locking spout and handle mitten nice ideas.
Review 8 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
diana1962
Massachusetts
October 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gets rusty
October 18, 2012
I have to throw mine out because it got rusty around the top. Admittedly, I've had it for 8 years, but at this price, it should have lasted forever. Otherwise, it worked great and I loved the whistle! I won't buy another of this brand, though.
Pros: Design, Color
Cons: Quality, gets rusty
Review 9 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
amz5
,Gates Mills
,Oh
May 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
doesn't whistle, spout doesn't open, takes forever
May 21, 2012
I never imagined I could have such negative feelings about a tea pot. It's a tea pot. It does not whistle, The handle gets excessively hot even with the mitt and it takes forever to boil. Once boiling, the spout doesn't open without manual help. Every other product I have ever purchased from W-S has been superior. This is terrible.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 10 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lifeisgood333
,chapel hill
,nc
May 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
rusty kettle
May 6, 2012
After 2 years of little use I need to throw out the tea kettle due to rust. Surprised Chantal doesn't stand behind the product, this really shouldn't be happening to so many customers. I don't recommend purchasing the tea kettle, it's not worth the high price tag.
Cons: Quality
Review 11 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diane7403
,Jacksonville
,FL
October 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love that two-tone Hoehner whistle!
October 14, 2011
I've had my cobalt blue Chantal kettle for about 18 years and I'm a tea drinker, so it gets a lot of use. I've never had a problem with it, at all! That whistle certainly alerts me no matter where I am in the house.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design, Weight, distinctive sound
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Plustick
,New York
,NY
New York, NY
September 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Once great company service...no longer
September 19, 2011
I own the smaller classic tea kettle...beautiful high shine stainless. I keep it for its looks on the cooktop. Whistle no longer works and a piece of "plastic" (who installs plastic inside the hinge in something that will get boiling hot??) has fallen out of the hinge in the flip lever. So since I cannot get them on the phone as I once could, I cannot repair it. In addition, they no longer make the smaller kettle - nor the larger in polished stainless. I don't trust them any more since they do not answer the phone.
BUT anyone who complains about rust or pitting does not know how to use a tea kettle of any make or type. Immediately upon boiling water and pouring it, pour out the rest of the water while still boiling and leave kettle completely open. Water will evaporate and never rust! This is the proper way to care for a good kettle...never leave water standing in it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Cons: bad customer service, pouring mechanism not durable
Review 13 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thoreau
Michigan
June 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Still lookin' good!
June 27, 2011
Purchased the stainless version a number of years ago. It still looks like new and aside from once having to tighten the screw, no issues whatsoever. The whistle is as loud as a train. I'm proud to have it on my stove top and would recommend it to anyone in search of a beautiful and well constructed kettle. I'd buy it again without hesitation.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Plustick
New York, NY
Posted September 11, 2011
I agree but
You can only get brushed stainless now...the polished stainless was beautiful...gleaming! The whistle no longer works...cannot get help from Chantal...they have changed...not good at service as they once were.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
chaan
Maryland
April 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't Live on Looks Alone
April 8, 2011
Love the look and the harmonica whistle but after buying three teakettles, I've given up. All rusted on the inside and the harmonica disc fell off on two.
Pros: Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: rusts and whistle disc fell off
Review 15 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
designerbarbara
Scottsdale, AZ
March 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The absolute best
March 31, 2011
This is my second Chantel whistling teakettle and I love everything about it. Quality, style, shape, how it works, how it whistles, it's simply the best. I use mine every single day and would never switch to a different product (I've tried many). I hope they will still be making them when I'm old and gray.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 16 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gcwood
New York, NY
March 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great design & great whistle
March 11, 2011
This is my 2nd Chantal kettle. I had to leave my 1st one behind on a cross-country move, so I was so excited to finally get a replacement. My husband, who never comments on kitchen items, loved the whistle and loves making tea for us in the kettle. The whistle is so delightful, I look forward to hearing it in the morning! No problems with Chantal ever, if you use as directed you will be fine. My only wish is that WS would offer more colors or a non-brushed stainless version.
Review 17 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
averagejane
new york
March 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great design, poor material, worse customer servic
March 7, 2011
Love the design, very proud to show it in my kitchen. Eventually, after a few months, the whistle didn't work, I could have lived with that. I used the kettle every day. Then, about a year later, the kettle started to rust in the inside. Contacted Chantal customer service who said that I must have "misused" the kettle and there was nothing they can do. I bought the stainless steel one for over $100. For that premium price I expected a product that would last more than two years without making you drink rust from a "stainless steel" kettle. I am very disappointed that Chantal would not stand by their products.
Review 18 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maryinboston
Boston, MA
February 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great tea kettle
February 11, 2011
I had tried 2 other brands of stainless steel kettles from W-S, and both ended up leaking at the base of the spout. I bought this kettle because the spout is set high enough up on the body that it doesn't leak. I love the train whistle sound, and the little potholder handle provided with the kettle is useful.
After 7 or 8 years of faithful service, I need to replace it, because my husband forgot to close the top when he boiled water, so he wasn't alerted by the train whistle and forgot about the kettle until all the water evaporated. The bottom layer separated partway, it still works but takes longer to heat up, and since it's a user error and not a product defect, we'll buy a new one. The stainless steel version seems the more durable choice.
W-S was great about replacing both of the initial kettles which developed leaks. Excellent customer service, which is why I'll return there to buy the replacement.
Review 19 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JMar
Denver
February 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Teakettle
February 4, 2011
I grew up with Chantal Teakettles bc of my parents fine taste, and finally have one of my own! It heats fast, whistle is nice and looks great! Love it!
Review 20 for Chantal Whistling Tea Kettles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
droid1
Liberty, MO
January 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Embarrassed
January 21, 2011
First the good, I like the look of the blue on my stove top, and I love the whistle. Now the BAD! This is my second Chantal teakettle. I hate that I have spent a hundred dollars a piece on two of these and I can't use either one. As I poured for my guest I was horrified and embarrassed to see pieces of rusted metal fall into my guests cups. I don't have another kettle so I used a pan on the stove. I e-mailed Chantal and got no response. I take good care of my pots and pans, I hand wash them. I followed the directions which says not to remove the lid when filling the kettle. The first kettle rusted the same way the second one did.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
chaan
Maryland
Posted February 7, 2011
Pretty but not Practical
I've had three. All rusted out, and the third's whistle fell apart. Although I love the design, beauty has to be more than skin deep.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 3 next