Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper

With its Hohner harmonica two-tone whistle and wire loop handle, the Chantal tea kettle has earned its place over the last 30 years as a kitchen icon. This version brings you all of the kettle's classic features in a gorgeous, gleaming copper finish that looks stunning on your stovetop. Copper plating on durable stainless steel. Smooth flat base has a copper disc bottom for quick heating of water. Wide mouth makes it easy to fill. Wire loop handle ensures a good grip. Two-tone Hohner harmonica whistle. Hinged whistle flips up for easy pouring. Includes a stay-cool handle mitt. Induction cooktop compatible.
Average Customer Rating:
2.3 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
4 of 10(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
Review 1 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,West Des Moines
,IA
April 6, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Sounding Tea Kettle
April 6, 2016
I've had this tea kettle for at least seven years, and while the high maintenance of the copper cost it one star, every other quality of this tea kettle is outstanding. It's hefty, heats evenly and quickly, and has a unique train whistle that's deep, rich and harmonic. I do tire of polishing it, but when it's maintained (which really isn't that often), it's a beautiful piece in my kitchen. No regrets!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 2 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cornelius
,NC
January 22, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this tea kettle!
January 22, 2016
I received the Chantal copper tea kettle for Christmas, and I absolutely love it. I see the other bad reviews, and I have not experienced anything wrong with this tea kettle. I have not yet had to clean the copper. The copper color has darkened just a little (from use), but no polishing needed so far. Perfect size!
Pros: Easy to Use, Size
Review 3 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,new york city
January 4, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Whistle Didn't work
January 4, 2016
I received this as a wedding gift. It's gorgeous but the whistle didn't work at all. The whistle was half the reason for getting it, the other half was for the copper thus my rating of 2.5 stars.
As for the reviews that talk about how "tarnished" it gets and so quickly I have to note that as a previous pure copper kettle owner I will tell you that patina look is supposed to happen. If you shine it it with beewax it will prevent the patina or blue green look from occurring but that's the high maintenance part of owning anything copper you heat.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, Size, Color, Shape
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 4 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,oakland
,ca
December 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't Hold Water
December 30, 2015
Leaked immediately from seam on bottom. Couldn't believe a $160 kettle would leak. Poorly made in China. So disappointed that Williams-Sonoma would distribute this product.
Cons: Quality
Review 5 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
August 26, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
horrible kettle
August 26, 2015
I have to agree with most other reviews. It discolored almost immediately. And what is even more frustrating is it leaks. There is something wrong with the spout design so when you pour boiling water it doesn't just go into your teapot. It goes all over your kitchen counter. I only continue to use because it cost SO much. Only buy this if you don't intend to use it.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Response from Williams-Sonomaby ChantalJanuary 26, 2016
Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are very sorry for your inconvenience. We are, however, happy to have the opportunity to explain about our copper finish. Copper Typically develops a patina that can easily be cleaned with a copper cleaner. We also offer this at home soludtion: Dissolve 1 tablespoon of salt in ¼ cup of vinegar in a bowl. Use only a saturated soft paper towel to apply to small areas of the kettle and quickly rinse under running water right away. Pat dry with soft paper towel. Regarding issues with pouring, as long as the whistle is in the full open position and nothing is blocking the spout, you should have a consistent even pour. If this does not solve your issue with leaking, please contact Chantal directly at info@chantalcorp.com.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Chris12345
Reno, NV
Posted February 18, 2016
So glad I read the reviews...
It is rather disappointing that a product with reviews so skewed toward one-star would continued to be offered on WS's site for so long.
I don't have time to research everything I buy for myself or as gifts so I look to brands I trust(ed) to pre-filter products they present. I almost bought this before I saw the reviews. At least WS get props for not erasing the negative reviews.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
December 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and Practical!!
December 6, 2014
We received this as a wedding shower gift and love it! We haven't had any problems or discoloring as the other reviews state and it's been almost a year. We have coffee or tea every morning/night so we use the kettle quite frequently. I even heated it without water by accident almost burning the kettle. It cleaned up beautifly and looked like new after using Barkeeper's on it. Haven't had any trouble and I would recommend it to anyone collecting copper or who'd Like their stovetop to look pretty (while also being practical)!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color
Review 7 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Farmington
,MN
Lakeville, MN
October 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wish I had read the reviews first
October 19, 2014
This kettle was purchased in store before reading these reviews which are accurate.
On removal from the box, I noticed the nut to hold whistle parts together was not attached.
On first use (gas stove), the side was badly discolored (like blued chrome). The manual says this can happen and there are ways to clean it, but I'm not certain that's true (soot maybe). Also noted no whistle.
On second use, I noticed water leaking from the bottom. Again, no whistle.
Disappointing quality for the price.
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance
Review 8 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Brooklyn
,NY
October 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tarnished within 24 hours
October 6, 2014
I agree with the previous review. The kettle was beautiful out of the box. Within 24 hours and only three uses it looked awful. The copper plating had already worn off in several places and no longer looked like a copper kettle so much as a copper kettle with large areas of stainless steel showing through. A huge disappointment and should be taken off of the market until or unless this defect can be remedied.
Review 9 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Closter
,NJ
October 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointed
October 6, 2014
I had an enamel chantal teapot for over 10 years that I loved, but I boiled it dry. Splurged on this copper one. Discolored after ONLY one use … not a nice copper patina, but rather a 'did you burn it' chrome showing through discoloration. NO, I did not burn it. Used it only ONCE and stood over it to boot. Never whistled either - that also seemed broken. Miss my old one with the great train whistle - but this is going back and I'm buying a Simplex Gas Copper Kettle.
Cons: Quality, poor copper coating
Review 10 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,San Marcos
,CA
February 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
13of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Discolored after one use
February 15, 2014
The kettle was absolutely beautiful when taking out of the box; a lovely shiny copper color. However after just one use the tea kettle became terribly discolored and looks just awful. It is very expensive to perform so poorly. I was so disappointed and hope that Williams Sonoma have a better product to offer in the future.
Pros: Color, Design, Weight
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, discolored after one use
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LibraryGal
Fraser, MI
Posted April 12, 2014
discolored copper
Did you remove the lacquer finish that is put on copper? You must remove that before heating any copper item. You can learn how to remove the lacquer easily with an Internet search. You may be able to salvage the tea kettle by removing the remaining lacquer and then cleaning with Bar Keepers Friend or Copper Glo followed by buffing heavily with copper polish.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)