Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper

With its harmonic two-tone whistle and wire loop handle, the Chantal tea kettle has earned its place over the last 30 years as a kitchen icon. This version brings you all of the kettle's classic features in a gorgeous, gleaming copper finish that looks stunning on your stovetop. Copper plating on durable stainless steel. Smooth flat base has a copper disc bottom for quick heating of water. Wide mouth makes it easy to fill. Wire loop handle ensures a good grip. Two-tone Hohner harmonica whistle. Hinged whistle flips up for easy pouring. Includes a stay-cool handle mitt. Induction cooktop compatible.
Average Customer Rating:
1 out of 5
1
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
0 of 4(0%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
Review 1 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TiffanyJoy
,Farmington
,MN
Lakeville, MN
October 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wish I had read the reviews first
October 19, 2014
This kettle was purchased in store before reading these reviews which are accurate.
On removal from the box, I noticed the nut to hold whistle parts together was not attached.
On first use (gas stove), the side was badly discolored (like blued chrome). The manual says this can happen and there are ways to clean it, but I'm not certain that's true (soot maybe). Also noted no whistle.
On second use, I noticed water leaking from the bottom. Again, no whistle.
Disappointing quality for the price.
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance
Review 2 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jobklyn
,Brooklyn
,NY
October 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tarnished within 24 hours
October 6, 2014
I agree with the previous review. The kettle was beautiful out of the box. Within 24 hours and only three uses it looked awful. The copper plating had already worn off in several places and no longer looked like a copper kettle so much as a copper kettle with large areas of stainless steel showing through. A huge disappointment and should be taken off of the market until or unless this defect can be remedied.
Review 3 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PDerf
,Closter
,NJ
October 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointed
October 6, 2014
I had an enamel chantal teapot for over 10 years that I loved, but I boiled it dry. Splurged on this copper one. Discolored after ONLY one use … not a nice copper patina, but rather a 'did you burn it' chrome showing through discoloration. NO, I did not burn it. Used it only ONCE and stood over it to boot. Never whistled either - that also seemed broken. Miss my old one with the great train whistle - but this is going back and I'm buying a Simplex Gas Copper Kettle.
Cons: Quality, poor copper coating
Review 4 for Chantal Copper Whistling Tea Kettle, Copper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WilliamsSonomacashopper
,San Marcos
,CA
February 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
9of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Discolored after one use
February 15, 2014
The kettle was absolutely beautiful when taking out of the box; a lovely shiny copper color. However after just one use the tea kettle became terribly discolored and looks just awful. It is very expensive to perform so poorly. I was so disappointed and hope that Williams Sonoma have a better product to offer in the future.
Pros: Color, Design, Weight
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, discolored after one use
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LibraryGal
Fraser, MI
Posted April 12, 2014
discolored copper
Did you remove the lacquer finish that is put on copper? You must remove that before heating any copper item. You can learn how to remove the lacquer easily with an Internet search. You may be able to salvage the tea kettle by removing the remaining lacquer and then cleaning with Bar Keepers Friend or Copper Glo followed by buffing heavily with copper polish.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)