Chalkboard Wall Planter

Bring your wall to life with a stunning vertical herb garden. This planter mounts securely to the wall and offers a unique, space-saving way to harvest fresh herbs while adding lush greenery to your kitchen or an outdoor area. Just fill the cells with the herb of your choice, and water as needed through the top irrigator; the hidden collector tray catches excess runoff. Vertical wall-mounted planter with 10 planting cells. Moisture mat technology ensures even distribution of water throughout cells. Chalkboard paint finish on border allows you to label the herbs. FSC-certified pine frame is made by an Amish community in Goshen, Indiana. Irrigator and collector are made of HDPE recycled with 26% jute and coconut fiber. Irrigator holds 1 qt. water. Collector tray allows for easy disposal of excess water. 16" x 5" x 24" high. 11 lb. Simple assembly required. Includes mounting bracket. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.077 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
2 of 13(15%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chalkboard Wall Planter
Review 1 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wishful
,highlands ranch
,co
September 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
17of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointed
September 12, 2013
I really wanted to love this product, because it brought the outdoors, inside, with fresh herbs, to use throughout the winter months!
Unfortunately, the "chalkboard" was actually just wood, painted black(not easily eraseable) and hanging it would have been very difficult, due to no instructions or supplies included! This had me going to google to find out ways to remedy it. There I found so many bad reviews about people not being able to even grow herbs.....It left me disappointed, and I returned the product.
Cons: materials, Difficult to Use, instructions
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BGRiz
Michigan
Posted December 2, 2013
Wall Planter
Thank you for your concerns. Its unfortunate that you had no reference for your planter. There are instructions that can be obtained to assist you. A few pointers are that you should consider . Begin with ; A) where you will be hanging the planter B) that it will sufficient lighting C) choice of plants. Your local garden center can assist you in your choices as well as location based on lighting. There are several sites that you can go to for planting instructions as well as hanging. Both have a video that you can watch on youtube for Wall planters. The Living Wall Planter is unique and beautiful. With the correct instructions you will see how simple it is. Thank you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mracine
,Boston
,Ma
July 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+36points
37of 38found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Living wall...more like dying wall!
July 21, 2013
I splurged on this item for our new house because I convinced myself that it was more then just a planter, but would also be living art. It is a great concept but as several flaws. First there were no directions on how to plant or hang this. I had to look up on YouTube to find a similar looking item to see how it was done. I also did research on what plants would grow well in indirect light and came up with mint and lemon balm. After hanging realized that the watering system is flawed and leaks down the back onto the wall. also the water is supposed to trickle down through the cells and water evenly but that doesn't happen. The first two cells receive water and the bottom ones barely any. I have to take it off the wall to water it now and it is ruining the wall. The plants were dying so I took them out and put in succulents, which basically need barely any water. The succulents look horrible now and instead of an interesting living wall it looks like a dying wall.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Design, instructions, Assembly, High-Maintenance
Review 3 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lincolnwebs
,Detroit
,MI
July 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+38points
38of 38found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awful in every way
July 12, 2013
No hanging instructions. Only 2 holes, both on a 45 degree angle, nested deeply inside the plants. It took hours and a plank of wood to get this affixed to the wall while holding back plants so I could see down the recessed hole with a drillbit extender. Insanity. I was cursing up a storm.
Every plant immediately started withering and dying once it was hung. They flourished for over 2 weeks in the backyard (in the wall garden) while I sorted out how to hang it. No amount of water in the reservoir will keep the soil wet.
Product feels cheaply made, and came with 1 screw rattling around the box - I still haven't figured out what it was for. No instructions whatsoever.
Frame is basically black-painted wood, not a chalkboard surface. Total malarkey.
Cons: materials, Difficult to Use, Quality, Design, instructions, Assembly
Review 4 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Guza
,Philadelphia
,PA
July 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+35points
35of 35found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A big disappointment
July 3, 2013
I really wanted this to work. I have had this for >5 months and have tried over and over to successfully plant herbs. All died after a few weeks. I have tried every type of soil with no luck. I finally gave up on herbs and went with succulents, thinking they would surely work. They died too. It is coming off the wall and going into the closet. A real waste of money.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: doesn't perform
Review 5 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lesser45
,Amarillo
,TX
June 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+19points
19of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointing!
June 5, 2013
Seemed like a great idea for steady attractive supply of kitchen herbs. Not nearly the quality I have come to expect based on my many previous W-S purchases. Includes planting instructions but no instructions or pictures to guide assembly and hanging/irrigation technique. Comes with wall bracket but no screws or anchors. Come on folks, at this price you could spring for the hardware. I am packing the item to return this afternoon.
Pros: Size, Appearance
Cons: materials, Quality, instructions, Assembly, disappointment, pricey
Review 6 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bactman
,Indianapolis
,IN
June 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bummer - good in theory, poor in execution
June 3, 2013
Really wanted this to work. No mounting instructions but figured it out. The mounting bracket was level, but the supports on the frame were not so I shimmed one side to make it even when hung on the bracket/wall.
Followed the instructions for keeping herbs alive but they have all died after three separate attempts. I used a moisture control mix the second and third times, which seemed to help. Also, be careful with the top reservoir, as it can become dislodged and let water cascade down the wall.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, Quality, instructions
Review 7 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TLang
,Palm Beach Gardens
,FL
May 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do not buy this.
May 23, 2013
This product was cheaply made and came with no hanging instructions. I decided to try planting the herbs in it before hanging. I let the herbs take root for a few days per the instructions, then I placed the planter upright on the counter. The herbs promptly died. I have had much luck with planing herbs in my garden, but not here. My experience with this product was so negative that I will not buy anything characterized as "web only" from WS again.
Cons: cheap looking, sticks out from wall too far, no hanging instructions
Review 8 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ajreed
,Chicago
,IL
May 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'll wait and see
May 7, 2013
Item is cheaply made. Lacks any hanging instructions. Priced high for what the product delivers.
Review 9 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PatencyPro
May 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+17points
18of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cheaply Made
May 6, 2013
Received this as a gift, not even close to the normal quality of Williams Sonoma products. Missing multiple parts, almost completely plastic, no installation instructions and incredibly overpriced for the poor craftsmanship. Plan on returning and would not recommend this to anyone.
Cons: cheaply made, missing parts, missing instructions
Review 10 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tuberose
,altadena
,ca
May 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-23points
0of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
conversation piece
May 4, 2013
This looks beautiful and practical. This is also convenient for a busy household. It is a great living accent.
Review 11 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lollimac
California
May 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-20points
3of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So wonderful!
May 4, 2013
The kitchen would smell SO GOOD day after day. Cooking with fresh herbs at your fingertips is amazing. Great item
Review 12 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bascatore
,Carson City
,NV
April 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-30points
0of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Make a Cuisine Wall Statement.
April 30, 2013
Make a Cuisine Wall Statement. Green on Green Wall Art. Edible and Elegant.
Review 13 for Chalkboard Wall Planter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AHarrison
,Ft. Lauderdale
,Fl
March 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
22of 35found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Needs Better Hanging Instructions
March 23, 2013
It comes with great planting instructions but no hanging instructions other than mounting bracket included - two screws needed.
Pfttttt......