Pie Weights Jar

Many recipes for pies and tarts call for blind-baking the unfilled crust - a process made more reliable with the help of these ceramic weights.Round ceramic weights prevent pie and tart crusts from shrinking or blistering during baking.After fitting the pastry dough into your pan, press on a layer of foil and line it with the weights.Ensures an attractive pastry shell that will hold its shape when filled.The unglazed ceramic material also helps to evenly distribute heat, promoting uniform baking.Enough for two 9" pie shells.Can be used again and again.Includes a clear glass storage jar.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
3 of 5(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pie Weights Jar
Review 1 for Pie Weights Jar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WyoWindblown
Casper, Wyoming
September 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Work well, but breakable
September 9, 2013
I've overall had good luck with these weights over the couple of years I've had them, but having the couple I've dropped shatter didn't make the best impression. As long as I'm careful, they should last for a good long time. I haven't had any of the smell issues mentioned by other reviewers. I wash them in hot water after they cool, let them dry for a good 24-48 hours and then put them back into the jar. Just don't make the mistake I did and fail to line the pie shell with foil or parchment the first time! What a mess!
Review 2 for Pie Weights Jar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jfm1
April 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stinky Pie Beads
April 21, 2013
I bought these over a year a go and have used them off and on, hoping that the smell would go away, but it has not. I have washed them and air dried them after each use. I even washed them and heated them in water with vinegar to get the smell out.
I am not sure if they all smell like this or if just a few smell like this. Maybe a bad batch. I air dried them for a week , but that did not work. Luckily I always use parchment or foil on my pie crusts.
I would not buy these again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size
Cons: smell bad
Review 3 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PBJFraley
,Georgetown
,KY
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very useful!
January 29, 2013
For years I have made pies and poked lots of holes in the crust to keep it from puffing up. Not only is that in imperfect method, it also lets your filling seep through, rendering the crust soggy after a day or so.
Finally, I found these! They were a very reasonable price, come in a lovely little storage jar, and they worked perfectly!
I can use as few or as many as needed in my pies to hold down the crust, which is useful when making small crusts in my Breville Mini Pie Baker.
No more soggy crusts at our house!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Pie Weights Jar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alishaleah
,Joshua
,TX
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smells AWFUL!!
January 1, 2013
I received these as a gift last year. The product works just as stated, but after 1 year mine smell awful. I generally bake pies at Christmas, so this year I pulled my weights out, and they smell just plain horrific. I washed them as directed last year before putting them in the cabinet, but now they stink to high heaven. I decided to put them in my crust anyway because I needed them, and instead of the sweet aroma of pie crust I had the foul aroma of these stinky ceramic weights. Unless you want to buy new ones every year, I suggest you skip this product.
Review 5 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Investment
June 26, 2012
I love these things. They prevent all bubbles. You will achieve perfect tarts and pies!
The jar comes with enough for most standard tart pans and pies. The jar is so nice for storage.
As far as cleaning; I just let them cool, put them in a metal mesh strainer, run them under hot water and swirl them around. They clean up nicely.
A great kitchen addition for a reasonable price.
Recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight