Pie Weights Jar

Many recipes for pies and tarts call for blind-baking the unfilled crust - a process made more reliable with the help of these ceramic weights.Round ceramic weights prevent pie and tart crusts from shrinking or blistering during baking.After fitting the pastry dough into your pan, press on a layer of foil and line it with the weights.Ensures an attractive pastry shell that will hold its shape when filled.The unglazed ceramic material also helps to evenly distribute heat, promoting uniform baking.Enough for two 9" pie shells.Can be used again and again.Includes a clear glass storage jar.
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
14 of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pie Weights Jar
Review 1 for Pie Weights Jar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WyoWindblown
Casper, Wyoming
September 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Work well, but breakable
September 9, 2013
I've overall had good luck with these weights over the couple of years I've had them, but having the couple I've dropped shatter didn't make the best impression. As long as I'm careful, they should last for a good long time. I haven't had any of the smell issues mentioned by other reviewers. I wash them in hot water after they cool, let them dry for a good 24-48 hours and then put them back into the jar. Just don't make the mistake I did and fail to line the pie shell with foil or parchment the first time! What a mess!
Review 2 for Pie Weights Jar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jfm1
April 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stinky Pie Beads
April 21, 2013
I bought these over a year a go and have used them off and on, hoping that the smell would go away, but it has not. I have washed them and air dried them after each use. I even washed them and heated them in water with vinegar to get the smell out.
I am not sure if they all smell like this or if just a few smell like this. Maybe a bad batch. I air dried them for a week , but that did not work. Luckily I always use parchment or foil on my pie crusts.
I would not buy these again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size
Cons: smell bad
Review 3 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PBJFraley
,Georgetown
,KY
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very useful!
January 29, 2013
For years I have made pies and poked lots of holes in the crust to keep it from puffing up. Not only is that in imperfect method, it also lets your filling seep through, rendering the crust soggy after a day or so.
Finally, I found these! They were a very reasonable price, come in a lovely little storage jar, and they worked perfectly!
I can use as few or as many as needed in my pies to hold down the crust, which is useful when making small crusts in my Breville Mini Pie Baker.
No more soggy crusts at our house!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Pie Weights Jar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alishaleah
,Joshua
,TX
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smells AWFUL!!
January 1, 2013
I received these as a gift last year. The product works just as stated, but after 1 year mine smell awful. I generally bake pies at Christmas, so this year I pulled my weights out, and they smell just plain horrific. I washed them as directed last year before putting them in the cabinet, but now they stink to high heaven. I decided to put them in my crust anyway because I needed them, and instead of the sweet aroma of pie crust I had the foul aroma of these stinky ceramic weights. Unless you want to buy new ones every year, I suggest you skip this product.
Review 5 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Investment
June 26, 2012
I love these things. They prevent all bubbles. You will achieve perfect tarts and pies!
The jar comes with enough for most standard tart pans and pies. The jar is so nice for storage.
As far as cleaning; I just let them cool, put them in a metal mesh strainer, run them under hot water and swirl them around. They clean up nicely.
A great kitchen addition for a reasonable price.
Recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Pie Weights Jar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChiCare
Chicago, IL
October 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love them - but hard to clean
October 27, 2011
These pie weights are great! The only con I have is that they are difficult to clean. Nice storage- I know I will have them forever!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
akaCAM
Sumter, SC
Posted October 23, 2012
Cleaning Problem??
There shouldn't be a cleaning problem at all. As I understand the use of pie weights you are to line the pie crust with foil first, and then put the ceramic balls inside the foil. When you remove the foil the clean balls come out with it. It works fine for me.
A note, I pre-shape the foil around the outside of the pie plate, before I put the crust in, and then remove it and set it aside. It will be a bit bigger than required, but it's pre-shaped enough not to be a problem. That way I don't disturb the raw crust, when I add the foil and then the balls just before baking.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grammycookie
Dover,P.A.
June 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best thing ever!!!
June 30, 2011
Was so happy to see this item and couldn't wait to get it and try them out.Was very pleased with the company and the ease of ordering.
Will be ordering again.
Thanks Williams-Sonoma
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 8 for Pie Weights Jar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bugster2
Lake Forest, CA
June 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
String of pearls
June 21, 2011
Heaven help you if you drop them on the floor. They are like a broken pearl necklace - pearls everywhere. They tore through the foil I had them resting in. I don't think I will ever find all of those beads.LOL. They work fine but I think I had better switch to a pie chain.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, they bounce and fly everywhere if spilled
Review 9 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jingles
Fort Worth, Texas
March 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pie or Quiche
March 4, 2011
No more beans...LOL LOL LOL
What fun to have the pie weights..I lay them on my parchment paper and just lift them out when I am finished...I ordered one for me and my sis ..
I make large quiches in a 9 by 13 pan and the quantity in the jar is perfect.
Review 10 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eyedocmomma
Indiana
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for the Pie Baker in Any Family!
November 25, 2010
I love these!. I know I can use beans, but these are neat, perfect and get the job done. I love that I can just pour them easily back into the glass container for easy storage. These do a great job!
Review 11 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4BEV
Henderson, NV
May 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Favorite For Pie Baking
May 4, 2010
This is a great way to making a perfect pie crust without having air pockets in the crust. My Pies come out perfect.
Review 12 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sweetpastry89
Madison, WI
March 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
no more beans/rice
March 28, 2010
Although you can use your beans and rice again and again. I guess if I properly stored them in a container I wouldn't need this, but I figured it was worth the investment. Great thing to have if you make lots of tars/pies. And nice container
Review 13 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lizbethla
Orange COunty, CA
February 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great product
February 10, 2010
i loved it, and it worked just the way i wanted it to...
Review 14 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
geraldine
San Mateo
December 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this
December 20, 2009
No more beans or rice for me. These weights work so well. It really does mean something when you have the best tools for the task at hand.
Review 15 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IvyG
Seattle, WA
December 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Your Pie's Best Friend
December 9, 2009
I purchsed these because I was tired of using beans that I was never then going to cook and eat. Also -- because my boyfriend had an irrational fear of the pie chain (pie weights that are strung together).
These are excellent. They fit perfectly in the bottom of the pie pan, and the blind crust came out crisp and ready to be cooked. We put them on parchment paper over the crust, so they just needed a little rinse, and then back in the jar.
The jar is also really nice - heavy clasp, good to keep around for a long time.
Chocolate pie heaven, here I come!
Review 16 for Pie Weights Jar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pigeon
Fort Worth, Texas
December 10, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
End of pie crust bubbles!
December 10, 2008
Product is great, works as intended and the jar makes a great storage item as well as looking nice in kitchen
Review 17 for Pie Weights Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phyllis
Ewing IL
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No more bubbles!
September 4, 2008
I had heard of pie weights before but did not know until I tried them how great they are. No more bubbles in the pie crust and the pie shell looks so nice and evenly cooked. Thanks Williams Sonoma for having such a great item!