Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Ceramic Ginger Grater

With rows of sharp teeth, this durable grater effortlessly shreds fresh gingerroot while leaving unwanted fibers behind. The ceramic surface is impervious to acids and oils and won't transfer flavors. A silicone ring on the base prevents slipping.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ceramic Ginger Grater
Review 1 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Rochester
,NY
April 11, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Freeze it!
April 11, 2016
I heard on TV to freeze your ginger to keep it fresh. It really works and when you use your ginger grater none of it sticks to the grater.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Easy to Store, Time-saver
Review 2 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Elizabeth
,CO
February 9, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
0of 5found this review helpful.
If you want mush, you've got it
February 9, 2016
The grater does more than grate. It pulverizes garlic into mush that is difficult to get out of the nubs. I tried using a new toothbrush to get the mashed garlic out from between the teeth, but it didn't work. Other ceramic graters that function similar to this one come with a special brush that you can use to get the mush out of the nubs. I think the brush is soft and that's why my toothbrush didn't work. It was too stiff. I'll have to find a really soft brush and try again. My husband thinks it's easier to just chop garlic than it is to use this thing. I have to agree - unless you want garlic mush. It's great for that!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Size, Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, difficult to get food out of nubs
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
shekra
Utah
Posted February 18, 2016
It's not meant for garlic
This is a ginger grater, it's not meant to mince garlic. You are looking for a garlic press and they work fantastically for what you are wanting.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Gilbert
,Az
December 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Simple good tool
December 16, 2015
I'm happy with the ginger grater. Simple, easy to use and easy to clean. Works just as described. I get nice fresh ginger for my recipes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Size, Quality, Easy to Store
Review 4 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Nevada City
,CA
October 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Did not like this
October 5, 2015
I had high hopes for this grater, but it grates ginger to a mush that mostly gets all caught up in the little teeth. I didn't want to grate a huge amount of it, but it seems you would need to grate an enormous amount of ginger just to get a useable amount. I also didn't feel this made the process any easier in the least so I can't recommend this at all and I returned it. I'll go back to slicing a and dicing with a knife, works better.
Cons: Difficult to Use, doesn't work well
Review 5 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Chicago
,IL
August 20, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Works but uses a lot of ginger
August 20, 2015
The grater part definitely works and the ginger is nicely minced but the ceramic "teeth" have no give. This means that A LOT of the ginger stays on the grater rather than scraping into the bowl.
It's nice, it's small, it cleans easily in the dishwasher and the ceramic is a good alternative to plastic...but grating just a little ginger is not really possible.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Size, Quality, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 6 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
New York City
April 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Ginger at your fingertips
April 27, 2015
This little gadget works very well. I have used it to grate ginger for ginger tea and this summer, when it's hot, I plan to use it to make ginger ale. It works well, it's inexpensive and doesn't take up a lot of space — what's not to like?
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 7 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
June 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
Grating ginger is easy-peasy!
June 10, 2014
Ginger is a very fibrous root, making it very inconvenient to grate it on a regular grater. It is now a breeze with this Ceramic Ginger Grater!
Not only is it easier to grate ginger, but there is also no wasted flavor with the Ceramic Ginger Grater. The bowl catches all of the juices.
No more resorting to powdered ginger for me!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 8 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Rockville
,MD
Rockville, Maryland
May 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Amazingly quick and efficient little gadget!
May 22, 2014
I'd looked at this for a while and thought "naaah"...I imagined grating my finger tip along with the ginger....but not so! I couldn't believe how quick and easy the process was - no mess in the container - the grated ginger was almost cream-like. V. easy to clean, and stays 'put' on the worktop. I'd recommend this to any ginger-lover!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, very efficient
Review 9 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CO
Montrose, CO
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Perfect cooking accessory!
November 30, 2013
I am really glad I bought this product. I used to shy away from recipes that called for grated ginger but no longer. This tool is a breeze to use and quickly produces what I need and is very easy to clean. Thank you William-Sonoma.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 10 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Belmont
,CA
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
A Better Way to Grate Ginger
January 16, 2013
I bought this because one of my Indian cookbooks recommended a ceramic grater as the most efficient way to grate ginger. Grated ginger is required in a lot of South Asian recipes, and I previously had a small metal grater for the purpose. This one not only grates better, but it is much much much easier to clean than the metal one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 11 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Long Is.,
,NY
Long Island, NY
November 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Garlic lovers rejoice!
November 26, 2012
Not just for ginger, try this with garlic too. This little gizmo is great, ceramic construction, made by Kyocera, a top-brand in ceramic knives. Made in Japan. To the previous reviewer, the little grooves wash out like a dream, no need for little brushes to get out the pulp left behind. Just rinse under the running faucet. I was amazed at that too. This makes garlic pulp for making garlic breads and adding to any dish at all without a big garlic piece to bite into. The silicone base keeps it stationary on the counter so it doesn't slide around. A great little gift for the cook who has everything. FYI...bought the garlic peeler too, another great item to go along with this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 12 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Patchogue
,NY
October 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Gaget
October 25, 2012
Works Great just wish it came with a little brush to get the ginger out of the groves better...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, wish it were bigger
Cons: Size