Ceramic Ginger Grater

With rows of sharp teeth, this durable grater effortlessly shreds fresh gingerroot while leaving unwanted fibers behind. The ceramic surface is impervious to acids and oils and won't transfer flavors. A silicone ring on the base prevents slipping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
23 of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ceramic Ginger Grater
Review 1 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goodcooking
,CO
Montrose, CO
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect cooking accessory!
November 30, 2013
I am really glad I bought this product. I used to shy away from recipes that called for grated ginger but no longer. This tool is a breeze to use and quickly produces what I need and is very easy to clean. Thank you William-Sonoma.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 2 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sugarspice
,Belmont
,CA
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Better Way to Grate Ginger
January 16, 2013
I bought this because one of my Indian cookbooks recommended a ceramic grater as the most efficient way to grate ginger. Grated ginger is required in a lot of South Asian recipes, and I previously had a small metal grater for the purpose. This one not only grates better, but it is much much much easier to clean than the metal one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 3 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jovanna
,Long Is.,
,NY
Long Island, NY
November 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Garlic lovers rejoice!
November 26, 2012
Not just for ginger, try this with garlic too. This little gizmo is great, ceramic construction, made by Kyocera, a top-brand in ceramic knives. Made in Japan. To the previous reviewer, the little grooves wash out like a dream, no need for little brushes to get out the pulp left behind. Just rinse under the running faucet. I was amazed at that too. This makes garlic pulp for making garlic breads and adding to any dish at all without a big garlic piece to bite into. The silicone base keeps it stationary on the counter so it doesn't slide around. A great little gift for the cook who has everything. FYI...bought the garlic peeler too, another great item to go along with this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 4 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TFITCH
,Patchogue
,NY
October 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gaget
October 25, 2012
Works Great just wish it came with a little brush to get the ginger out of the groves better...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, wish it were bigger
Cons: Size
Review 5 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate9Paris
Hanover, MA
June 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Functional, Novel Grater for Ginger, Radish
June 21, 2011
I find myself looking to use ginger more just because of this tool. It's really amazing, leaving the skin, producing ginger juice, and it's efficiently fast. I was able to purchase the larger sized grater at another store. It's useful for grating dakon radish, too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 6 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IslandLife
Caribbean
June 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
amazing tool
June 11, 2011
This simple, incredible tool is my new favorite kitchen item. It will be great for all root vegetables, does what it says and works fantastically! I ordered four more to give to my favorite chefs...
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 7 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MollyG
Harrisonburg VA
June 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Never thought I needed this- but LOVE it!
June 6, 2011
I was looking for something else online and saw this. I love ginger. I usually freeze in small portions then dice it with a garlic press. However, the big pieces didn't get incorporated well. I thought this was worth a shot. OH BOY. Perfect timing, too, since the spring greens are in full fling. I have had sauteed greens with a marinade every day since I bought this. It melts the ginger into this soupy aromatic delicious paste that I blended with soy sauce, garlic and almond paste. My 8 year old daughter loves doing the grating, too. The fibers get left on the root, and you cut it off and keep going. Can't wait to try tea when it gets cold outside.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Design
Review 8 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CampyPA
Central Pennsylvania
February 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ginger In A Jiff
February 22, 2011
Handy, compact, functional, cleans in a snap and it actually does what it. Grates raw ginger root for all purposes leaving the tough ginger root fibers behind.
Review 9 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SMullenSeattle
Seattle, WA
January 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent ginger grater
January 24, 2011
I recently ordered this grater and have now used it and run it through the dishwasher. It does an excellent job of grating ginger. I grated a small piece and found a very nice quantity of juice as well as finely and more coarsely ground solids. The juice and more finely ground solids were great additions to a nice hot cup of tea. And the grater came through the dishwasher perfectly. This would make a fine gift for anyone who loves tea.
Review 10 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zoesmom37214
Nashville, Tn
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely perfect for horseradish root
December 25, 2010
Thank you Williams Sonoma and those of you that have taken your time to write a review. My husband grows horseradish and LOVES fresh RAW horseradish. Finally I have found something that can grate the root to perfection. This grater has rubber on the bottom so you can aggressively grate it, get the juices and it never moves.. This deserves 10 stars in my book. My husband was skeptical when he opened it in his christmas stocking this morning but he just finished grating 2 roots and said WOW... that is amazing and thanked me profusely!!!!!
Review 11 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mismax
Houston, MS
October 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes Grating Ginger a Snap
October 15, 2010
I love this! I purchased it after I saw Alton Brown use it on his show. This nifty thing is so much easier than trying to mince the ginger with a knife. I'm now making lots of recipes that call for fresh ginger.
Review 12 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stephwalto
West Falls NY
October 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Compact & very effective
October 6, 2010
This product suits my needs perfectly. Sturdy so I am not concerned about it breaking, very effective at grating ginger easily & small to fit in my very compact kitchen. Washed super easily. It is EXACTLY what I needed. Thanks!
Review 13 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gingergrater
Florida
August 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ginger grater
August 11, 2010
Loved the grater and especially the bottom that adheres to the counter while grating. I am very surprised that it is not available in the stores, but only on line.
It works beautifully, and is easy to clean!
Review 14 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whidbey
Oak Harbor WA.
May 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grater!
May 31, 2010
I have had my grater several years, I love it. It grates garlic too. With the garlic it grates to an emulsion, useful if you need a garlic paste. I like the way it grates ginger for Chinese and Indian food.
Review 15 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mswillownyhooper
Boca Raton, FL
January 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST COOK'S TOOL
January 23, 2010
We saw this item on SIMPLY MING. It was amazing to see the ginger ground so quickly and effortless, with NO blood. So I bought this as a "happy" for my hubby. We cannot say enough about the product! No more grated knuckles or wasted ginger!
Review 16 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tansy
Alaska
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A wonderful grater
January 7, 2010
I saw and used this at my mother's; a friend that was with me saw and used it too, and for a present I sent the friend this ginger grater. The only thing is that I didn't get one myself, but will do so. Everybody should have one!!! I especially like the rubber ring on the bottom so it won't slip as you're grating away.
Review 17 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShelleyJ
Santa Clarita, CA
November 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Peazy grating!!!!!!!!
November 27, 2009
OH MY GOSH!!! I have used this for a year......I have grated Ginger, galangal, horseradish and fresh wasabi. It is a FANTASTIC product. Originally I wanted a shark skin grater for this, but didnt want to come up with the big bucks. I bought this and thought, I will buy shark skin later......well guess what? I dont want it now!! I love this product!!! it produces TONS and TONS of fantastic and perfectly grated root !! I needed several ginger roots grated recently and i didnt them all on this.....EASY with almost no effort. William Sonoma - Thanks for a great product at a great price! This is one gadget you MUST own.
Review 18 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LoraS
Weston, Ohio
October 24, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Only if you want ginger paste
October 24, 2009
I expected this to grate the ginger into a zest size, but instead it makes very tiny bits that I find less tasty in Oriental dishes (though perfect in Indian dishes). It's a beautiful piece that looks great on the countertop.
Review 19 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
menana
BERMUDA
April 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite grater forginger and garlic
April 22, 2009
I purchased this grater recently and gave one to my sister. I love it. The fact that it makes juice is great. I wish I could buy it in their stores. However, I won't live without it. It is very good. And easy to clean too. I plan to buy more for my friends.
Review 20 for Ceramic Ginger Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kcakes
North Carolina
February 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Ginger
February 26, 2009
The grater is wonderful and it gives a much better ginger flavor to what you are making then using the traditional grater. You get just the best part of the ginger as well as the lovely juice.
page1 2 next