This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Ceramic Compost Pail

This stoneware compost container looks like a vintage mason jar and blends easily into your countertop decor. Equipped with odor-controlling filter, silicone seal and clamp-top lid, it's perfect for holding food scraps before transferring them to an outdoor bin. Made of durable stoneware with a white glaze finish. Decorated with hand-embossed lettering, "Certified Organic." Silicone gasket helps contain odors. Holes on lid allow air to circulate, further reducing odors. Hinged metal clamp lid. Wire ring on inner rim holds compost liner bag (not included) in place. Filter compartment in lid; includes one charcoal double filter (additional filters are sold separately). A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ceramic Compost Pail
Review 1 for Ceramic Compost Pail
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
patski107
,FL
January 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Poor Design
January 26, 2013
This item is showing no longer available but if it should come back I want people to know it is poorly designed.
I purchased the biodegradable bags to go inside this pot. If I fill it even half way full I can't pull out the bag. There is a lip around the top and peels, egg shells, etc., want to get stuck and I have ripped 2 bags trying to take the stuff out.
Pros: Size, attreractive on counter
Cons: can't use biodegradable bags., Design
Review 2 for Ceramic Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitty448
,Rochester
,NY
October 12, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
We love it!
October 12, 2012
Every other compost bin looked like a mini garbage can that you set on your counter. Not pleasing to the eye at all. We have white counter tops and a white back splash, this just about disappears on the counter. Big enough for almost a whole weeks worth of compost. Zero smell. Seals very nicely. We are 100% pleased with this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design
Review 3 for Ceramic Compost Pail
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
pestoman
,Lake George
,NY
September 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
buy with caution
September 5, 2012
after 30 days, I am still impressed with the looks and the ability to keep odors at bay, but the hinge mechanism has become a real issue. The lid does not close right anymore, takes extra effort, and the wire bracket constantly comes off the lid now on a daily basis.
Pros: Scent, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Strength, Quality, durability, Assembly, Fragile, Unreliable
Review 4 for Ceramic Compost Pail
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DTWS
,Gulfport
,MS
July 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Good size & attractive
July 20, 2012
This is the best size for me, fits well in cabinet under my sink, looks good if I have to take it out. The only thing it lacks is a handle.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 5 for Ceramic Compost Pail
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
katytx
April 16, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Just what I wanted
April 16, 2012
This container is a perfect way to transition veggie/fruit waste from house to compost. Absolutely no odor problem and no gnats! And I love the ceramic. It's as attractive as a garbage pail can be :) Just don't over stuff the biodegradable bags because they will rip when removing them from the container.
Review 6 for Ceramic Compost Pail
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
leherring
,Charleston
,SC
January 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Kitchen Composting
January 16, 2012
I have been using my kitchen composting pail for about 1 week now and I love it. It looks great on my counter and is easy to get in and out of. I just fill it up (minus the bags) each day and at the end of the week I simply take it to my garden and then rinse out. It's so easy, lightweight and functional.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 7 for Ceramic Compost Pail
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smokey26
,San Francisco
,CA
January 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Ceramic Composter
January 3, 2012
I looked around a lot for a composter for my small kitchen. All the others I found were too small, too big, too ugly. This one is just what I wanted in terms of size and material. I've been using it for about two weeks. I have two minor complaints: One: the huge florid "Certified Organic" words on the side of it are ridiculous. Why? Plain or a bee or something would have been better. Even "Compost." Luckily, it is only on one side, I can just turn it around to face the other way. Two: if you fill a bag inside it too much, it gets stuck in the composter when you try to pull it out and then you have a situation. The bag rips, you have coffee grounds and eggshells everywhere, it's annoying. This seems to be a complaint for other compost pails I considered too. It only happened once, and now I'm a little more careful with how tight it's getting before I change the bag. I'm willing to put up with those things because overall it is the size and look I want and it does the job.
Pros: Size, Design
Review 8 for Ceramic Compost Pail
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MrsFish
,Salem
,OR
Salem OR
December 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
difficult to remove bag liner
December 16, 2011
I used this with a compost bag liner and loved the look but it was difficult removing the bag when it was full. The design of the top (like a mason jar) narrows so the bag gets stuck when you try to remove it. I will return and look for one that gets larger at the exit lip so bag removal is easier. Too bad because it looks great on my counter. Also, wish it held a little more compost scraps.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use