This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Cedar Grilling Planks

Grilling fish fillets, poultry or steaks on our natural wood planks infuses the food with a lightly smoky flavor while retaining moisture. Set of four single-use western red cedar planks. Arrange ingredients over a presoaked, preheated plank, close the grill lid and cook. Foods emerge with a pleasant smoky tang. Especially wonderful for preparing salmon. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.731 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
26 of 26(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cedar Grilling Planks
Review 1 for Cedar Grilling Planks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bcook
,San Diego
,CA
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Simple & Easy to Use
January 29, 2013
Was easy enough to incorporate into our weekly grilling schedule and allowed us to mix it up without needing tons of rubs or marinades.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Review 2 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JillGa
,Charleston
,SC
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Quality planks for the price
December 31, 2012
Another wonderful WS find. These planks are the perfect size for either a round or rectangular grill. We've used them with shrimp and salmon and love the results. As mentioned by another reviewer, we were also able to reuse the boards.
Pros: Quality, Size, Design
Review 3 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michelle89439
,Verdi
,NV
September 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent Cedar Grilling Planks
September 21, 2012
The planks have a wonderful cedar smell/flavor for cooking fish. They are oversized in comparison to what you find in general stores. The surface is smooth and very sturdy. I will never buy any other planks...well worth the value!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OzarkButterfly
,OzarkMountains
,AR
July 9, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Wow equals Yum
July 9, 2012
I had seen cooking shows that have used cedar planks and found these and decided to give them a try. We grilled lobster tails and WOW! The taste was very delicious!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mismax
,Houston
,MS
Houston, MS
June 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great for Salmon and Lobster Tails
June 27, 2012
I used these planks to grill the WS Maine lobster tails I purchased, and they were wonderful! Also grilled some wild caught Copper River king salmon on them using WS Potlatch seasoning and they came out moist and flavorful. These planks are better than others I have purchased and I will order them again soon.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size
Review 6 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paulalfs
,Odessa
,FL
March 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
We love the flavor of these planks!
March 13, 2012
We love the flavor of these cedar planks. We use the potlatch seasoning and the planks when grilling salmon.What a delicious combination!
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, adds flavor
Review 7 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RenoDianne
Reno, NV
July 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Easy Use with delicious results
July 6, 2011
The cedar planks are fabulous. The Salmon came out perfectly. When we grill for just the two of us, we cut the planks in half. Love using them!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver
Review 8 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grillinjim
Reelfoot Lake, TN
June 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Excellent Plank Product
June 21, 2011
Have used these planks for years. Always the same quality and they enhance the flavor of Salmon.
Review 9 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AppearanceIsEverything
Chicago, IL
May 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
One time use, but good for charcoal addition
May 25, 2011
Bought these for my dad for his birthday, to use for grilling salmon, etc. They've been great- enhance the flavor wonderfully, and last long enough and well enough to thoroughly grill. Recommend soaking at least 3 hours, preferably overnight. Do NOT use with a mainly lemon juice based marinade- reacts oddly with cedar and leaves an unpleasantly sharp taste- some other base with a few splashes of lemon juice is OK. However, soaking in water with a few splashes of bourbon introduces an interesting depth to any marinade.
No matter what you hear, these are ONE TIME USE planks. They will NOT last longer than that, but we break up the used planks and add them to the charcoal for future fires- adds flavor to any meat!
Overall, they do exactly what they're supposed to do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile
Cons: durability, one-time use
Review 10 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scrabbleplayer
March 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
fabulous item!
March 29, 2011
When grilling salmon, we use the plank. The smoky cedar enhances the flavor of the salmon.
Good quality cedar, so it can be used several times.
Review 11 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kimosabe
Little Rock, Arkansas
August 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Cedar Planks For Grilling Fish
August 18, 2010
I've been using these all summer to grill
Pacific salmon filets, and the subtle smoky
results have been fabulous. I prep the fish,
ahead of time, with s/p, garlic butter and
lemon zest, grill it on the smoking plank
until medium rare, and serve it with a salsa
of nectarines, fresh mint, lime juice, minced
red onion and serrano pepper. Delicious.
Review 12 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brennie
Schenectady, NY
July 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great for fish
July 23, 2010
The planks are great for cooking all types of fish including shrimp. It can also be used for vegetables as well. I like using the planks rather than foil - it is easier to use, cleaner and tasier.
Review 13 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
minims
Baltimore, MD
July 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
cedar planked salmon
July 21, 2010
Do not toss out the planks once you have used them! Just wash the planks good side, and save for your next cook-out. If they're in bad shape you can soak them in water, then place directly on the fire so they smoke and burn. Neat recycling.... and just as tasty the second time around....
Review 14 for Cedar Grilling Planks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
paloma
MEXICO
September 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
good
September 20, 2009
THE PLANKS GIVE GREAT FLAVOR TO THE SALMON AND MEAT... BUT THE ONLY THING IS THAT THE PLANK GETS REALLY BURNED..AND I DONT REALLY KNOW IF YOU CAN REUSE IT... BUT FLAVOR IS GREAT AND DIFFRENT!!!
Review 15 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dianer
The Plains, VA
August 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Delicious Grilled Seafood!
August 20, 2009
I received a set of these grilling planks as a Christmas gift last year. I admit, I was a little skeptical. However, the planks were so easy to use and the flavor so delicious, that I will never grill fresh salmon any other way! I am on my second set of grilling planks now.
Review 16 for Cedar Grilling Planks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PalGul
Oslo, Norway
August 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Works in Europe as well
August 8, 2009
We were served salmon on these planks when we visited friends in Boston. As Norwegians, we're pretty used to different ways of handling salmon. This was a nice experience, and we brought planks home. They're fine for seafood, and they have also worked with chicken and pork. They can definitely be used several times, as described by the Californian below.
Review 17 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
July 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Multiple use is fine!!
July 22, 2009
For folks who say only use these once, I say "who raised you?" :-)
Seriously, you CAN use cedar planks multiple times. First, don't cook over such a high flame that the plank is constantly on fire. That will decrease your ability to use it again.
After using the plank, let it cool so you can handle it easily. Then, wash/scrub the side of the plank that had contact with the food. It won't be perfect when you are done, but get it pretty darn clean. You can then use it again. I think the odds of a food-borne illness are low.
We ONLY cook salmon on planks, now. The variable is what "sauce" we use, with a healthy dose of pesto being our favorite.
Review 18 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ggy46
Louisiana
July 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great for Seafood
July 7, 2009
Makes grilling seafood very easy and tasty. Loved the smoky flavor and texture of seafood once it was cooked.
Review 19 for Cedar Grilling Planks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jbpeek
June 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
clever concept
June 23, 2009
everyone that we've had over and used the boards for grilling has loved them.
As a bonus, fish like tilapia and shrimp are much easier to cook
Review 20 for Cedar Grilling Planks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cyndi09
Texas
May 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Great!
May 11, 2009
These are great! Just wanted to clarify that these are for one time use. There are several comments about them not holding up. They should be used once and the tossed out. No cedar planks are designed for multiple use.
page1 2 next