Cedar Chicken Coop & Run with Planter

Raise farm-fresh eggs-and herbs and vegetables to enjoy with them - in this space-efficient coop-run-and-planter combination. It's hand built in Washington state from solid western red cedar custom milled by a local, family-run saw mill. A galvanized metal roof keeps the spacious interior dry, while a mesh floor allows manure to fall through, virtually eliminating the need to clean inside the coop. The two nesting boxes are accessible through a drop-down back door at waist height, for easy egg collection. Beneath the coop, a mesh-enclosed run gives hens 25 square feet of space to forage and exercise. The planter box arrives ready to fill with soil and plants and is equipped with a drainage system that keeps water from falling into the run below. Hand-built from sustainably harvested western red cedar, custom milled by a local, family owned sawmill and delivered to the workshop via ferry. Thanks to the wood's superior natural rot resistance, left unfinished, it will weather to a soft gray. Topped with a galvanized-metal roof. Spacious, watertight interior includes two nest boxes, removable for cleaning. Sized to comfortably house four hens - up to six if they are allowed to range freely during the day. Heavy-duty mesh floor allows manure to fall through, so the coop stays clean inside. Back door drops down for easy two-handed egg collecting with no need to bend or crouch. Chicken door and egg door lock to keep hens safe from predators. An interior perch allows hens to relax in a comfortable position. Vents and doors with galvanized wire mesh allow for plenty of fresh air, while keeping predators out. Area below coop provides 25 square feet of run space (approx. 5' x 5' x 3' high overall) enclosed with cedar-framed heavy-duty galvanized-wire mesh with openings small enough to keep out both rats and tiny raccoon hands. Ladder can be raised, via a cord above the egg door, to keep chicks safely sheltered until they feather out and to secure hens inside while you rake out the run. Built in planter box is lined with weed fabric to keep soil contained and set over a sloping galvanized metal roof that channels water out the side, past the edge of the run. White Glove delivery; we'll assemble the coop and place it for you. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cedar Chicken Coop & Run with Planter
Review 1 for Cedar Chicken Coop & Run with Planter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WannabeFarms
,Santa Monica
,CA
April 19, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Happy Chicken Home
April 19, 2014
Once we got through multiple delivery and damage issues and got the coop in place, I have been very pleased with this purchase. I love the design of the coop--but truly, it is a coop--not a run. It's perfect for sleeping quarters and laying eggs, but not acceptable for confinement. The good news is that it's easy to add a run---our add-on is massive--and I feel very satisfied that we have a beautiful and sturdy coop as well as healthy and human living conditions for our hens.
I wish that the under-roost area was easier to clean and we did have to replace the nylon strap that was stapled (!) to the ramp by drilling a holes and attaching nylon cord, but this was one of several small repairs that we made in exchange for WS's very reasonable discount on a minimally damaged item.
Pros: Easy to Use, material, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Heloise
Davis, CA
Posted May 2, 2014
adding a run
Hi WannabeFarms. I have purchased this coop as well and am also interested in extending the run. Any additional info you would be willing to provide about how you did this (and/or pics) would be so helpful! Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Cedar Chicken Coop & Run with Planter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FreshEggs
,Bainbridge Island
,WA
March 16, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my chicken coop!
March 16, 2014
I enjoy looking at this attractive coop that I placed in my beautiful front yard, on the beach of Puget Sound.
I get many compliments, and the coop has plenty of room for my hens. I highly recomend this coop, I couldn't be more satisfied. My chickens love it too!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Cedar Chicken Coop & Run with Planter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JobeMcCleary
,Carmel
,CA
January 23, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big, very well built and gorgeous!
January 23, 2014
I have used this beautiful coop for a year now, and love it! It is very well built of solid wood and has stood up to the elements very well - actually gaining character as the siding has patinated into a silvery gray. We get constant comments about how it looks, and love that it occupies a small footprint in our small city yard, yet is quite big due to the two-story construction. The planter works great too - has a simple mechanism that directs all the water out and over the run below (which is hard to see in the pictures). We grow hanging herbs along the border of the planter to a nice affect.
I am impressed that something sold this day and age is actually nicer than it looks in the picture. Thats a first! Inspired me to write my first ever review! - Jobe, Carmel, CA
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mamachrisv
Wellsboro, PA
Posted February 14, 2014
Question about coop
Hello!
How many chickens are you able to fit comfortably in yours? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Cedar Chicken Coop & Run with Planter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HensRUs
,Bedford
,NY
October 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
26of 39found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WAY TOO SMALL!
October 3, 2013
This "coop" is beautiful and looks great - but is nowhere near large enough for the stated four hens, let alone six. I find this type of coop and tractors as well to be quite cruel unless the hens are let out all day to free range or put in a much larger pen as soon as they wake up in the morning. Chickens are curious, active creatures and love to zoom around, investigating and playing! They do not stand still and stare out the mesh. They need to peck the ground, look for bugs, graze - and this cannot be done in 25 sf. of space. Please be a kind chicken owner and build a proper run that is large enough for your chickens to play, or better yet, let them free range. This coop is suitable for two or three hens, tops, and even then they must have another, larger space in which to spend their days.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Size
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
HenMama
Western Massachusetts
Posted June 15, 2014
Agree with that
I've had a dozen hens protected by roosters for 5 years now, and my husband (a contractor) built a fine, secure hen house and coop according to recommended nesting, roosting and roaming dimensions, the latter for when extreme weather restricts their usual free ranging. Lucky for my hens! I agree that this product does not appear to provide enough run room for 4 hens--maybe 2-3 bantams, and even then I would extend additional run area for them. I wonder if this structure has the minimum nest box space requirement per hen.
Additionally, I am concerned if the entire bottom of the roaming area is secured by wire--if it is not, predators will dig beneath the structure and get in that way. Especially persistent are coons and weasels, and they are brutal chicken predators.
0points
Customer avatar
KatieWil
Dallas, TX
Posted April 22, 2014
Have to agree...somewhat
Chickens are , by nature, a very curious and inquisitive breed that like to dig, scratch and be engaged. Bored chickens (once they have investigated the pen for the first hour in the morning) are prone to being lazy or pretty much "dull" in their minds. I do, however, feel this is a better substitute for 2 hens/chickens to 3, but not anywhere near 4-6, unless you are raising bantams! If you can change the environment up a bit inside-using scratch, chicken toys to keep them stimulated, then it would work well for 2-3 hens. Anymore than that and you are not using good sense without attaching a run to this.
0points
Customer avatar
LAchickchick
Los Angeles
Posted November 22, 2013
Excellent Coop Layout and Size
I'm buying one of these coops tomorrow and can't wait to get my three hens in it. It's the perfect size for small yards when chickens need to be confined. While I allow my chickens to roam every day, on windy or stormy days I would much rather have them secure in the coop. The coop allows my chickens to stretch their legs and flap their wings. I think saying that this line of coops is "quite cruel..." is harsh and misleading. I also like to assume responsible chicken owners are looking at this line of coops.
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
Ellendy
Santa Cruz CA
Posted October 22, 2013
Top 10 Contributor
I have just purchased a second coop, and...
...while I understand that some people let their chickens run free, I don't agree with the philosophy. This coop has all the features you need to raise happy, productive hens: two floors for hens to hang out, huge roost, watertight roof, egg boxes that don't collect feces, and wire that makes it predator proof, which is very important in my area. It is also very easy to clean out.
We will be fencing in an area to give the hens more space to play in during the day, now that we have two coops, but our hens are currently happy, healthy, engaged in their surroundings, and very productive. There's a difference between urban and rural chicken raising. It's also very important to me to have an esthetically pleasing presentation for everything on our property. This coop has all those features. I wouldn't own two of them if the dozens of coops I reviewed before buying this one hadn't fallen short in some key way. With the high-quality construction and the huge planter, this coop is perfect for our needs. I am not sure that the reviewer has actually tried this product, because I don't see how one could not find perfect for backyard chickens! I think this is really a question of personal philosophy and taste. Everyone has right to his or her opinion, but to reject something this fab out of hand is puzzling to me.
+2points
3of 4found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 5 for Cedar Chicken Coop & Run with Planter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
August 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spectacular Coop!
August 19, 2013
I love this coop so much that I am planning to order another one so that we can expand. It is made of very high quality cedar, super-strong hardware cloth, and a great watertight roof! After just four days, the hens have learned to adapt to "condo' living and go up and downstairs without encouragement. Plus, the coop smells great due to the cedar, and a guest even remarked on it. When have you ever heard of a coop smelling acceptable? One of our friends is also our general contractor, and he thought the layout and construction was spot on. We love the big living space that occupies only a 5'x5' footprint and doesn't take up the whole yard. Also, the White Glove Delivery Service set the whole thing up quickly. To prep your space, I recommend laying hardware cloth, covering it with paving stones, and stapling the edges of the cloth to the inside of the coop.
Pros: Quality, material
Review 6 for Cedar Chicken Coop & Run with Planter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TxLadybug
,Longview
,Tx
June 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chicken utopia
June 29, 2013
This cedar house smells wonderful and looks great. It's practical in the way it is arranged with the upstairs/downstairs accommodations. Space saver and looks great. I've recently had several "chicken house" contractors in the yard - they always comment on the craftsmanship and are very impressed and WOW at the cedar. According to them, the use of cedar justifies the cost.
Pros: Quality, material, Size, Appearance, Design