This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer

Whether used for sous vide cooking or for storing meat, fish, vegetables and fruit safely and naturally without preserving agents, this easy-to-use, powerful vacuum sealer removes the air from the included pouches for compact, tightly sealed storage. Fully automatic operation works with just the touch of a button. Professional-quality double sealing bar ensures pouches remain air-tight. Fold-out cutter allows you to accurately adjust pouch size without using scissors. Stop button allows you to manually regulate vacuum process when sealing more sensitive foods. Includes flexible tube for creating a vacuum in different containers. Includes one 7.9" x 19.7 ft vacuum roll and one 10.8" x 19.7 ft. vacuum roll. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
7 of 15(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
Review 1 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
allergictotrees
,Santa Monica
,CA
Bellevue, WA
October 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
does not work well with liquid
October 4, 2013
I was told that this model could handle foods with marinade. It cannot. I get a lot of air bubbles, a lot of cleanup in the reservoir, as well as needing to double seal the built in double seal. returning this tomorrow and ordering the ARY VacMaster chamber model instead.
the design of the unit could break down after repeated use. the cutting unit built in, as well as the locks on both ends to secure the seal seem fragile to me.
sealing items without a lot of moisture requires extra bag space (6"-8") at the top and bottom to create a good seal.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Fragile, won't work if food was transferred from a marinad
Review 2 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
StanY
,Fort Lauderdale
,FL
May 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
POOR QUALITY
May 29, 2013
Purchased this item about a year ago (or less) Used infrequently (about 6 to 8 times). Did okay job with vacuum sealing; however, unit is extremely poorly designed. Went to vac seal yesterday, and locking tab to hold lid down on left side. had broken off. This tab is a small, flimsy plastic piece. Cannot fathom why any manufacturer would produce such an inferior product. Unit is now useless unless the user physically holds down the lid while the unit vacuum sequence runs. MY RECOMMENDATION - AVOID BUYING THIS POORLY DESIGNED UNIT! SPEND YOUR MONEY ON A PRODUCT FROM A REPUTABLE COMPANY; ESPECIALLY MADE IN THE USA.
Pros: none
Cons: Quality, Fragile, poor design
Review 3 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CMfromTX
,DFW
,TX
March 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Second chance
March 13, 2012
I bought this unit primarily to vacuum seal jars. After purchasing the unit I went online and found the adapters to use for regular and wide-mouth canning jars. Bought those and a supply of jars. The first 2 dozen or so times, it worked beautifully, then it stopped sealing the jars. I tried new lids/seals, different sizes, etc. Nada. When I removed the hose from the adapter, all I got was a pitifully weak "poof" - not even close to the old "whoosh" I heard when the machine was new (about 60 days previous to this). Today, I took it back to the store. They gave me a new one, and it works like a champ. I hope the first one was just an aberration. I love the Caso vacuum sealer! I sous vide just fine with this machine and my slow cooker. Beef tips to die for! Use them in stroganoff, over rice with gravy, etc. Tender, moist chicken like you have never experienced. Plus, I have vacuum sealed jars in my fridge that have 2 month old cheese in them with nary a sign of mold.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
doritos
houston,texas
Posted June 23, 2012
caso vacume sealer
Where did find the canister sealer part
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bordeauxbuff
,Boston
,MA
Boston, MA
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Not for sous vide cooking
January 1, 2012
I have owned this unit for over a year, and returned it twice to WS for two new units. At first I thought my units were defective, as bags were not sealing correctly, but then I came to realize the shortcoming of this unit: it is NOT for sous vide cooking, and it will not properly seal any bags that have a drop of fluid in them.
This does a decent job of sealing for dry foods, but if you are looking for a vacuum sealer for use with the Polyscience unit, you need to spring for an air chamber vacuum unit such as the Ary.
Review 5 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KBLady
,San Ramon
,CA
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Automatic Vacuum/Seal Works Sporadically
September 12, 2011
I vacuum seal bulk purchases of meat and fresh fish. I had been using a Food Saver. Thought this German machine carried by W-S would do the trick.but it has the same problem: one time in ten does the vacuum/seal function work the way it is supposed to: vacuum then automatically seal. I went to the Caso website to look at the Troubleshooting section of the manual: not one word of information regarding this. Instruction manual that came with the machine was very limited. The bag rolls are expensive as well. For the price, I expected dependable functionality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design
Cons: Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 6 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smiller
The Woodlands, Texas
August 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
What every kitchen needs
August 17, 2011
This is a wonderful tool in the kitchen. It makes freezing meats, leftovers and other food products a snap. No more freezer burns! Easy to use when storing food and makes reheating leftover so easy with no mess.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 7 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
slobey
Wildomar
July 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Doesn't hold up
July 18, 2011
When I first purchased this product, I opened the box and noticed that the cutter (plastic) was broken. I returned it and WS replaced it immediately. I used it for a couple of months and noticed that the heat strip was pulling away from where it was affixed and was wrinkled on one side. This caused problems with the larger bags but I primarily use the smaller ones. Then one day in the middle of sealing, the locking pin on the right (plastic) just broke.
I contacted the manufacturer and explained what happened and the only response I received was an address in germany. I guess I am suppose to just send it to them and wait to see what they will charge me.
I have never had any complaints with products purchased though Williams Sonoma but the quality of this product is not in the Williams Sonoma tradition.
$200 down the drain. I think I would be better off getting a food saver, at least I know I can get it fixed without sending it halfway around the world.
Pros: Design
Cons: Loud, Fragile
Review 8 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bina48
Satellite Beach, FL
May 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Yes it works
May 7, 2011
I have tried a number of other brands before buying the Caso now I give it as a gift to others. Not only does it seal well its a perfect size for my kitchen. I feel I'm becoming an expert since I use it everyday while cooking Sous Vide for my family.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Assembly
Cons: Loud
Review 9 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
calisandra
Wausau, WI
May 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Caso Germany-Made in China?
May 3, 2011
I bought this unit because I wanted a high quality vacuum food sealer to replace my food sealer.
It would not create a solid vacuum. I checked the seal and the seal was breached. I resealed and still, no vacuum. So, I tried another bag. Still no vacuum. My Dept store food sealer worked much better for less than half the money.
Caso claims that the double seal ensures a tight seal. It didn't.
I noticed right away that the product says Germany but the packaging says made in China.
I love Williams-Sonoma; own many of their electrics and enjoy many of their food products but I did not like this vacuum sealer.
Cons: Quality, not a german product
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mrsnoahrosen
Santa Monica
March 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Wish it would've continued working
March 16, 2011
Used this exactly twice then it started to have a mind of its own and "vacuum and seal" with nothing in it. The first two times we used it were magical: sealed some proscuitto and homeade sausage. Then it decided not to work anymore... Hopefully the store will refund us the 200 bucks or give us another...
Review 11 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cpamal
St. Louis, MO.
February 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Finally a vacumsealer that works
February 26, 2011
Was skeptical with the high cost of this, but searched high and low after going through so many foodsavers. Researched all on internet. Those are not made the way they used to be and break or just give poor seal. Love this so far! Quiet and fast, dependable. Found the bag feeder accessory to be a nuisance, so we leave that off and just cut the bags ourselves- easy. Already needs new rolls of bags. Will check out the canisters as mentioned in previous posting. Love It!
Review 12 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RitaB
Roslyn, PA
January 29, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Canister mystery solved.
January 29, 2011
I have used this machine about a dozen times now and like the simplicity and performance. Like others have mentioned, there is no explanation of where to get canisters. I took the 2-ended hose to a store that had Foodsaver brand canisters. The hose fit so I bought them. I tried them at home and they work! The machine shuts off when the canister air is removed. When pressing the release valve on top, I heard a swish of air to indicate that the container was truly vacuum sealed.
Review 13 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kat4kat
fairfax, va
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
2of 7found this review helpful.
i'm not sure if it's really great
December 29, 2010
bought this for xmas. I tried to seal a banana and plan to leave it out for days. However, I noticed some air inside the sealed bag. The next day, it's pretty obvious that air is leaking into the bag. I'm not sure if all vacuum sealer does this - but for double seal and it still doesn't seal properly, I'm thinking of taking it back to the store.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
m61376
NY
Posted May 4, 2012
Fresh fruits and vegetables release gas, so the air you are seeing is not necessarily due to a leak inhte seal.
0points
Customer avatar
cthayer
St. Louis
Posted April 17, 2011
Are you sure it was leaking?
All fruits and vegetables emit gases when they are warm or room temp. as they ripen. Our daughter had jalepenos do the same thing when left out and it was the gases produced from the ripening and not leakage. I would give it another try and put the banana in the fridge instead of leaving it out.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Massachusetts
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Caso my way to Sous Vide Turkey!
November 23, 2010
While the instructional manual for the sealer is terrible,the unit works exceptionally well. I suggest you first review the video in WS site on how it works.
There is a button on the top right marked "Canister", but the instructions once again give you no clue as to how and when to use it. W-S crew and I figured the extra piece of plastic tube in the back storage roll compartment is useless. While we think you can stick it in a whole on the top right of the unit, THERE IS NO CANISTER! and nowhere on WS site does it mention in the Essential Companion Products", any such canister, or what you'd even do with it! Very strange, but again I am happy with the product.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RitaB
Roslyn, PA
Posted February 10, 2011
Answer to the canister question
I don't know if the author of this review will get to see this, but for help with canisters, please see my recent review entitled 'Canister Mystery Solved'.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Caso VC200 Vacuum Food Sealer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bakingismything
Atlanta, GA
October 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
GREAT product!
October 22, 2010
I just purchased the Caso vacuum food sealer yesterday and have thoroughly enjoyed using it. One of the best features is the double seal. I don't think other models offer this feature. Although Williams-Sonoma promotes it primarily for sous vide cooking, I do not intend on using it for that purpose. Buying food (especially meats) in bulk is more economical, but you have to be careful about freezer burn. This vacuum sealer will prevent that from occurring. If anyone uses a dehydrator, you know that air is the enemy of dehydrated foods. Using a vacuum food sealer will ensure your dehydrated foods will be safe for storage and future consumption. I'm so glad I made the purchase. Money well spent!