Caso Microwave

Sleek European styling gives this microwave oven a trim footprint on the countertop while offering generous capacity. Engineered in Germany, the oven has been rigorously tested and finely tuned to produce perfect results every time, whether you're reheating leftovers, steaming vegetables or defrosting. Eight preset functions take the guesswork out of melting butter, warming coffee, making popcorn and more. 10 microwave power levels. Eight preprogrammed settings include Popcorn, Coffee, Potatoes, Soup, Melt Butter, Veggies, Defrost by Weight and Reheat by Time. Quick Start, Speed Defrost and Auto Defrost modes. 95-minute timer with end signal. Revolving glass turntable. Digital clock. Childproof lock. Stainless-steel interior with light. Stainless-steel housing with glass door. .88 cu. ft. internal capacity.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
1 of 6(17%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Caso Microwave
Review 1 for Caso Microwave
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
franfajr
April 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good looks, mediocre performance
April 1, 2014
This might be the only product I've ever purchased at WS that I wasn't fully satisfied with. The unit has a kind of sleek beauty, but its performance is mediocre. Defrosting meat leaves it partially cooked around the edges. The unit is extremely noisy when running at any power. The build feels cheap. And, worst of all, the interface is totally counterintuitive. None of these are unusual defects for a microwave, but I was expecting something more from German engineering, especially at this price point.
Pros: Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Loud, poor interface
Review 2 for Caso Microwave
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
USFP
,South Bend
,IN
February 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Possessed- Turns On By Itself
February 2, 2014
I purchased this product approximately one year ago because of its esthetics. In terms of function, it has sufficient power and works as advertised. Recently, however, it began occasionally turning on by itself, as if possessed by a spirit. Resetting by unplugging doesn't resolve the issue. The reason for my one star rating is because this is supposed to be a well built unit sold through high-end retailers. The door even says "Germany," implying quality. I will return it and get a replacement, but it bothers me that my ugly “wood” laminated Panasonic microwave from 1983 still performs like new, while this beautiful stainless steel German engineered oven lasted around one year. Due to all the negative reviews, I think Williams-Sonoma should drop this brand and carry a more dependable one. Yes, Williams-Sonoma has an excellent return policy, but my time is worth something, and I now have to waste at lease an hour boxing it up, driving to the shipping company, then driving back home.
Pros: Power, Size, Design
Cons: Quality, flimsy
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
USFP
South Bend, IN
Posted February 23, 2014
Replacement Broke after 10 days.
This is a follow up to my original review. The replacement Caso M25 arrived on Feb. 13, 2014. Today, Feb. 23, 2014, the replacement also stopped working. Got on the phone with William-Sonoma and set up UPS pickup from my door. Right after call, microwave mysteriously started working again. A few minutes later, it once again shut down.
I requested a refund on my credit card so I could buy a microwave elsewhere, since this is currently the only microwave at William-Sonoma. I may, however, have to get a replacement M25 if only store credit is issued.
Oh well, another week or so without a microwave...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Caso Microwave
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Franka
,Boynton Beach
,Fl
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Malfunctions - a lot!
January 17, 2013
Have had 2 Caso Microwaves. Both have been defective. The first Microwave was defective, right out of the box. Microwave would turn on, by itself when the door was shut. Item was returned. I was provided with an immediate replacement.
We have been using the current Caso microwave for a year. It gets consistent, daily use. The Caso was functioning OK up until a couple of days ago. As before, this microwave has begun to turn on when the door is shut. It also has begun to shut down completely if it is turned on for more than 45 seconds. The machine, from my perspective, is unusable.
I have had multiple microwave ovens over the years and never have had this kind of experience.
The Caso appears to be a very temperamental, delicate and fragile piece of equipment. Too fragile and temperamental for use in my household. Thankfully there is no shortage of microwave ovens, on the market, and it can be easily replaced. Just hate having to lug a microwave back to the store, for a 2nd time.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, Fragile, malfunctions, 2nd defective oven rec'd
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CGam
Abilene, KS
Posted May 3, 2014
Not for me
Was ready to buy but based on these reviews will have to take a pass.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Caso Microwave
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
evitapolo
,Brooklyn
,NY
December 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not so easy to use
December 10, 2012
I think this oven looks good but it is not easy to use. Maybe i am not too smart but i had 3 people taking a look and between the weight selection and so on... trust me not so easy.
Pros: Size, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality
Review 5 for Caso Microwave
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
coldplay123
,Columbus
,OH
August 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-10points
0of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Microwave and well designed.
August 31, 2012
I remodeled my kitchen and need to find an small and stylish courntertop microwave. The Caso fit the bill perfrectly. While I orginally bought this unit for the looks, the functions (defrost, quick start, pre-cook settings) are great and well thoughtout. Another review mentioned a "new microwave" smell. While I did detect such a smell (as expected) it didn't linger after a few uses.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design
Review 6 for Caso Microwave
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KeeksV
,San Francisco
,CA
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing Product
January 25, 2012
I cannot get over how terrible this microwave is. I got it because of the looks and size and those are the only redeeming qualities I unpackaged the microwave and everything was okay for two weeks until the microwave became posessed. It turned on when I would shut the door and the plate would revolve but there wasn't anything I could do to stop it. Then I referred to the book and not only was not helpful they don't even have accurate customer service numbers. I made the call to the US number and it went to what seemed like some marketing business. If you are going to sell a product then you need to be sure there is a valid customer service department available to answer questions and techincal difficulties once there is no way to return this item. Needless to say, I lucked out I am within the 90 day return parameters and this microwave is going back!
Pros: Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, terrible manual
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LacyL
St. Petersburg, FL
Posted April 11, 2012
Top 25 Contributor
Thank you for your honesty!
Maybe if WS would find a microwave made in the USA or Europe, since this is 'European styling' it would work and be valued by your customers.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)