Caso Hand-Held Vacuum Sealer

Enjoy food at its freshest. With its ergonomic, lightweight design and easy operation, this handheld vacuum sealer allows you to seal and store batches of food to preserve maximum flavor more effectively than with traditional bags or containers. Tear-resistant, re-usable zip bags are safe for microwave reheating and sous vide cooking. Use the included bottle stoppers to vacuum-seal wine, reducing oxidation and preserving flavor. Vacuum sealing preserves food up to seven times longer than standard freezer bags; also prevents freezer burn. Cordless unit docks in its own power station for recharging. Vacuum sealer includes: 10 vacuum sealer bags. 2 wine-bottle stoppers. Charging station. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
4 of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Caso Hand-Held Vacuum Sealer
Review 1 for Caso Hand-Held Vacuum Sealer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
luvs2bake
,LA
August 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Convenient money-saver
August 30, 2014
I have a FoodSaver I love but hate the lack of flexibility on bag size. The Caso was on sale last year, and I thought reusable bags made it worth the risk. I am glad I did. I reseal all kinds of dry goods now that get used on a regular basis. I also started using the Caso bags for things I keep in the freezer but are short-term storage or aren't one-time use (corn meal, cookie dough, cookies, some leftovers).
I have a problem with too high a percentage of the bags unsealing, even brand new out of the box. I think the 20-25% estimate I saw is accurate. But it still saves me over the FoodSaver bags that aren't reusable. I just ordered my first refill packages since the ones I bought last year not because so many don't work but because I have greatly expanded my usage!
Since the units are on sale again, I am about to order another one for myself for backup, and I'm ordering one for my mom for Christmas. This would get 5 stars if they'd fix the problem with the bags.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly, money-saver, convenient
Cons: too high percentage bag failure
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KatieMonster
Brooklyn
Posted November 2, 2014
Other bags?
Has anyone tried using this with other bags? It looks like it *should* work with the ziplock version of the bags, which have been quite reliable.
I'd be thrilled to find a good hand held vac, particularly if it worked with grocery-store brands of vacuum-seal bags.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Caso Hand-Held Vacuum Sealer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MRinDallas
,Dallas
,TX
December 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't get this to seal
December 11, 2013
I have used this a few times since I bought it on sale at Williams-Sonoma. I love the concept and have wanted a sealer for a long time, but I didn't want a large one that would take up space, so this seemed perfect.
I've tried a few times to seal wine bottles with the rubber stoppers and was never able to get the seal that I get with my hand pumped Vacu Vin, so I stopped trying. I didn't see in the instruction manual if the lights are supposed to indicate when all of the air has been removed, but that WOULD BE a big help...
I've tried sealing the bags several times. They appear to be sealed and I get all of the air vacuumed out. However, when I go back to the bag later, it has allowed air inside. This may be that the port on the bag allows in air, but that means the design of the sealer is bad too...
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Quiet
Cons: Power, ineffective design
Review 3 for Caso Hand-Held Vacuum Sealer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rosemary101
,Southern Pines
,NC
May 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Battery Problems
May 14, 2013
This is my second Caso Sealer. The first one would not charge (the red light never came on). I returned to you and you promptly replaced it. This replacement worked fine at first (although I have had some problems with the bags). However, it appears that I have a battery leakage and the unit will no longer charge. Any suggestions before I return it for a second time?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Speed
Cons: battery problems
Review 4 for Caso Hand-Held Vacuum Sealer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LemonXXX
,NY
February 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Small and smart
February 24, 2013
I like it a lot. Its easy to use, doesn't consume space, and the bags are reusable. A guess as to why other reviewers have sealing issues is that the seal may have become greasy. The tricky part is getting the food into the bag without touching the sealing edges. I put items like meat and fish in a cheap thin plastic bag first, leaving one end open before storing or freezing so it is possible to re-use the Caso bag even for those foods.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Design
Review 5 for Caso Hand-Held Vacuum Sealer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
shesalittlebear
,Rocklin
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product, but storage bags need fixing
November 24, 2012
This a very good machine. It's easy to use and powerful for its size. Unfortunately, the storage bags do not seal about 20-25 percent of the time. This becomes costly because the bags are not cheap. I've tried pressing, and pressing, and pressing on the sealing strips but air is still released. I am not sure if the sealing strip is defective or there are little holes in the defective bags. I am a regular at the local Williams-Sonoma's Sunday technique classes. I spoke to another regular about this issue; she told me that she had the same problem. This product could be an absolute must have if the storage bags had a lower defective rate. I would like to buy another box of bags just to make sure that I didn't get a defective batch, but I do not want to take the risk of wasting my money. I am unclear on WS's return policy on partially used products without a receipt (the good bags are in the freezer with garden stuff and I tossed the defective bags).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power
Cons: storage bags are sometimes defective
Review 6 for Caso Hand-Held Vacuum Sealer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
September 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Addition to Vacuum Sealer Family
September 10, 2012
I religiously use a conventional vacuum sealer, and don't mind buying new wrap for things like raw meat and fish. I use this unit primarily for dry goods, which makes sense because as you use a bag of oats, for example, you have to continuously make new bags on the conventional roll vacuum sealers because every time you take some out, you have to cut some off. The only think I don't like is washing out the bags.
My husband and I really love the wine sealing stoppers, though. They produce a much better sealer than the manual pumps do. We would like to see WS stock a pack of extra wine stoppers.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Speed
Cons: wash out reusable bags
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Caso Hand-Held Vacuum Sealer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cigardude
,Hershey
,PA
Hummelstown, PA
August 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Avoid at all cost
August 26, 2012
I purchased one of these. It worked great the first time. Since then it has refused to create a vacuum in any of the bags which came with it. It went into last week's trash.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Loud, Fragile
Review 8 for Caso Hand-Held Vacuum Sealer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cbzdok
,Concord
,NC
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Only had it a day but in love
June 26, 2012
Perhaps it is too hasty for a review but I received my Caso Hand-Held yesterday and I am already in love with it and so excited. It is compact, simple, powerful, and just makes me excited lol! Much nicer than having one of those long big vacuum sealers. I immediately went into my refrigerator and started vacuum sealing everything and I was really impressed. This will pay for itself in no time with all the food I am saving.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Quiet