This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Caso C21 Induction Burner

Induction cooking is a top choice in European households - and this German-designed appliance shows why. Designed for precision cooking with optimal safety and versatility, the state-of-the-art induction cooker is the ultimate "extra burner" for everyday meals and easy entertaining. Sleek portable burner guarantees foolproof operation with sophisticated touchscreen controls. Customize cooking with ten power settings and temperature controls from 140deg.-430deg.F - plus pre-set "Keep Warm" and "Slow Cook" functions. Boils water for pasta or potatoes much faster than ordinary gas or electric ranges, making it perfect for preparing meals quickly. Electronic sensor detects when a pot or pan is placed on the cooking surface; an auto shut-off feature prevents overheating. Set cooking times using the 120-minute timer. Dual digital displays simultaneously show timer and power/temperature settings. Durable, easy-to-clean ceramic glass cooking surface remains cool to the touch. For use only with induction-ready cookware. Examples of suitable cookware materials include magnetic stainless steel, enameled steel and cast iron - copper, aluminum and glass are not compatible. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
3 of 5(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Caso C21 Induction Burner
Review 1 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cwright2003
,Sammamish
,WA
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
My new favorite cooktop
January 9, 2012
I've never used an induction cooktop before. I took this cooktop out of the box, plugged it in, put my All-Clad stainless steel 12" chef's pan on it (the base is smaller than 12"), filled it with ingredients and water, put the lid on, set the power level and timer, and came back when the timer alarm went off to a perfectly cooked meal and a cooktop that turned itself off after the programmed time. Wonderful! The temperature control was instantaneous and precise, and stayed extremely consistent throughout my 45min cooking time, unlike electric or gas stoves which tend to accumulate heat during cooking. I'm very pleased with my purchase!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: Loud
Review 2 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whineaux
,St. peters
,MO
January 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
I could not love it more
January 17, 2012
I love how quickly it heats and how responsive it is when you change temperature. It's extremely light and easy to clean. I use it more often than my stovetop.
I do find that if I'm doing a high heat sear the pan will overheat. I typically use enameled cast iron which holds heat really well so that could be the issue.
I too tossed my slow cooker. I also love it for making stock because of the extremely consistent temperature control. This isn't my extra burner, it's my favorite burner.
The controls took some getting used to, but now that "I get it" they are just fine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 3 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tompittsburgh
,Pittsburgh
,PA
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great German cooktop
January 12, 2012
Reviewers who have had a difficult time changing from the power setting to the temperature setting haven't understood the controls. I had that problem too, at first, and then I decided there had to be a simple way of operating it. The problem is that we're used to tapping these kinds of controls. Evidently the Germans - at least the ones at Caso - have decided that tapping isn't the best way to operate digital buttons - and they may be right. Don't tap on the menu button. Just put your finger on it and hold it down and you will see how it scrolls automatically to the temperature setting. Very simple. Too bad the manual doesn't explain it. If the manual explained this, there wouldn't have been so many returns.)
Conclusion - It's a great unit with a small footprint and plenty of power. An excellent deal at the sale price of $199
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Loud
Review 4 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AlamoFoodie
,San Antonio
,TX
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
I Really Wanted to Like This
January 11, 2012
I was so excited when this went on sale for $199. We're planning to remodel in a couple years and put in an induction cook-top, so I thought this would be a great way to start. After I found a couple pans that would work (had to be magnetic - check your stainless - some works & some doesn't) and I made sure they were not to large (if it touches the metal edges, it doesn't work) I was ready to cook a few things.
It heated up really quick, but it overheated ALL THE TIME - I had to go down to a small 4" pot to keep the burner from overheating (I think it was an E3 code) .
So ... unless you use a really small pan or pot, it will generate too much heat and shut down again ... again ... again.
Too bad, cause I really wanted to like it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Assembly
Cons: Temperamental, overheats easily
Review 5 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nonni46
,Malden
,MA
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Induction Burner
January 9, 2012
I was so excited to receive my Caso C21 Induction Burner
and immediatley set it up and was so disappointed. I got it to work once and then I couldn't get it to work after that.
I'm in the process of returning it.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental