This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Caso C21 Induction Burner

Induction cooking is a top choice in European households - and this German-designed appliance shows why. Designed for precision cooking with optimal safety and versatility, the state-of-the-art induction cooker is the ultimate "extra burner" for everyday meals and easy entertaining. Sleek portable burner guarantees foolproof operation with sophisticated touchscreen controls. Customize cooking with ten power settings and temperature controls from 140deg.-430deg.F - plus pre-set "Keep Warm" and "Slow Cook" functions. Boils water for pasta or potatoes much faster than ordinary gas or electric ranges, making it perfect for preparing meals quickly. Electronic sensor detects when a pot or pan is placed on the cooking surface; an auto shut-off feature prevents overheating. Set cooking times using the 120-minute timer. Dual digital displays simultaneously show timer and power/temperature settings. Durable, easy-to-clean ceramic glass cooking surface remains cool to the touch. For use only with induction-ready cookware. Examples of suitable cookware materials include magnetic stainless steel, enameled steel and cast iron - copper, aluminum and glass are not compatible. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
5 of 11(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Caso C21 Induction Burner
Review 1 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cwright2003
,Sammamish
,WA
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
My new favorite cooktop
January 9, 2012
I've never used an induction cooktop before. I took this cooktop out of the box, plugged it in, put my All-Clad stainless steel 12" chef's pan on it (the base is smaller than 12"), filled it with ingredients and water, put the lid on, set the power level and timer, and came back when the timer alarm went off to a perfectly cooked meal and a cooktop that turned itself off after the programmed time. Wonderful! The temperature control was instantaneous and precise, and stayed extremely consistent throughout my 45min cooking time, unlike electric or gas stoves which tend to accumulate heat during cooking. I'm very pleased with my purchase!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: Loud
Review 2 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whineaux
,St. peters
,MO
January 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
I could not love it more
January 17, 2012
I love how quickly it heats and how responsive it is when you change temperature. It's extremely light and easy to clean. I use it more often than my stovetop.
I do find that if I'm doing a high heat sear the pan will overheat. I typically use enameled cast iron which holds heat really well so that could be the issue.
I too tossed my slow cooker. I also love it for making stock because of the extremely consistent temperature control. This isn't my extra burner, it's my favorite burner.
The controls took some getting used to, but now that "I get it" they are just fine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 3 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tompittsburgh
,Pittsburgh
,PA
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great German cooktop
January 12, 2012
Reviewers who have had a difficult time changing from the power setting to the temperature setting haven't understood the controls. I had that problem too, at first, and then I decided there had to be a simple way of operating it. The problem is that we're used to tapping these kinds of controls. Evidently the Germans - at least the ones at Caso - have decided that tapping isn't the best way to operate digital buttons - and they may be right. Don't tap on the menu button. Just put your finger on it and hold it down and you will see how it scrolls automatically to the temperature setting. Very simple. Too bad the manual doesn't explain it. If the manual explained this, there wouldn't have been so many returns.)
Conclusion - It's a great unit with a small footprint and plenty of power. An excellent deal at the sale price of $199
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Loud
Review 4 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AlamoFoodie
,San Antonio
,TX
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
I Really Wanted to Like This
January 11, 2012
I was so excited when this went on sale for $199. We're planning to remodel in a couple years and put in an induction cook-top, so I thought this would be a great way to start. After I found a couple pans that would work (had to be magnetic - check your stainless - some works & some doesn't) and I made sure they were not to large (if it touches the metal edges, it doesn't work) I was ready to cook a few things.
It heated up really quick, but it overheated ALL THE TIME - I had to go down to a small 4" pot to keep the burner from overheating (I think it was an E3 code) .
So ... unless you use a really small pan or pot, it will generate too much heat and shut down again ... again ... again.
Too bad, cause I really wanted to like it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Assembly
Cons: Temperamental, overheats easily
Review 5 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nonni46
,Malden
,MA
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Induction Burner
January 9, 2012
I was so excited to receive my Caso C21 Induction Burner
and immediatley set it up and was so disappointed. I got it to work once and then I couldn't get it to work after that.
I'm in the process of returning it.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental
Review 6 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frog9999
Bellevue, WA
June 2, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Induction Burner
June 2, 2011
I am not happy with the unit. I recieved it by mail and unit will not work. I will be returning the unit to one of the local retail stores.
Review 7 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ron09
Flemington, NJ
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Cooking surface not good for large pots
February 7, 2011
I returned this item based on what I read in the user manual--never plugged it in. Based on the manual, pots/pans should not touch the outer rim of the unit--This limited the bottom of the cookware not to exceed approx 9 3/4". Too small for me. Maybe a professionlal unit would better for me
Review 8 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WesQ
san diego
January 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great technology, difficult menu
January 31, 2011
It is fast and efficient. The unit is well made and I like the control options it offers. However the menu options are a problem. The menu offers 3 modes - power, temperature and timer. You have to press the menu button/pad twice in exactly the right way and timing for the unit to go into temperature mode. The menu pad is not user friendly.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
tompittsburgh
Pittsburgh
Posted January 12, 2012
Here's how you operate the menu button
When you press the menu button, don't "tap" it. Instead, put your finger down on the button and HOLD YOUR FINGER THERE and watch as it scrolls through the various functions automatically. When it gets to the temperature function, lift your finger. You can also tap the buttons to make incremental changes but (1) you won't get the temperature setting by tapping; and (2) the thing beeps every time you tap, so it's a lot quieter to scroll. I guess in Germany they press and hold, rather than tap. It's probably some sort of Freudian thing. it seems a little unnatural at first or counter-intuitive to hold your finger for any length of time on a cooking surface. Naturally you "tap" because you don't want to burn your finger - but that's the beauty of induction cooking. The cook top doesn't get hot on an induction cooker. All the energy is transferred to the food, so you can hold your finger there fearlessly. Don't worry. The only heat on the cook top is residual heat transferred to the glass from the cooking vessel. The buttons never get hot.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DECook
Delaware
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
A great investment
January 3, 2011
I bought this for Christmas dinner to avoid running out of burners the last hour before dinner is served.
My biggest fear was cooking with 40 degree temperature increments. However, the burner comes with power settings (1-10) that correspond to my stove.
I also feared the "E6 over heating error" mentioned in the reviews. With only half an hour until dinner, I crossed my fingers and set my 8 quart pot full of water and potatoes to go - and had no problems. I suspect that the other reviewer used a VERY LARGE pot. The professional grade burner might be better for him.
Induction does cook faster than my electric stove and I LOVED the 'keep warm' setting. It kept our soup course at the perfect temp without reducing it.
My only criticism has to do with protable stoves generally. A portable stove has no exhaust hood and less cleanable surroundings. I ended up with splatter on my butcher block and extra steam in the kitchen. Just something to keep in mind. Otherwise highly recommended.
Review 10 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bear99
Ottawa, Canada
September 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Changed the way I cook
September 27, 2010
I had a gas range and moved to a house with electric. I was going to convert to gas when my brother, who is a professional chef, suggested a induction. I bought this burner as a trial run to see if it would work for me.
It has been a game changer. I now do 100% of my cooking on this burner and only use the other range when I need an additional burner. From omelets to the most complex recipes the heat control and consistency has been outstanding.
I have now tossed my slow cooker also. The Creuset and Staub pieces work extremely well on the burner and can simmer for hours on presets with no issues.
The other reviewer noted some error issues. I was warned about this for all induction burners and had to do some experimenting. I have sorted out the pots that work fine and have had no other issues.
It now permanently resides on my stove and is the work horse in the kitchen!
Review 11 for Caso C21 Induction Burner
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Marco2u
ICT
August 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+33points
36of 39found this review helpful.
Disappointing
August 29, 2010
Temperature controls from 160°-430°F .. It should be noted the temperature can only be adjusted in 160, 180, 210, 250, 290, 320, 360, 390, 430 increments.
One sees E6 “Appliance over heating” error frequently when using larger pans
According to the CASO C21 operating manual E6 error “appears frequently” ..
When using the timer mode if an E6 error occurs, it leaves you hanging in a lurch how long did the food cook?