Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Jars Cantine Dinner Plates, Set of 4

The artistry of master ceramists is evident in every detail of these dinner plates from our Cantine stoneware collection-a fresh, modern interpretation of classic 1950s silhouettes. Famous for coaxing rustic warmth from every piece they make, artisans at Jars Ceramistes in southern France shape and glaze each plate using an intricate 17-step process to create a unique "crackled" appearance and creamy richness of color. Made of stoneware. Top surface has a distinctive glaze; bottom is unglazed natural matte bisque. Extremely durable and chip resistant. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. Set of four. Crafted in France by award-winning Jars Ceramistes, founded in 1857.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Jars Cantine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
Review 1 for Jars Cantine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fort Lauderdale
,FL
December 3, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Cracking, Nice Plates
December 3, 2015
Bought these plates about a month ago and all is perfect. French Made Stoneware? Yes, count me in. You will be please with your purchase and want to buy more.
No problems with hot food nor dishwashers. Not sure what the others were talking about with cracking.
Pros: Appearance, Quality, Color
Cons: none
Review 2 for Jars Cantine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Golden
,CO
December 2, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product.
December 2, 2015
I have used my Jars Cantine dinnerware daily for several years now and have had no problems. I put the dishes in the microwave, dishwasher and have never had a problem.
Great product, I bang them accidentally and they have never chipped.
Pros: Durable, Appearance, Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Jars Cantine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Rafael
,CA
December 28, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love these dishes
December 28, 2014
I am writing in response to the negative reviews, because my family has used these white plates and bowls daily for at least 3 years and everything looks brand new. No chips, scratches, stains on the back, or cracks. My one caution is that we have had problems when I have left dishes with tomato sauce or salsa remnants sitting for hours before rinsing. Twice the sauce has leached into the surface crackling, and it has taken much effort and patience to remove the red stains with either comet or barkeeper's friend. If I do a quick rinse after a meal (which I should be doing anyway!) there is no problem. We also stack them normally in the cabinet, without material between the plates, and there has been no scuffing. I am ordering more now in the blue color since I like them so much.
Review 4 for Jars Cantine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,St Paul
,MN
December 8, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love them - no cracking
December 8, 2014
We bought a total set of 24 about 1 year ago - a pretty big investment for our kitchen, but fell in love with the red. Have since bought the serving platters and bowls as well. I was logging in to see the other colors and was surprised to see these reviews on cracking. We have heavily used these for about the last year - 3 kids - and have not lost a single piece to a chip or crack.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Color, Appearance, Versatile, Design
Cons: price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Jars Cantine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Lakeville
,MI
Lakeville, MI
October 7, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Plates crack, NOT microwave safe
October 7, 2014
After 25 years (sasaki colorstone matte white), we decided to get new dishes. I loved the green and ordered 16 place settings (plates, salads, bowls, mugs). I've lost one bowl and three plates since the end of June 2014. They crack! Heated up leftovers in the microwave 40 seconds, had the plate in my hand, and pop!, there goes the plate. Two others have cracked when I've set cold meat on them to bring up to room temp before grilling. They're very expensive and last a couple of months. Just totally disgusted with the whole thing.
Pros: Color, Appearance
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, High-Maintenance, Fragile, not microwave safe
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Linae
Posted December 16, 2014
That is so strange
I need to keep my fingers crossed, of course, but I have had them for a few months without any problems. I have used them in the microwave daily and placed in the oven as well as placed hot and cold food on them - and so far so good. My husband, who loads the dishwasher, is pretty hard on the dishes, I should say, and even he has not broken any so far.
After reading these reviews, I may try to be more careful as they are indeed very expensive for casual dinnerware but I cannot help but wonder if it was just one bad batch...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Jars Cantine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,New York
,NY
September 15, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Plates crack when food is hot
September 15, 2014
We purchased 4 of these plates and 2 of them have broken in only a few weeks. Both times from placing hot food out of the oven onto the plates. They are fine at first but after a few moment you can hear the glaze pop on the plates. Disappointed especially because they look so nice. :(
Cons: Fragile
Review 7 for Jars Cantine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,New York City
,NY
September 14, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed.
September 14, 2014
We bought these plates with credit after our bridal shower. We were SO excited about them and after watching promo videos on the actual jars cantina website, we thought we were making a good decision. Unfortunately, we have had THE worst time with these. We returned plate #1 after we placed a scoop of rice on the plate and topped it with chili - it cracked immediately. We returned it and were given new one. Then we got home and realized we were given a cracked plate. We returned that and got another new one. A couple weeks later another plate cracked when I placed a piece of chicken parm on it. We are SO done with these plates. At $30/plate, we should be able to eat more than salad on it. VERY sad and would never recommend.
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 8 for Jars Cantine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,medford
,nj
January 2, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Jars Cantine
January 2, 2014
After much thought, I decided to just jump in and order the Jars Cantine dinnerware in the Grey and Yellow. The shipment came in perfect condition and I am thrilled with these plates. I recently had the opportunity to actually put them out for a small dinner party and they looked absolutely beautiful. I hesitated for quite a while before ordering due to the higher cost, but so far I would like to say that it was worth it. They have been in the dishwasher a few times now and no problems. Also I was concerned about the unglazed bottoms due to some negative review. However, again, no problems. Very happy with this purchase. Carol.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Jars Cantine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,bergen
,nj
May 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE THE BLUE
May 9, 2013
these are so beautiful. LOVE the colors! I choose the blue. nice quality, texture and of course made in France. QUALITY you can trust!