Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan

Developed through a unique collaboration between Calphalon and Williams-Sonoma, the Elite cookware collection sets a new standard for nonstick performance. Metal utensils won't damage the release performance of the durable, triple-layer nonstick interior, and the specially textured surface excels for searing foods-two key features that set this collection apart from other nonstick cookware. Made in the USA and exclusively ours, Elite cookware is also PFOA-free and dishwasher safe. This deep-sided pan ideal for everything from stir-frying and sauteing to simmering and braising. Premium hard-anodized aluminum ensures excellent heat conduction and uniform cooking. Triple-layer nonstick surface is durable enough to withstand metal whisks, spoons and spatulas. Textured Sear nonstick interior seals in flavor when browning or searing foods. PFOA-free. Polished stainless-steel handles are riveted. Ergonomically shaped handles offer a secure grip and comfortable lifting. Low-profile tempered-glass lid lets you view contents during cooking. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.263 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
16 of 19(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
Review 1 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Anaheim Hills
,CA
Anaheim Hills, Ca.
June 6, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Large and in charge
June 6, 2016
Although Calphalon says you can put this pan in the dishwasher,I wash it by hand. It is really non-stick, so cleaning is easy. Go to pan for suppers.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 2 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Plantation
,FL
March 15, 2016
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really big pan
March 15, 2016
The first time I used this pan I just stirred it lightly with a spoon and I had made scratches on the pan , it was advertised that it would not scratch the pan, very disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Tekranger
Potomac Falls, VA
Posted August 17, 2016
Experiencing similar issue
I bought this one with 6-qt back in January, 2016. The surface was showing scratches after 2-3 months of use. I don't remember I ever use metal utensils but not 100% sure. I'd highly recommend that Calphalon doesn't advertise that feature at all.
I emailed William-Sonoma and got a response regarding Calphalon's warranty information. First, you need to ship the pan with your own expense and then Calphalon will decide if it fits within their criteria of warranty before they issue a replacement or they ship the old one back. I decided to pass since it's not a guarantee of replacement and the shipping charge may be as high as ~25% of original cost.
I bought it due to its size, advertised nice features and Calphalon's reputation. Now I agree with the other reviewer's comment. Why do I need to spend that kind of money if it needs to be replaced a year later or earlier?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,NC
March 10, 2016
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does not hold up long term, non-stick comes off
March 10, 2016
I have used my Calphalon Elite for one year now. I would not recommend spending this much money on it. I loved them the first few months. I use them at home, cooking for my husband and I. I use the proper tools precisely as indicated by the manufacturer and cleaned them as per the manufacturer instruction. The non-stick surface is coming off and I have to replace them. I am so disappointed after paying such a high price for them and one year out ,I have to buy new ones. Does Calphalon have a recycling program? How do I dispose of them?
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape
Cons: Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mel4n0
NY
Posted May 20, 2016
Calphalon WARRANTY
Calphalon does have a warranty page.
http://www.calphalon.com/en-US/warranty-info
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Dover
,DE
February 16, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality/Durability
February 16, 2016
I purchased this pan back in November and I loved it. I chose to purchase because it was supposed to be better quality and more resistant to metal utensils if they came in contact with it. I've used the pan daily/twice a day at times since it was purchased. It cooked like a dream and clean up was a breeze with it. The downfall is that a couple weeks ago a noticed something had dinged the cooking surface and that a week later that point was starting to discolor. Since then I've had to throw it out. Great pan but is no where worth the price for such a short amount of time. It was well cared for. Never went in the Dishwasher and never used any metal utensils while cooking or cleaning. I can only guess the nick/scratch came from it sitting in the sink one day. I like Caphalon but from now on I will stick to the less expensive pans from them. They have lasted at least a year or more and taken much more abuse with no issue.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Size
Cons: Fragile, Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cbmatthe
Posted March 10, 2016
Same thing happened to mine
Mine did not last either the non-stick surface is coming off. I followed the manufacturer directions precisely. Maybe a bad batch? I wish I could ask them to replace mine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Freeport
,IL
February 9, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for everything
February 9, 2016
This pan is great. We have had it for 3 months and absolutely love it. It pretty much leaves the stovetop to get washed and then back to it until the next meal. Its big enough for us to cook meals for our whole family. It is rather big so you may have trouble finding a spot in the cupboards for it but if you cook at all you will never put it in one. Nothing sticks to it. We use this pan on a daily basis and it has been great so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size
Review 6 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Shawano
,WI
February 5, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Go-To Pan
February 5, 2016
I can't believe how much I use this pan. It's size more easily handles my bigger recipes, such as gumbo, stir fry and all those combinations of leftovers. It actually keeps my stove top cleaner, as the higher edges don't let sauces and food splash out of the pan. It's nonstick surface is the best part when cleaning up. I'm kicking myself for waiting so long to buy this pan. Did I mention how good it cooks food too?
Pros: Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 7 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Reisterstown
,MD
January 25, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this pan!
January 25, 2016
I really like this pan. It is really large and has high sides so when I'm frying something it is contained within the pan and doesn't spatter out. I also like that it is manageable in weight. My new favorite pan!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Shape
Cons: can be cumbersome to store
Review 8 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oldsmar
,Fl
January 7, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Cookware Ever
January 7, 2016
These pans are wonderful. I love them! They cook beautifully and cleanup is a breeze. The lids fit perfectly and seal in the flavor. The other best part is using metal utensils instead of the plastic ones. At first they seemed to weigh a lot but I'm used to them now and don't notice the weight. You won't be sorry.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality, Size, Shape
Review 9 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Alpharetta
,GA
October 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Everything!
October 20, 2015
I love this pan. It is big enough that I can saute and even fry in it, and it contains the spatters so my stovetop does not get all 'greased up'. Yes, it is a heavy pan and lid, but that is expected when it's this large. The pan heats very quickly, and the heat is distributed evenly throughout, which is a plus with a pan this big. Calling this 'Essential Pan' is right on point - I use this pan at least 3 to 4 times each week. It is a breeze to clean, and nothing sticks to it, even without using oils or butter.....but it still gives a nice brown searing to whatever I'm cooking. The Calphalon Elite series is my favorite to date!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 10 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Orange
,TX
July 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Quality Large Pan
July 20, 2015
Good size for family gatherings. Good quality and prepares food well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quality, Size, Weight
Review 11 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Urbana
,Il
May 11, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite pan
May 11, 2015
This is an amazing pan that is generously sized and has an excellent non-stick finish. It is quite large so I leave it on the stove, and find using it more often than not. So far I have used it for messy Indian curries and stir fries, and it has performed well. The heat retention is quite decent and the pan has heft to it so it does not feel cheap. Love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 12 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Chicago
,IL
April 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good pan for frying and simmering
April 12, 2015
I am very pleased with this pan but there is a big catch - the lid is way too heavy and absolutely flat. Every time when I put a lid on, all the evaporating liquid are on the lid and coming directly to the frying pan. Very heavy, hard to lift, hard to wash. Don't ubderstand how this monster have been created. I would recommend the pan but the lid makes this purchase very unpleasant.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, Size, flat!!!
Review 13 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Egg Harbor Township
,NJ
February 24, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice size and depth
February 24, 2015
This pan is a good size for many of the meals I cook and is deep enough to fry anything I choose without too much splattering. It's a good overall pan to cook many different things.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 14 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,MD
February 7, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great "Everything" Pan
February 7, 2015
This is an ample pan, which permits tidy wokking or a sizeable stew. The lid for this pan is much heavier than the lid on my previous Calphalon pan, so this pan represented an upgrade in quality.
Because this is a large and wide pan, with a long handle, please consider where you might store it. But you will reach for this pan often! I recommend not laying any additional pots or pans on top of it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Review 15 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Monroe
,LA
January 26, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is great for medium to large size cooking
January 26, 2015
This pot is great for all different types of cooking and can be used like a wok for doing sir fry.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 16 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sitka
,AK
January 25, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Essential Cookware is Wonderful.
January 25, 2015
I recently purchased my first "Essential" pan....it is as advertised, an amazing addition to our kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 17 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,VA
Virginia
January 12, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A pan that feeds a feast
January 12, 2015
At 13" in diameter, you can't ask for bigger than this pan. It's a beautiful piece of Calphalon cookware as are all the other pieces that are in this line.
Not sure how long the interior surface will hold up but having gotten eight pieces all on sale, I'm extremely pleased. Clean up is a breeze with very little effort. I take extra care with my cookware and after hand washing and drying, I spray a fine mist of olive oil in it and lightly wipe before storing. Each piece is stored separately with its lid on - never nested with another.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 18 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ankeny
,IA
October 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Everyday Pan
October 7, 2014
I got this for my birthday last spring and it's by far been the best cookware purchase we've made to date. We use almost everyday for everything from pancakes and eggs to fried rice to gnocchi to fajitas. The finish is great, really easy to clean. I haven't been bold enough to use metal utensils even though they're "approved" with this line. We're slowly upgrading the rest of our collection to this line but this was a great first piece and covers most of our daily cooking needs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 19 for Calphalon Elite Nonstick Essential Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Shrewsbury
,NJ
Central Jersey
March 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
8of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So far, so good
March 16, 2014
I picked this up using some Christmas gift cards. I seasoned the pan as instructed and used it a couple of times. I fried the food with little oil and it came out perfect. I use silicon utensils and hand wash afterwards. I hope this pan lasts a long, long time.
For me, so far, so good.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Weight