Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot

When you're cooking up a family-sized batch of spaghetti, Calphalon's multifunctional pot is the one to use. It boils water quickly and the pasta insert lifts out for easy draining. The pot is also ideal for simmering homemade pasta sauces, soups, stews or chili.Brushed stainless steel inside and out, with a heat-responsive aluminum-core base.Tempered-glass lid allows you to monitor cooking process.Includes pasta insert and steamer basket.
Average Customer Rating:
4.148 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
21 of 27(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
Review 1 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KimsTaste
,Forked River
,NJ
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this multi-use pot!
January 12, 2014
I was so surprised reading the reviews for this, alot of people said it took long for the water to boil, I found the opposite I was so impressed with how quick it boiled. This was a Christmas gift, I've used the steamer insert several times and found that to be very quick as well. I have a gas stove I wonder if the people who found it took long do not? Anyway I love it!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 2 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Santa Fe
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It takes some getting used to
March 1, 2011
First, it does not hold 8 quarts. Maybe 7 1/2 to the very top. I bought it to replace a 7 quart pot but that one holds more than the calphalon. I was worried about another review that mentioned it was slow to heat. It was very quick to boil and I am at 7600 feet where boiling is at a lower temp, but it was quicker than most of my other pots. Just make sure the liquid you are cooking with does not go higher than the pot itself - I had a few boil overs using the insert with chicken . I guess the water boiled higher than the pot itself. The steamer is just fine. Cleaned very well. i really didn't need the pot considering I must have had what is called an 8-qt already, and it is too tall to fit in my pot drawers. But I like it and will keep it, especially for the nice large size of the steamer.
Review 3 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lvhorses
lewisburg,wv
February 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thought I would love this pot
February 26, 2011
My husband bought this pot for me for Christmas. I was so excited to use it!
It didn't take long for me to decide it wasn't that great. I used it this evening and it took 23 minutes to boil water.
Such a disappointment......
Review 4 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ljja
Wilmington NC
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Its Going Back :( Not for Ceramic Cooktops
December 28, 2010
I'm so disappointed with this pot. It looks great, is a multi-tasker and is just what I've been looking for without spending $$$$ for the other brand. First thing I noticed was the base tapers down to the size of a small burner. I found this an odd design considering the size of the pot. Giving it the benefit of the doubt, I filled it with water and set it on the large burner as you would usually do, but that proved useless because the heat just surrounded the base of the pot. On to the small burner. I put the heat on high and 1 hour later I'm still waiting for it to come to boil. The next day I did a side by side comparison with my old and ugly stockpot. It was at a rolling boil in 20 minutes and barely a bubble appeared in the Calphalon. My conclusion is this pot is not designed to work on a ceramic cooktop. The base is much to small for 8 or 12 quarts and you would do better to spend the big bucks on the other brand.
Review 5 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
username
Albuquerque
October 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This Pot Rusts Easily
October 24, 2010
I purchased one of these pots and loved it so much I bought one as a wedding gift for a favorite niece. But, after very little use, my pot rusted, despite the fact that I took very good care of it. I live in the desert, so the damage was not from high humidity.
Review 6 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shear01
Boston, MA
October 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Slow Boil
October 14, 2010
i totally agree with anonymous...it takes forever to boil. i've been wanting this pot for awhile now. I finally purchased it and disappointed because it just takes too long to boil. i wish that bottom layer wasn't there. i too have a ceramic stove.
Review 7 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Flatman
Maryland
October 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fashion overtakes science in this slow heating pot
October 11, 2010
It's a really nice design with well constructed parts. It's been in the dishwasher several times so far without a problem. I love the fact that you can cook pastas or beans while steaming your vegetables... how great!
But, if you look closely in the picture, you will see that the base tapers inward to a much smaller diameter of 7" compared to the top surface which is 10". The small diameter coils on my glass ceramic stovetop are 7", so I can't even use the full power of my stove to heat things up. The result is that it takes more than twice as long to get the water to boil compared to my standard straightedge pots. Yes, I've watched water boil. In response, I've actually used my regular pots to pre-boil the water and put it in my new multi-pot to speed things along.
If time is not a concern, this is a really elegant pot that works very well. It's sturdy as well as fashionable.
Review 8 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
onecook
phila PA
July 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best all-around pot ever!
July 21, 2010
LOVE this pot! Had always used a large saucepan with a separate steamer-thing that had legs and you sit the steamer-thing in the saucepan for steaming veggies (and we're talking pretty much on a daily basis) but it was always a bit on the small size. This pot is about the width of the large stove burner, is more lightweight than you would expect, and has a fantastic steamer insert as well a large perforated insert for family batches of pasta. Or you can use the pot on its own for mass quantities of soup or stews etc. Only neg: the handle on the steamer insert is a bit tight and doesn't easily lift up when you're ready to pull the insert out of the pot, but I'm thinking it will loosen with time. The thing never even gets put away - it just stays on my stovetop til the next dinner (after washing, of course!) And it cleans easily. I'd imagine the pot with the mesh inserts is a bit more difficult to clean well by hand...not everyone has a dishwasher
Review 9 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bonniebj
Avalon, NJ
April 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for steaming clams
April 22, 2010
Love this multipot! I bought it to replace my aging steamer. The clams were cooked in half the time of the previous pot, and the glass lid allowed me to review their progress.
I'm looking forward to using it to steam vegetables and cook pasta.
Review 10 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fahema
Brooklyn, NY
March 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I didn't realize how incomplete my life was
March 8, 2010
We got this pot as a wedding gift and it is for sure one of our favorites. No more steam burns, or searching for a colander, or making a giant mess. And it has a million uses, but everything fits in the pot so it takes up minimal space.
Review 11 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carguy
Fredericksburg, VA
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent quality cooking pot
January 7, 2010
The quality of this Calphalon pot is everything I hoped it would be. It is sturdy and heats evenly, and it is just the right size for cooking pasta for a few friends. I have not had a pasta pot that includes a strainer before and it is very handy.
Review 12 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
celie
Binghamton, New York
September 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for pastas, ravioli's etc.
September 29, 2009
Roomy for cooking 1lb or more of pasta and for draining. Good for cooking chilis or sauces also.
Review 13 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Oklahoma City, OK
September 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Multi Pot Ever
September 8, 2009
I love this product and have used it since the first day I received it. I've used it for steaming vegtables and hamburger meat (steams out all the grease and meat is good for sauces, pizza's, cassaroles, etc.). I've made soups and pasta and everything cooks evenly. Clean up is quick and easy. The best multi pot I've owned in all my 50+ years.
Review 14 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DottyO
Sebeka, MN
June 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Soup Kettle
June 29, 2009
This is just a perfect pot. I am a soup and stew maker, so it sits real handy at my house. It is also great for boiling potatoes, pasta, steaming veggies. It stays shiny after each use, so clean-up is a breeze. I think of reasons to use it. Thanks for offering it on sale. I am looking for more.
Review 15 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
foodenthusiast
md
June 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-10points
9of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
contemporary lite !
June 9, 2009
The bottom is aluminium core that
is attached to the regular SS pot.
That is exact the same cheap quality
that all clad use for his pasta set that
you get for $149.The wall is as shiny
as all clad pot and not smooth brushed
you already own from contemporary
line.If you want to stick with calphalon ,buy the regular 8 qt that
cost much more but is not fake !
Difficult financial years are quality years.Do not buy cheap quality my
friends.
Review 16 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durkin
Saint Augustine, FL
March 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pot!!!
March 29, 2009
We just recieved this pot as a gift. We love caphalon it is a great product. We have used it to make pasta and we steamed some broccli tonigh it was delicious!!!
Review 17 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAF191
North Kingstown, RI
March 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Multi Pot, Great Value!
March 29, 2009
This 8qt steamer was purchased primarily because of the perfect-fit strainer insert. It was a pleasant surprise to see that this pot came with a second smaller strainer basket. If you look at the product description, you'll notice that it does not show the second strainer. Thus, this is a great value!
At first thought, it seems foolish to have another 8qt pot (the Calphalon contemporary stainless 13 pc set already has one) but it is quite noticeable how much quicker this one boils water. The aluminum base makes such a difference! You'll find the water boils even faster when you place the strainer insert in the pot after the water boils.
I've used this for pasta, but it is also perfect for steaming littlenecks, Alaskan king crab, and making clamboils.
Great product!
Review 18 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reese
League City, TX
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Name Says It All...
February 5, 2009
This pot truly is multi-purpose! From my homemade spaghetti sauce to cooking pasta or steaming veggies, this one does it all. An added bonus is that the lid fits my other Calphalon products. This pot is a value at any price.
Review 19 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
galeana
florida
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
terrific multipurpse pot
February 5, 2009
this pot has everything you will need for cooking. Deep and heavy, you can brown veges or meat in the bottom, than add broth and slow cook a soup, make refried beans or any meal you would use a pot for. Use the full size strainer insert for noodles or rice or for the chicken if you want stewed chicken soup. The smaller steamer insert is wonderful for vegetables. There is a clear glass lid so you can see what you are cooking. Best of all both steamers fit in the pot with the lid also on top so you can multitask.
Review 20 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kay1
Chicago, IL
November 26, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I bought one for me and then one for my daughter
November 26, 2008
This pot is so handy for all kinds of cooking. The steamer is wonderful for making baby foods. I like the pasta cooker part, and the small strainer is good for a bunch of vegetables. This is a good all-around item to have in your kitchen. The see-through lid is nice and the pot is light weight and priced well. It is well-named, multi pot!
page1 2 next