Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel 13-Piece Set

In striking brushed stainless steel, Calphalon's sleek Contemporary line features gently curved silhouettes detailed with sculpted handles - and each piece is dishwasher safe. This versatile set contains all the pots and pans needed for everyday cooking and more elaborate meals.Three-ply construction with a layer of heavy-gauge aluminum between the stainless-steel interior and exterior.Provides even heat distribution, eliminating hot spots and ensuring precise temperature control.Tempered-glass lids with stainless-steel rims.Long stay-cool handles.Dishwasher safe.13-Piece Set includes:8", 10" and 12" fry pans.1 1/2-qt. and 2 1/2-qt. saucepans with lids.3-qt. chef's casserole with lid.3-qt. saute pan with lid.8-qt. stockpot with lid.Please note: lids are counted as individual pieces.
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel 13-Piece Set
Review 1 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel 13-Piece Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
corpkid
,Orlando
,FL
September 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
4 months with these and I LOVE THEM!
September 28, 2012
There is certainly a learning curve when upgrading to this type of cookware (e.g. you need to oil/grease/butter almost everything, and the heat you used to use is too high). Once I got past that learning curve, everything comes out wonderful and no sticking at all! I am dealing with a ceramic cook top in my new place and my old cheapo non-stick cookware just didn't cook "right.” Making latkes was almost impossible without basically deep-frying them (yuck). These however, cook perfect and evenly. Worth every penny! A few tips: 1) Use oil or butter to keep from sticking. 2) They can go into the oven no problem, but the handles will get hot so be careful! 3) If something does stick and it looks hard to clean, just deglaze with water - best trick ever! 4) BARTENDERS FRIEND for polishing them up, and they look like new! 5) Hand wash them or they get spots (see tip 4). 6) I'm about to upgrade to an Induction cook top to deal with the lack of gas, and these pans are induction compatible.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: tricky at first
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel 13-Piece Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
christinafromCT
August 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good product, if used right, food will not stick!
August 3, 2012
These stainless steel pans deliver....for those who state that their food sticks, there may be a few things wrong with use or cleaning....even if you follow the directions on care, you should oil the pans every so often and it can't hurt to buy Bartenders Friend or other products that will release "unseen" residue or other chemical bindings. Also, do not add butter or oil right away....wait for the pan to get hot first, then add your butter, oil or egg, etc. That should solve the problem. I cook for functions, my family and we entertain regularly....I NEVER have a problem if cooking properly....these pans may be a bit "more complex" for very novice cooks....perhaps try the Swiss Diamond non stick pans (they are also great) and you can be a bit more basic with your kitchen skills and still not have food stick to your pans with those at all. I feel bad that people may be blaming the pans when it is not their fault. lol
Review 3 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel 13-Piece Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dama3j
,Bloomington
April 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stick and noteasy to clean
April 18, 2012
Sticky for two recipes: tortilla espanola and steam rice. It has been almost impossible to make a tortilla espanola. I have to use my old saucepan to make it.
Pros: Durable, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Weight
Review 4 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel 13-Piece Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
punch
Aransas Pass, TX
April 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
1of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everything Sticks
April 3, 2011
I am so frustrated with the 3 frying pans that came in my set I am ready to throw them in the trash. Everything I cook in them sticks. I have never put them in the dishwasher only hand washed them and still nothing seems to work. I am ready to go back to a cheap non-stick skillet. HELP
Pros: Easy to Store, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
BiancaT
edmond, ok
Posted March 6, 2012
Heat pan First !!
On stainless steel the trick to have food not stick is to let the pans or pots heat up FIRST BEFORE you put the food in. Add oil or butter or whatever you are cooking with. Turn it on and let the pan get warm.. then add food.. after that you should not have a problem with sticking! Hope this helps!
0points
Customer avatar
acecook03
Posted November 21, 2011
get non stick...
As the person before me said, SS is NOT non stick. This would by why things are sticking. If I were you I would use some kind of cooking fat (ie. oil, spray, butter) or get non-stick pans (which honesly is like throwing away money, nonstick wears out pretty quickly if not taking care of properly, can be bad for your health, and lets be honest, you cant get a great sear with nonstick no matter how you try)
0points
Customer avatar
Aprille
Sanford NC
Posted May 1, 2011
Stainless steel
Stainless steel isn't non stick. You don't use high heat with these pans, let your food come to room temp and use a tbsp of oil to cook with. When switching to SS cookware you have to learn how to cook all over again.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel 13-Piece Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JHansen
Mpls, MN
December 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not sticky for me
December 13, 2010
My one reservation about buying these pans was a few reviewers saying everything sticks in the frying pans. I have made eggs a few times and followed the instructions that came with the pans very closely. My eggs were so slippery in the pan I had a hard time flipping them, my spatula was "chasing" them around in the pan as they slid away.
Review 6 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel 13-Piece Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marybearsbeppy
NE Ohio
August 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Contemporary 3 qt saute pan top notch plus!
August 21, 2010
I can only speak of the Calphalon Contemporary style 3 qt saute pan, NOT non-stick.
I use it constantly. It is very versatile, with or without lid. Saute, fry, steam, make soup, etc. It is far superior to some other top-rated pans of mine. I can honestly say that it is stupendous, & I am delighted that I stumbled upon it, 8 months ago, & that my relatives & friends are sick of hearing of my admiration for it.
Review 7 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel 13-Piece Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Blur
Hays, KS.
May 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
7of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Need Help to Use Fry Pan
May 11, 2010
We have the 8 1/2 " Cephalon fry pan and we cannot saute or fry anything in it without it sticking badly. We use Canola oil in it on medium heat. Perhaps someone can tell me what I am doing wrong and what I should be doing....please. Right now I would rate it "poor" but I am willing to try again with some instruction. Thanks.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
sarah668
Madison, WI
Posted December 14, 2011
Sticking issue
Food sticks to a pan if it's not done cooking on whatever surface is touching the pan. It will release (with a little oil in the pan), when the sear has been made.
0points
Customer avatar
JHansen
Posted December 13, 2010
I've had no sticking problems
I agree with an above poster about the heat settings being much lower with these pans. I also follow the instructions that came with the pans and do the "butter test" and let the food rest at room temp for a few minutes. My eggs are so slippery in the pan I chase them around a bit before I can get ahold of them to flip.
0points
Customer avatar
Susan39
Greer, SC
Posted December 6, 2010
This might help...
Blur,
I have to ask if you have a fairly new stove? The reason I ask this is because some of your newer stoves are strong and Calphalon and All Clad heat up very quick. Try coating your pan with some Pam and starting your pan on medium Low. If your food is sticking give it a little time some foods you will fry have to cook all the way on one side before they will release for you to flip. It took some getting used to when I went from high heat for cast iron to low heat for aluminum and stainless steel.
Hope this helps.
0points
Customer avatar
Patti2
Algonquin, IL
Posted December 6, 2010
With a SS pan you want the food to brown & sticking can be part of it. Heat your pan first on med. heat until hot & then add your oil. The key is to heat the pan first. Do not use PAM as it will gum up your pan over time & ruin it. I use a good olive oil or grapeseed oil. (I buy both at W-S). I will sometimes use butter with the oil. When I cook eggs I use either Calpahlon or All Clad nonstick pans. Use Barkeepers Friend to clean the SS pans.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 8 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel 13-Piece Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Houston, TX
October 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
10of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It would be 5 stars if the handlles stayed cool
October 12, 2009
We love cooking with this set. They heat uniformly, and are easy to clean. We put them a lot in the dishwasher. We have a gas stove. We miss the glass covers from our previous set, which avoided the predicament of having to uncover the pots to check inside. We still had our previous glass lids and we are keeping them, they fit this set fine. Also the handles have no insulation and we have nearly burned a couple of times. All that said, we don't miss the cracking coating from our previous pricey "non-stick" set and we fell that this is a great set for the price. We cook eggs fine by the way, and the extra pot that came as a gift was a nice bonus.
Review 9 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel 13-Piece Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
paylie98
Berlin, WI
December 10, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
7of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a Cook
December 10, 2008
I purchased this set on the advice of someone. I have to say I love them, except for the "non-stick" part of it. They work great for frying meat, boiling, soup making. However, because I am NOT a cook, grilling cheese sandwiches or frying eggs don't work at all. So I did also purchase the 6" & 8" non-stick Calphalon fry pans for these types of foods. Otherwise, from one NON -Cook to another, they LOOK GREAT in my kitchen!!!!!