This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set

Our forged stainless-steel flatware is designed for casual as well as formal dining; each piece has a comfortable handle. A place setting includes an 7 3/4" dinner fork, 6 3/4" salad fork, 8 1/2" dinner knife, 7 1/2" soup spoon and 6 3/4" teaspoon. Dishwasher safe. 20-piece set, four 5-piece place settings. Made in China. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
14 of 20(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
Review 1 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SonjaSoniaSonya
,Atlanta
,GA
June 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Save your money
June 8, 2013
Maybe the set I received was just a lemon, but the edges of the soup spoon were so rough that it scratched my mouth. What good are soup spoons if you're afraid to use them to eat soup?! I can't recommend this flatware.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Quality
Review 2 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mama12
,Bay Area
,CA
May 27, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My favorite flatware set!
May 27, 2013
I bought two set of these in black nine months ago and I couldn't be happier with it. We are a family of four, and we use these everyday. I am planing to buy two more sets before we move overseas, as I know shipping to Brazil would be a lot of money.
Pros: well made heavy
Cons: none
Review 3 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Timb7734
,Indianapolis
,in
May 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
19 years and counting
May 1, 2013
just ordered two more sets, and contrary to other reviews, the spoon sizes are a match, have a total of four sts plus some steak knives that were offered some years back, original two sets are 19 years old and washed daily in a dishwasher, when the handles get oxidized I just pass them over a buffing wheel and they again look great, we now use them in multiple houses.
Pros: Durable, heavily constructed, attractive
Cons: none
Review 4 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizzB
,West Long Branch
,NJ
April 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love this flatware!
April 14, 2013
I used this at a friend's house and so liked the look and weight of this flatware that I came home and ordered some for my house. Terrific product!
Review 5 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maggie2
,VA
March 24, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Returned due to poor quality
March 24, 2013
I have wanted this flatware for years, and I know how it used to look when it was a store display item. Unfortunately, it is nothing like that now. The blue color in the handles is much less intense, and it isn't even uniform. The plastic handles aren't milled well and show visible tool marks and irregular shapes. The metal is rough.
Please fire your current Chinese manufacturer and find someone who can make these to your former standards!
Cons: poor quality control
Review 6 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FoxHunter
,MD
November 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Cafe Deux flatware
November 27, 2012
I bought two sets nearly twenty years ago...three children, thousands of meals later, and abuse from the dishwasher, the Cafe Deux is still going strong. I just went online to see if W&S still carries it to upgrade my set and to buy two sets as a wedding gift. Ten years ago I had two spoons crack and they were immediately replaced. The set faded after many years, but they are still navy blue and still in decent shape. With my new sets, I will treat them occasionally with a wood polish to maintain the color. I hope the quality has not changed. My husband was impressed with the weight and balance of the pieces. They are very sturdy.
Pros: good quality, attractive, great price
Cons: sorry can't think of one
Review 7 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Swansailor
,Incline Village
,NV
November 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Not as expected
November 15, 2012
I just received this flatware as a replacement for the colored insert variety. Those colored inserts faded quickly & had started to crack at the rivets so I thought the all stainless might work better. When I unpacked these, they are SATIN finish, not polished like the previous flatware. Also the milling of the pieces is bordering on crude with grinder marks visible in places at the "neck" on some pieces, not the smooth, polished finish of the former pieces. The handles are also very flat, not rounded as shown in the pictures or the previous with the colored inserts. I have not decided whether to keep them but am disappointed with the marginal quality. Being made in China I guess I should have expected this.
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: cheaply made
Review 8 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Akica
,Monterey
,CA
October 31, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect for every day use! :)
October 31, 2012
We bought this set for every day use and WE LOVE IT!!! I already washed it more then 10 times in the dishwasher and it looks as good as new.Just read the instructions before first use and you're good to go.
Review 9 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MidnightSun
,Juneau
,Ak
October 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Disappointing
October 7, 2012
My flatware arrived with pitting along one of the front display spoons and several pieces had their silver finish rubbed off from the twist ties used to hold them onto the cardboard display.
I didn't care for the rough look of the pieces or what seemed like unfinished sharp edging on the fork tines,spoon rim and serrated edge of the knife.
It just felt like this set was unfinished and cheap. I suppose this is one of those you get what you pay for moments,however I thought these would be somewhat decent because it had some pretty good reviews. Maybe I just got unlucky and got a bad set,If the set was a little more polished it would have been great.
I wish I could go into the stores and look in person for a new set of flatware,unfortunately no luck there because I live in Alaska.
Pros: good weight
Cons: pitting, rough edges
Review 10 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CAN1
,Sarnia
,On
September 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Cafe Deux Flatware
September 20, 2012
Very happy with quality of this flatware. We bought two sets. It is nice that it comes with two forks per setting. Good feel & weight. Very Happy with ordering & shipping.
Pros: quality product, good service
Review 11 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kangofumarsha
,Brooklyn
,NY
Brooklyn, NY
July 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Lovely dining utensils
July 30, 2012
I was originally going to purchase the blue set, however, based on some of the other reviews, I was worried about the finish and the handle pieces staying attached. I decided to buy the stainless steel set. It is so elegant and goes beautifully with my blue rimmed Brasserie dinnerware. It makes a beautiful table presentation.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Design
Review 12 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brooklynese
,Brooklyn
,NY
July 21, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Stop changing the design!
July 21, 2012
I LOVE this set, which I've been using in stainless for seven years. What I can't understand is why W-S feels the need to continually tweak the design... I bought my first set seven years ago, and the second only about three years ago. I was disappointed that the shape of the flatware had been changed slightly, which left the sets not quite matching. I just received a third set as a wedding gift, and the design has changed even further - the pieces are much larger. W-S, stop messing with a good thing! I'd like my flatware to match! So if you're planning to buy more than one set, my advice is to buy them all at once.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Neeserbomb
Kansas City, KS
Posted October 12, 2012
Cafe Deux Design change
Totally agree! Sent my set back because it didn't match my existing set, which I had purchased about 5 years ago. No need to change a good thing!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PAMELAJOY
,Newnan
,GA
May 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
My Favorite Flatware
May 8, 2012
I bought a Cafe Deux flatware set and liked it so much I went back and ordered two more sets. This flatware is the perfect weight and fit for our hands. Also, it adds a perfect touch to our table settings.
Review 14 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easternlongisland
,East End of Long Island
,NY
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
great flatware
January 6, 2012
We've had the stainless steel set for 10 years now and they are cleaned in the dishwasher on a daily basis and they have held up well.
I wonder if you can just purchase the teaspoons, as we have lost a few over the years....
We recommend them!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Design
Review 15 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Harris
,Haddonfield
,NJ
December 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Very surprised this is a WS product
December 30, 2011
Just received these as a gift (in black), they were on my Xmas list. Got them out of the box and into the dishwasher today (says dishwasher safe on the box). Took them out of the dishwasher (did not use the heat cycle, only air-dry) and much to my surprise, they look like I've had them for 20 years!! The stainless utensil part looks great but everything from the top of the handle down looks terrible. No longer shiny, specks of the coating coming off, the round circle parts are no longer shiny, they are cloudy and specked-terrible!!!
I'll be returning these for the stainless steel handles. Hopefully I fair better with those!
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, Difficult to Clean
Review 16 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
valentine07
,New Orleans
,LA
November 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
No better quality than these. I've looked!
November 9, 2011
I bought my first set about 15 years ago, I remember those were NOT to go into the dishwasher. My second set I bought soon after(w/fiancé) that were slightly different but WERE dishwasher safe(I kept that set after the split). These have served me well and after soooo many years of these not being available it's great to see them back again. What took so long! I will now get a third. Also, I don't use my dishwasher much, but what action they do get hasn't harmed them in any way noticeable.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 17 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pkara
,Placerville
,CA
November 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Comment on durability
November 4, 2011
I've had 8 place settings for over 10 years. Like one other reviewer, I have had some of the black parts separate (at the "rivits" from the handle, always near the neck of the spoon or fork. However, I recently ordered 4 more sets so I could replace those pieces, since I like them so much. I appreciate that Williams Sonoma keeps styles in stock for so long. I will be more careful with them - keep them out of the dishwasher (which tends to eventually dry them out) and not let them soak in the sink. A little linseed oil once in a while keeps them looking like new.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: durable if cared for well.
Review 18 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kitchy
,Portland
,OR
October 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great, durable flatware!
October 8, 2011
I had to write a review for this flatware after reading the review from the person whose set isn't holding up well. I've had this flatware for more than twenty years, and it's as good as the day I brought it home. I don't know what kind of dishwasher could tear this stuff apart. My set is solid. The pieces are a comfortable weight, feel nice in the hand, and are just the right size.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design, Weight
Review 19 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Sanger
,CA
October 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Wonderful Everyday Flatware
October 7, 2011
I have 12 place settings of this flatware in navy blue that we use everyday. It is durable and stylish. The pieces are well balanced and fit nicely in your hand. It still looks great after over 5 years of daily use.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 20 for Cafe Deux 20-Piece Flatware Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HHusher
,Montpelier
,VT
September 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
not dishwasher safe
September 25, 2011
We bought eight settings of this very handsome product about a month ago. Today, the handles started separating from the spines of the flatware. We are pretty annoyed, since these pies are pretty pricey.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, Fragile, not as advertised
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo