Butternut Mountain Farm Maple Syrup

This fancy-grade light-amber syrup is made from the pure sap of Vermont maple trees, without additives or preservatives. It's produced from the first run of sugaring, when warmer daytime temperatures allow the sap to flow and evening frost keeps it fresh. Filtered, flavor-tested and packed under Vermont's strictest standards, it has a true maple flavor and texture no imitation syrup can match.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Butternut Mountain Farm Maple Syrup
Review 1 for Butternut Mountain Farm Maple Syrup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
June 27, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
dented can
June 27, 2015
I love this Syrup, and have been buying it from WS for years! Normally i purchase it at the flag ship store in San Francisco's Union Square but this last time i did an online order and UPS deliver the box, and the large can was totally smashed not very happy! Will take it in to the store to do an exchange!
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 2 for Butternut Mountain Farm Maple Syrup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sunnyvale
,CA
April 7, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST MAPLE SYRUP - something wrong with 1qt tins
April 7, 2015
I want to start off by saying that the Butternut Mountain Farm Maple Syrup is by far and away THE BEST Maple Syrup I have tried. Paired with the Williams-Sonoma Spiced Pecan Pumpkin Pancake & Waffle Mix it is like heaven in my mouth. We purchased the 1-Qt. Tin & was fantastic. no problems. The next go around we purchased 2 1-Qt Tins. These tins. There was something wrong with them. It literally took both my husband & I to be able to unscrew the top - USING PLYERS - no joke. Once we were able to get the top off, there is a little lid thing used to keep the syrup inside. The 1st time we purchased the syrup, I was able to just flip it out using a knife. This time - on both tins - there was no groove to flip it out. I had to take a huge knife and stab at it until I was able to get a hole in the top to pour the syrup out. That being said. The syrup is WONDERFUL. Just wish it didn't take my husband and I 30 minutes to get our tin to open. By the time we did, our waffles were cold :(
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 3 for Butternut Mountain Farm Maple Syrup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,NJ
April 5, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor packaging
April 5, 2015
This has to be the most poorly designed packaging I have ever encountered! The instructions say to open: soften wax with hot water. Really ? Did this and it still required scraping the wax off with a knife ( it didn't come off in one piece) then making sure the remaining wax did not got into the container. What a mess, and additionally was just average tasting maple syrup. What a waste of time and money!
Cons: Time to Prepare, Difficult to Prepare
Review 4 for Butternut Mountain Farm Maple Syrup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Diego
,CA
July 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Maple Syrup
July 20, 2014
This is a staple in our household. I know the jar may be small and it comes at a hefty price, but the quality is exquisite. Trust me - a little goes a long way. (as long as you're not the type to DROWN your pancakes in syrup)
I truly love the delicate and pure taste of this maple syrup. It's not thick or heavy. The very first time I tried it, it erased all negative memories of the Aunt Jemima original maple syrup I grew up eating (YUCK). Seriously, I knew that stuff tasted nasty even as a little kid. Anyway, this Butternut Mountain Farm maple syrup is simply divine.
Also, for those complaining about the wax top...it's not difficult at all to open! Just carefully run a small knife around the lip and then pop the top open. I actually love that it comes in this pretty glass jar with a striking red wax; it makes for a lovely presentation on banana pancake mornings.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 5 for Butternut Mountain Farm Maple Syrup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Rock Hall
,MD
March 19, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Syrup
March 19, 2014
I bought 2 bottles of this syrup and had them shipped to Houston while I was with my son and family for Christmas. They were thrilled to receive the syrup, and my son knew exactly how to get the wax off.
Love this syrup!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: none!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Butternut Mountain Farm Maple Syrup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Falls Church
,VA
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A challenge to open the bottle!
November 28, 2013
I cant talk about taste since it is pretty impossible to open the wax seal. I have wasted time trying to get it peeled off with a knife, I gave up and will return it instead. Should not be so hard to open.
Cons: Disappointing, impossible to get open!
Review 7 for Butternut Mountain Farm Maple Syrup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,San Pedro
,CA
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
poor packaging
December 30, 2012
Product cam damage with wax top peeled off and leaked though plastic.
Very disappointing!
Cons: Disappointing
Review 8 for Butternut Mountain Farm Maple Syrup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,lindale
,TX
July 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our favorit maple syrup
July 25, 2012
Have tried other maple syrups and this is the best one we have found.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Coreen
Maryland
Posted December 21, 2013
Syrup
I ordered 2 jars of this syrup before looking at the reviews. We have always gotten the jar with cinnamon stick in it! My son has two young children who will enjoy this syrup on their breakfast treats! So glad Llang wrote a review!
 
My Recommendations
 
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Butternut Mountain Farm Maple Syrup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Palm Bay, FL
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Average Taste
January 1, 2012
This syrup looks very pretty on the outside. I found it to be average flavor. Why pay more for this when you can just buy it in the grocery store for less?
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, expensive