Butter Mold

Add a decorative finish to fresh-churned butter by molding it in this simple wood butter mold. The hand-carved image of a cow on the base becomes a three-dimensional emblem in the center of each unmolded butter round. Makes a 2" diam. scalloped butter round pressed with cow image. Removable metal clips on each side of mold make unmolding chilled butter easy. Hand-carved design. Made of solid beech wood. 5 3/4" x 3 3/4" x 2" high.
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
2 of 4(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Butter Mold
Review 1 for Butter Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lottoqueen99
,San Francisco bay area
,Ca
calif.
June 12, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
instructions are under 'use & care'
June 12, 2014
There seems to be some good comments posted from people that have used or researched wooden butter molds and W.S. has some instructions on the product page under 'use & care' :
Use:
- Prior to using the mold, close it and soak in a container filled with fresh water for at least 10 minutes to thoroughly saturate the wood.
- Fill the mold with butter, level off top, and refrigerate until the butter is firm.
- To unmold the butter, remove the hook and gently open the mold.
- Transfer butter to dish for serving.
- To preserve freshness and flavor, we recommend wrapping the butter in parchment paper for storage in refrigerator.
- Ideally, keep the butter chilled at a temperature of 41º to 43ºF. The butter can be frozen at -0.4ºF.
Hopefully this is helpful to those using or considering buying the mold.
5 stars due to the picture 'simplysogood' submitted.
Review 2 for Butter Mold
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MiniBooger
,San Jacinto
,CA
September 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unmolding Instructions
September 28, 2013
I found these instructions for removing the butter from a similar butter mold.
Butter Mold Instructions:
- insert dry and assembled mold into a freezer for 30-40 minutes
- remove it from the freezer and fill with softened butter (Optional step: Prior to filling with softened butter, lightly coat the inside of the form with cooking oil or non-stick cooking spray.)
- place into freezer for another 40-50 minutes
- carefully open mold by wedging a butter knife into the cutout
- delicately remove frozen form
- Clean the mold with water and mild detergent. Do not soak the item when washing. Item is not safe for use in dishwasher
- Towel-dry the item or allow the item to air dry.
Review 3 for Butter Mold
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
marti428
November 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Same as above...
November 27, 2012
Theoretically, the idea is great, in practice, it's not implemented so well. I ended up with the same results, very excited then pure disappointment after my mold breaking the butter in half, the cow design not showing, wood splinters in the side of the butter....enough to seriously disappoint and wonder if the product was made in China without food standards...who wants wood splinters in their butter?!! We took sandpaper and smoothed out the edges...not really a finished product. Perhaps you are suppose to line it with saran wrap and press it...I'll also try a few more time, but seriously disappointed at the moment. Also-no instructions-perhaps if these accompanied the pkg, there wouldn't be this misunderstanding on how to use the product.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SousAndy
Wichita, Kansas
Posted February 13, 2013
Top 25 Contributor
It does work
First off... I bought one of these from another company about a year ago... but from the photo it looks exactly the same; even down to the carved relief in the bottom. I've been using wood butter molds for years, and even made some of my own. I soak it in water (it doesn't have to be ice water) for about 30 minutes, then remove from water and add the butter, cover the mold with cling wrap and place in the frig (not the freezer) for a couple of hours. The butter should come out of the mold easily.
I've been soaking my mold for a year, and it has not cracked... however, if you put the wet mold into the freezer, the expanding ice will crack the wet mold. Hope this helps. Making butter, and creating these unique shapes with molds is a great way to set off your "special" dinner table. Have fun.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Butter Mold
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
simplysogood
,Sandy
,UT
November 17, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+18points
18of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Butter sticks to mold.
November 17, 2012
Butter mold: I was so excited to use this butter mold. I loved the design. I wanted to post this mold on my blog with a recipe for cultured butter. I cultured my own cream then made the butter. The mold did not come with any instructions. In fact the mold was the only thing in the box. I just assumed that all I needed to do was to put the butter into the mold let the butter chill then simply unmold. The butter stuck to the sides and I could not get it off the bottom. The cow design did not show up at all. I decided that I must need to season the wood like seasoning cast iron. I oiled the mold and let it set, then re-oiled three times. The butter came out a bit better, but not much. I even had splinters from the wood stick to the sides of my butter. I will try it a few more times. If it doesn't work I will probably return this product. I must mention that the butter was AMAZING regardless. I highly recommend making cultured butter.
Pros: it inspired me to make my own cultured butter.
Cons: butter sticks to mold
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer avatar
simplysogood
Sandy, UT
Posted December 5, 2012
Prep for the butter mold
My husband sanded the scalloped grooves because they were quite jagged and left bits of the wood in my butter. I did several coats of mineral oil on the mold. I put the butter in the freezer overnight and I was able to take the butter out much easier. Not perfect,but I did get it to work with some tune up work. It would have been nice for the mold to come with some sort of instructions for seasoning the wood.
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
Customer avatar
calley
charleston, sc
Posted December 4, 2012
You have to use mineral oil to season any mold or it will stick. I found that useful. Also, don't put it in the fridge to set... put it in the freezer for a couple of days and then take it out of the mold. The fridge is cold enough to keep butter but not to form a proper shape from a mold. This mold makes the most cute design! I'm using it for my christmas gifts!
0points
Customer avatar
alndm
Wisconsin
Posted December 4, 2012
dust with flour and chill
I would NOT soak a wooden butter mold in water, the expanding and contracting will crack the mold. Traditionally wooden butter molds were dusted with flour to help prevent sticking. Also, freezing the mold before filling it, and again with the butter in it, will help with the sticking.
0points
Customer avatar
VanGoghh
Houston Texas
Posted November 30, 2012
Need to chill mold
If you want the butter to come out of the mold easily first soak the mold in ice water for about 30 minutes. Then working quickly so not to let the mold warm up too much remove from the ice water pat dry and fill with butter. Place the filled butter mold in the refrigerator unitl the butter has hardened. The butter should come out of the mold much easier.
0points
Customer avatar
Imoriginal
Arizona
Posted November 24, 2012
Try this...
You could try to line the mold with plastic wrap then fill it. That way after it's chilled it will come right out.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)