Butter-Making Kit

Enjoy the creamy flavor of freshly made butter with our easy-to use kit, which includes all the essentials you need for preparation and serving. Just add a pint of heavy cream to the included container and shake-in 20 minutes you will have a batch of all-natural butter that's far superior to ordinary store-bought varieties. For some classic flavor options, our kit includes French sea salt and Herbes de Provence, or you can experiment by adding fresh herbs from your own garden. Includes all the basic butter-making tools you need; you supply the cream. Step-by-step instructions guide you through the butter-making process. Includes porcelain butter crocks and hand-carved teak butter paddles for serving. Kit can be used again and again for an endless supply of butter. A great activity for kids. Recipes included. Assembled in the USA. Butter-Making Kit includes: BPA-free plastic shaker container. 2 porcelain butter crocks. 2 hand-carved teak butter paddles. Flavoring options: Herbes de Provences (.75 oz). French Sea Salt (1 oz.). Muslin bags for storing herbs and spices. Complete instruction and recipe booklet.
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Butter-Making Kit
Review 1 for Butter-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Misspinz
,Boston area
,Ma
April 9, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Who wouldn't love homemade butter?
April 9, 2014
I have started a "back to basics" kind of lifestyle. Two years ago, I learned how to make jam and jelly, last year, I learned to knit and recently I used this super easy and fun do-it-yourself kit to make my own butter.
The key is to really let the heavy cream sit on the counter for an hour before starting the process. It took a total of 8 minutes for my cream to turn into the most beautiful yellow butter. I was able to add the sea salt to my taste level and it was superb! It makes a half pound and it's half the price of high quality organic butter.
This is a great project for adults and kids!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, material
Review 2 for Butter-Making Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kwahaes1986
,East Palo Alto
,CA
November 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the price- save your money
November 10, 2013
Fun kit, but not worth the price. I was so disappointed with this kit. Not up to WM quality.
The instructions say other than the wooden paddles, it is dishwasher safe. I put mine on the top shelf for cleaning, and the jar came out completely melted.
The crocks, while cute, come with no instructions on how to use them, and don't hold any really appreciable amount of butter. My kids are now using them as "tea cups" for their play set.
If this had come with one large crock, and a jar that didn't melt (or at least not specifically say dishwasher safe in the instructions), this would be a good kit.
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, unclear instructions and not dishwasher safe
Review 3 for Butter-Making Kit
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GirardImages
,Falls Church
,VA
September 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun kit, great butter, but buyer beware
September 3, 2013
I received this kit as a gift and made delicious butter following the instructions. However, as other reviewers have pointed out, there's nothing you really need to make butter in this kit. The jar is helpful because it is lightweight plastic, but it said it was dishwasher safe and I put it in the top rack of the dishwasher after one use and it came out COMPLETELY mangled and shrunken. Also, the butter crocks are way too small to hold even a quarter of the butter you make (though they are cute) and the instructions don't tell you how to use a butter crock (fill it with a bit of water and turn the butter part upside down). For novices like me, that would have helped. It's a cute gift idea but for the price, I would have liked better instructions, a shaker can that doesn't melt, and bigger butter crocks. Again, the butter was very tasty, and I probably would not have even tried butter making without this kit, but all you really need is a jar and some heavy whipping cream.
Pros: Easy to Use, Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, Difficult to Clean, instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Butter-Making Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Catdude
,Riverside
,IL
May 15, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't waste your money
May 15, 2013
You can learn how to make homemade butter online. Just use Google. The reason I returned this kit is the tiny size of the butter crocks. They might hold a Tbsp of butter. How many times are you going to refill it? Le Creuset sells one that will hold a stick and a half. The other things in the kit are useless to me. The wooden paddles are very small and like popsicle sticks, I think that I would break them. The herbs can be purchased anywhere and who doesn't have a jar. The key is the teeny tiny butter crocks. The next time that I order something from the website, I will call to find out the size when one is not given. Lesson learned.
Pros: nothing
Cons: very small butter crocks
Review 5 for Butter-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pink0716
,Parkville
,MD
May 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I really like this
May 1, 2013
Such a fresh taste of butter. I love it. I will say it took longer for me to get the cream to "break" than the instructions stated, but it was worth the work...and I got a good arm workout. Oh and the "buttermilk" that is left after the cream breaks tastes wonderful. I'll use this item again and again.
Review 6 for Butter-Making Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mitzy
,Spokane
,WA
Spokane, WA
April 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too Much Fun!!
April 25, 2013
The kit is a bit pricey for what you get, but I had SO much fun making butter! Purchased local heavy cream and it was amazing how quickly it turned into butter. Used the salt, and the herbs that came with the kit and it all turned out great! I'm searching for various types of butter molds now. Directions and tips easy to follow!
Pros: Easy to Use, fun experience
Cons: a bit pricey
Review 7 for Butter-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
foodenthusiast22
April 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Kit!!
April 7, 2013
Fantastic butter! It was so easy and quick to use and moreover, the taste was incredible! There's nothing like store-bought butter.
The container worked well as a shaker and I used it a number of times. I had no trouble cleaning it. Loved the crocks and spreader too!
Review 8 for Butter-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
macboxer
,Lake Stevens
,WA
January 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun for Kids
January 23, 2013
I gave this as a gift to two people for Christmas and they loved it so much I bought one for myself. My children and I had lots of fun making butter and it was delicious.
Review 9 for Butter-Making Kit
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BusyDad
,NJ
January 17, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
COOL PRODUCT - WATCH OUT FOR CLEANING
January 17, 2013
Product was very cool. It give my 14 yr old son a chance to make real butter. Which came out excellent. Great teaching product and experience for the young.
Ok, the not so cool part. DO NOT PUT ITEMS IN DISHWASHER. THEY ARE NOT SAFE. We did this on our first use as guided in Use and Care, and the product became a use once product :( However, I expect a trip back to the store, some time with the sales and 2 hrs latter another happy customer. Save yourself the headache and wash by hand.
Pros: great experience
Cons: one use product if you follow care and use
Review 10 for Butter-Making Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SueSue2
,ny
New York
January 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a lot of work
January 5, 2013
First the negatives; it takes a lot of vigorous shaking for well over 13 minutes to make the butter. I set a timer and watch TV to make the time pass. My husband has to take over the shaking the last several minutes to get the cream to actually turn into butter. The 2 butter crocks are too small to be useful and one could make the butter with just a large clean jar. But, the plastic one provided in the kit is much lighter in weight, has good balance, and seals tightly.
Now the positives; the end product is delicious. Even, the buttermilk (skim milk) byproduct is delicious and worth drinking. The directions are excellent. I would have thrown out my 1st butter making attempt without the troubleshooting section provided.
I use inexpensive silicone candy molds to shape the butter for a nice presentation and my butter was a big hit at our Christmas dinner.
Pros: tastes good, control over ingredients
Cons: a lot of work
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PuppyLuv
East Coast
Posted March 10, 2013
Great description
Most helpful. Thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Butter-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rach21
September 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE this kit
September 11, 2012
I was cooking a large dinner with my nieces who range in ages from 5-16. The butter was a great way to include the younger ones since it is so simple and safe for them to do. It turned out to be delicious. We used some of the butter on the fresh baked bread (which was so amazing with the herbs) and some more butter as an ingredient in other things we were baking.
In addition to the kit being simple and tasty, the presentation is beautiful (the wooden spoons and the dishes), which would make this kit perfect as a gift. The only down side is when you include the shipping in the cost, the kit gets a little pricey, but this will not stop be from buying more kits in the near future. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS KIT!
Review 12 for Butter-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marydz
,Marietta
,OH
August 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Butter
August 28, 2012
This is an amazing kit! You must read the directions thoroughly. I found that if the Heavy Cream is almost warm the process is much quicker. I also shake mine longer and have no buttermilk and more butter. It will become all butter if shaken longer. We add honey and many different herbs. We do not buy store bought brands any longer. A little less expense and preservative free.
Review 13 for Butter-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Layla1976
,New York
,NY
August 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Tasting Homemade Butter!
August 15, 2012
This kit was great. I received it as a gift from a friend and used it at one of my dinner parties- it was a hit!. The added herbs de provence gave it such great flavor and what I liked most is that I didn't have to go out and buy tiny little ramekins- the kit gives you cute reusable ones, as well as reusable wooden serving ware. This also isn't the type of kit that you use one and throw away; since you're supplying the heavy cream, you can keep using the supplies over and over. You're using the actual container to shake up the dairy (just give it a good washing afterwards and you're good to go). You can also add whatever you want to the the butter- more salt, different herbs- so you can really get creative. My only word of advice is to read the directions ahead of time to make sure you use the exact measurements. Other than that I would recommend this kit to any foodie who likes to bring that added homemade touch to the dinner table!
Pros: easy to make, comes with cute reusable wooden servingware, q&a section on directions for common mishaps, kit is reusable, comes with reusable ceramic ramekins, easy to be creative and add whatever you want, kid-friendly activity
Cons: need to follow the directions carefully, only comes with one type of herbs